We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing food and service!”

Hextol Tans coffee shop and vegetarian cafe
Ranked #23 of 129 Restaurants in Hexham
Price range: $4 - $9
Description: Right in the heart of Hexham, the Hextol Tans is a vegetarian and vegan café, serving a great range of delicious soups and lunches - as well as bean-to-cup coffee, tea, and our fabulous range of cakes. Everything is homemade, and we have a selection of specials which change every day. You can take away as well as eat in, all at fair, prices and using ingredients from select local suppliers.
Restaurant details
Description: Right in the heart of Hexham, the Hextol Tans is a vegetarian and vegan café, serving a great range of delicious soups and lunches - as well as bean-to-cup coffee, tea, and our fabulous range of cakes. Everything is homemade, and we have a selection of specials which change every day. You can take away as well as eat in, all at fair, prices and using ingredients from select local suppliers.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hextol Tans is a lovely little cafe with very friendly and helpful staff staff. the food in general was excellent, with very good flavours + at a very good price, as well as interesting options for the daily specials. we especially enjoyed the cheese scones and the quiche, both of which were some of the best I've had (we ended up getting an extra scone because we enjoyed it so much). the atmosphere was great and I'm definitely planning on coming back if I am in the area again!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank eppiethom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Popped in for a light bite. Very pleasantly surprised. Vegetable curry and penne off the specials board at £6. Lovely food. Delightful service. Friendly and a business with a conscience.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank DavidPA4911JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Nice to know you are helping a loval charity by visiting the cafe.
Its got a nice atmosphere with reasonably priced food

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank brookfiftynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

My first visit to Hexham - looking for somewhere to have lunch and came upon a board advertising Hextol Tans. Excellent food, friendly atmosphere and good service..

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

Had a random day off with the missus so decided to have a look around Hexham, by chance wandered in as we strolled around and had the veggie chilli that was on the specials board, thoroughly enjoyed it and was great value, whilst there read with interest the background to the company/ charity and left with a warm feeling! Not only from the chilli but also supporting a great cause! We will be back, well done to all involved.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank petem101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hextol Tans coffee shop and vegetarian cafe also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Hextol Tans coffee shop and vegetarian cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing