We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax after a long walk.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gibbs Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gibbs Hill Farm
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Hexham
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great place to relax after a long walk.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at Gibbs Hill Famr while on the Hadrians Wall Walk. It was a long day hiking in overcast, drizzly weather and we were welcomed with tea and biscuits the moment we walked in. Val agreed to pick us up at the Steel Rigg car park but we decided to walk and it was an easy pleasant walk down to the Farm. Great spot, very quiet and very good host!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by this place being off the track. They pick you up if you ask, and it's wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
20
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I had a delightful stay at Val's B&B. Val was very warm, charming and hospitable. I stayed on Monday 7 April after my 2nd day of walking Hadrian's Wall. It was a very wet day so I arrived soaked and cold in the early evening. Val made sure my clothes and boots were dried and the room had a brilliant hot shower.
Val ensured I was taken to the local pub - Twice Brewed - for an evening meal and she picked me up afterwards as well.

It was a very warm and friendly B&B. I loved the fact it had been in Val's family line since the late 1800's.

Thank you again for a super stay and it was great meeting you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This location was 1.5 miles from the wall at its nearest point,the saving grace is that val gibson will pick you up from steel rigg car park.We had wandered down to twice brewed for a pint and managed to persuade her to pick us up from the pub carpark,so top marks there.there have been mixed reviews about this place.Friendliness and breakfasts were great.Dinner was arranged at a neighbouring farm saughy Riggwhere we were picked up and dropped off at no cost.It is right that the rooms do need refurbishing,little tired and bathrooms and water supply,consistency,need addressing,hence the 3 stars,This is given in comparison to places we had stayed previous nights for the same price,so although,not a bad place,it needs bringing up to modern standards that we expect

Room Tip: avoid the front room with the boiler as it seems to have a mind of its own when it fires up periodic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molarnator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Felbridge for a week at the end of August. Cottage pretty much as I expected from photos etc. Had all the equipment in kitchen to get by. Val was very helpful to us regarding the booking and made me welcome on arrival.
The bathroom does need attention which Val is aware of but there was always plenty of hot water.
On balance, would stay there again for the peace and quiet in superb location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night recently whilst walking the Wall. The welcome was hospitable and the breakfast, taken in the farmhouse was great. However, the cottage accommodation is very 'tired', appearing to be an 80's project that now needs significant investment and updating. Some of the windows are single glazed, a bathroom basin cold tap did not operate and a hand held shower over the bath is far from current standards and expectations, particularly after a long day's walking. Transport was provided to take guests to an excellent neighbouring farm restaurant which has a good menu and excellent food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A lovely welcome by Val Gibson and pick by Vals son. Lovely location, room was very clean and well furnished. a lovely meal with 4 other guests around 2 large tables. What other reviews wont I dont know if they wont a 5 star accommodation they are in the wrong place. It is a working farm but a clean and tidyone. One of our best stops on Hadrians Wall.. I travel the world and this is good. Val is a very friendly lady. The 4 potty ladies

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed there for a night during our Hadrian´s Wall walk. The farm is half an hour´s walk from the wall itself (Steel Rigg car park). We had a good stay, and Val Gibson is such an interesting hostess. We dined at a neighboring farm in the evening, and had a lovely dinner there. The rooms at Gibbs were clean with comfortable beds, but our bathroom had minor sanitary issues and could need a makeover. Excellent breakfast, and the staff were very helpful with transport to the wall in the morning. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hexham hotels
10.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westfield B&B
Westfield B&B
#2 of 3 in Newbrough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fairshaw Rigg
Fairshaw Rigg
#1 of 1 in Low Gate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
10.4 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
15.4 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Humshaugh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibbs Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibbs Hill Farm

Property: Gibbs Hill Farm
Address: Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Hexham
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibbs Hill Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gibbs Hill Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibbs Hill Farm Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing