We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable cottage in lovely location”
Review of Gibbs Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gibbs Hill Farm
Ranked #17 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Hexham
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Felbridge for a week at the end of August. Cottage pretty much as I expected from photos etc. Had all the equipment in kitchen to get by. Val was very helpful to us regarding the booking and made me welcome on arrival.
The bathroom does need attention which Val is aware of but there was always plenty of hot water.
On balance, would stay there again for the peace and quiet in superb location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night recently whilst walking the Wall. The welcome was hospitable and the breakfast, taken in the farmhouse was great. However, the cottage accommodation is very 'tired', appearing to be an 80's project that now needs significant investment and updating. Some of the windows are single glazed, a bathroom basin cold tap did not operate and a hand held shower over the bath is far from current standards and expectations, particularly after a long day's walking. Transport was provided to take guests to an excellent neighbouring farm restaurant which has a good menu and excellent food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A lovely welcome by Val Gibson and pick by Vals son. Lovely location, room was very clean and well furnished. a lovely meal with 4 other guests around 2 large tables. What other reviews wont I dont know if they wont a 5 star accommodation they are in the wrong place. It is a working farm but a clean and tidyone. One of our best stops on Hadrians Wall.. I travel the world and this is good. Val is a very friendly lady. The 4 potty ladies

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed there for a night during our Hadrian´s Wall walk. The farm is half an hour´s walk from the wall itself (Steel Rigg car park). We had a good stay, and Val Gibson is such an interesting hostess. We dined at a neighboring farm in the evening, and had a lovely dinner there. The rooms at Gibbs were clean with comfortable beds, but our bathroom had minor sanitary issues and could need a makeover. Excellent breakfast, and the staff were very helpful with transport to the wall in the morning. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Valerie was our favourite host of our stay along Hadrian's wall, it was like being invited to stay at your Gran's. Clean room, great facilities, shower was slightly noisy but worked fine. Breakfast was fantastic, packed lunch also. We were taken to her neighbours for tea, how delightful to find a wee treasure such as Saughy Rigg, best Mushroom Risotto I have ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakeb1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I booked a week in Felbridge Cottage for April 2013, rated 4 star on the owner's website. That's a complete fabrication. Mouse dropping in kitchen drawer, insect egg cacoon on wooden spoon, nameless white substance over all crockery, grubby - cobwebs in corners, dead woodlice behind the toilet. Shower has no head on it so is just a hose pipe. Owner's hygiene dubious,saw cats eating out of roasting tin and leftovers off plates, yep, that's at the B&B. Nominal refund offered, glib unconcern in response to my points. She's going to rip you off. Oh yes, and no smoke alarm upstairs, with a rickety old boiler under the wooden clad staircase. You'll burn to death. All of which is a shame because the location is great for walking and all the history. But there are better places to stay, certainly can't be many worse. Go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were given a lift from the Twice Brewed Inn after we'd gotten some dinner in our bellies. Very friendly, I saw no house rules as others have mentioned. Boots off at the door was perfectly reasonable as we were muddy and mucky. We were told to make good use of the bath and shower so nothing about not using the facilities available. We came with our three young children and were treated amazingly. A good nights sleep was had by all!
Breakfast at Gibbs was our favorite of our 6 day holiday and the lunches she packed us also favorite of the trip!
Would stay again and have already reccomended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsEG_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hexham hotels
10.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,183 reviews
15.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
722 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fairshaw Rigg
Fairshaw Rigg
#1 of 1 in Low Gate
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,109 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
15.4 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibbs Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibbs Hill Farm

Address: Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Hexham
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibbs Hill Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gibbs Hill Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibbs Hill Farm Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing