We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spice Up Your Life”
Review of Mem saab

Mem saab
Ranked #162 of 645 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: $30 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

Good location, easy parking, nice helpful staff. All dishes well prepared and presented. I tried one of the daily specials chicken tikka with rice and salad. It was very good and great value. The vegetable dishes were really good, particularly the Dahl. If you want to spice up your life in Northampton give this place a go.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 644rong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 250 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2017

Went yesterday with the Sunday Lunch group for the buffet. What a lovely alternative. The place was busy, so booking recommended. The selection of starters, main and dessert were very good and freshly prepared. Catering for meat-eaters and vegetarians. The dishes were not too spicy and it was lovely to be able to try different dishes or all is so wished (some did). The one comment would be, they need to space the three areas out more, as there was congestion with everyone trying to help themselves from the tables. For £14.95 there was plenty.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MargRich18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

We hadn’t been here for a while but our previous visits had been very enjoyable. It was therefore a huge disappointment that on this occasion nothing seemed to go right. I am always reluctant to give a scathing review to a restaurant but this one is well deserved. Just some examples -
On arrrival, waited 20 minutes for a bottle of wine and during that wait we had to explain 3 times that we wanted to have a drink before ordering. Then we were told the wine wasn’t available.
Had poppadums at the table then waited 20 minutes for our starters. During this wait they tried to serve up more poppadums to us.
One starter returned with a hair in it. In order to avoid a fuss in front of fellow diners my wife went to the bar to explain only to be met with “ that’s odd, no one in the kitchen has long hair “.
After starters waited another 20 minutes for mains. Main dishes were good but rice was gloopy and Nan was stodgy.

So our total waiting time was 1 hour and it didn’t make for a very enjoyable evening. In fact half way through the mains we asked them to bag it up to take away. We were just not enjoying it even though these particular dishes were tasty - but there’s more to a meal out than just the food.

On previous visits it had always been full but on this occasion there were several empty tables which surprised us. Now we know why.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank SB864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

First class experience, Staff very good and good quality food,
Top marks Guys
We will be back to experience the culinary tasting experience
Good value good quality food

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank darrencI8825UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Lovely home made tasting food with excellent salads and plenty of choice. Nothing too hot but all the food is very tasty and fresh. Sunday jazz afternoon buffet highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank kennygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mem saab also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Mem saab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing