We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for the races” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Station Inn

Station Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Station Inn
Ranked #40 of 63 Hexham B&B and Inns
Rochdale
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location for the races”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just the one night after Hexham Races. Staff are plentiful and attentive and made our room ready ahead of time for an early check in. Situated in room 11 at the top of the shop, we were a little dismayed at the level of cleanliness in the bathroom (light fittings did not seem to have been touched in years) that said, the room was tidy and bedding clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard_CRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    26
    13
    15
See reviews for
19
24
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

A hidden gem for Sunday Lunch. We've tried all the places around Hexham and the Tyne Valley. This place takes some beating. Chris is a very fine host and the food is still very good value for money. See you Sunday.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Newcastlewalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Hexham not the greatest place for choice of eating places. I took time out to ask the locals where I could get a good Sunday Lunch. See Chris at the Station Hotel. So I did. Real friendly lad. Great friendly atmosphere, service very quick, plenty of good food plate full. Ill be back next week weather permitting.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1H1H1H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place may have been nice 100 years ago, it's a grand building. However I dont think it's been cleaned since, just walpaper put up to cover the dirty walls. (which is now peeling off in most places)
The staff were friendly but we didnt want to risk eating their breakfast, or washing in the en-suite bathroom or even sleeping in the beds. we slept in our sleeping bags and went to tesco in morning for breakfast and a wash.
I will never return.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oliver h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hexham hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

After reading the earlier reviews I can't say I was exactly excited about my weekend stay at The Station inn but I thought "it's better than camping". However, all I can say is "I don't know what the other reviewers were expecting". The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean and warm and breakfasts were good quality and filling. Okay maybe the room decor was a little dated but if you want 5 star - pay 5 star prices! The karaoke had finished before midnight, the only issue was parking, or lack of. If you're looking for somewhere cheap, clean and warm to rest your head then The Station Inn can't be beaten.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittykebab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

FAULTS:-
1. No parking
2. No chef for evening meal (food advertised all day)
3. Toilet in room dirty and no toilet roll
4. Paper thin walls (heard the gentleman next door snoring)
5. Light duvet (even though it's winter time)
6. No heat in room in the morning
7. Breakfast - no white bread for toast, no sausages. Cups and cultery dirty, when asked for clean cup given another dirty one.
8. Front door a FIRE HAZARD as it wouldn't open on 2 occassions - had to be opened from the outside.

On the positive side the young girl who booked us in and the young man who served us breakfast were very pleasant and helpful and tried their best.

We will never return to this Inn nor will we recommend it. So so disappointed.

Room Tip: The photos on the website were taken at least 5 years ago and even the bar decor is different. So n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Think we must have stayed in the same room as 'ray b'. The room decor is very dated and the room was shabby, 3 out of 4 lamps did not work, so had to read by main light. The curtains did not quite cover the window so felt like you were in a goldfish bowl with train station opposite. The TV was not plugged in (to the aerial or wall socket) and even when plugged in did not work (no digibox?), which was a shame as could not drown out the terrible noise of the karaoke til 12.15am.
The shower worked but you had to clean it before using it. It was musty smelling and damp generally. I also woke up with a couple of bites around my ankles.
Breakfast was ok, although they have a 4 slot toaster which all guests have to share, and only 2 of the slots work!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jason h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hexham hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
0.2 mi away
Coach and Horses
Coach and Horses
#57 of 63 in Hexham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tap & Spile B&B
Tap & Spile B&B
#56 of 63 in Hexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallbank Guest House
Hallbank Guest House
#20 of 63 in Hexham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 63 in Hexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#1 of 2 in Slaley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Inn

Property: Station Inn
Address: Station Road, Hexham NE46 1EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Inn Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing