We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can cope well with large parties”

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #113 of 516 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: $10 - $71
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Can cope well with large parties”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went here in a large party of over 80 people and they coped very well with the pressure. We booked the whole restaurant however it wasnt possible to fit us all at the Teppanyaki tables but they managed to bring out all of the starter courses on time and the chefs performances where as enthusiastic and entertaining as ever. The quality was good overall, we had the banquet menu which had 6 starters followed by the main course of chicken, prawns, beef, and fried rice prepared in front of you by the chefs at the feature tables. With that many courses its always going to be a mixed bag but in the main the starters were OK and the main course was well cooked and very filling. The whole meal took just over 2 1/2 hours to serve, not bad for 80+ people and they also managed to keep the beer flowing for the whole evening. The service was efficient and cheerful and I would recommend the restaurant for large groups wanting a good evenings entertainment

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    29
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible service and atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked a table for 7pm, upon arriving were sat at a table by the bar, we waited, and waited...we then got their attention and they finally offered us some drinks, no attempt was made by the staff to greet us or ask if we would like a drink. They then presented us with menus and asked us to order. Considering we had booked a table, it seemed pretty rude to be sat squashed by the bar and asked to order. As I had been to a hibachi grill before, I knew how they worked, but my family didn't, and the restaurant made no attempt to explain that the food is cooked in front of you, and you typically order one dish etc..
We finally got sat down at the grill, right next to people who were already eating. There was a whole other grill, free, but they decided to squash us in, didn't make sense to me. The chef then came out and just cooked in front of us - that was it, no tricks, no attempt to talk to us, nothing. It was insanely pointless, I can watch someone cook any day - it was the entertainment and tricks I wanted to see. The food was tasty, but considering the price, definitely not worth it. Not only this, but at other hibachi grills, you tend to order between a group of you, and all share the different dishes - but no, he just gave each person the dish they ordered, and as it was all cooked at different times (and sooo sloooow) there wasn't much chance to share)
As it was my one of my family member's birthday, we had brought a cake in and asked them to bring it out after dinner. They decided that they were to move us back to the cramped table by the bar, which I found incredibly rude as we were still trying to enjoy our dinner! It was like, right you've had some grilled food, now get out...! We must have been waiting at least half an hour before they actually brought the cake out. Then we had to ask about 4 times for them to give us the cake box back...such a shambles.
There was barely any service, no 'how was your meal', no 'would you like another drink' etc, and the food was just grilled in front of me...thanks but next time I'll just have a BBQ. Terrible atmosphere and service, would not go back. If you want hibachi, for those prices, just go to Benihana in London, it is much better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Service:
• Lack of any greeting on arrival and trying to get someone's attention.
• Very disorganised people and felt like you were being processed through a badly developed system with inexperienced people
• Delayed for circa 1-2 hours from initial pre-booked slot depending on whether you count the long wait at the table.
• Invited to sit down at table where previous plates had been left and bits of food
• Arrival of food was sporadic and left people waiting while others had finished some time ago or were already on the next course.
Food:
• Preparation of the food in front of you was a nice idea and the chef attempted to salvage a bad situation
• Although subjective and not representative of all those I was with the food was very average indeed. Somewhat bland overall lacking flavour which came as somewhat of a surprise. This could be linked to the delay and rushing around.
• Conceptually a nice idea and good for a large group to sit together. Just very badly executed and expensive.
Overall:
Although the meal was discounted due to the acknowledged poor service I personally was not convinced that the management were sufficiently concerned. they were reactive in that it took a complaint for what was a very obvious issue with the service and under pressure they reduced the bill. If we were to have gone back or recommend I would have expected to have received a more sincere apology and a sense that this was a genuine a one-off and that they took their service seriously and would improve. For me this was not about achieving a discount at the end of the night it was about going out and enjoying a meal in the company of friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PatentsRpending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, a great atmosphere and a different night out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our third visit to Sakura in Northampton, which is a Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki Japanese Restaurant. The welcome is always very polite and the staff very helpful in guiding you through the menu, if you aren't sure of what to order and how much. Whilst choosing your food they have a good range of Japanese beers for a pre dinner drink, always a bonus! Once you've chosen your food you are seated around a hot plate and the specially trained chefs cook the food in front of you, showing off their cooking skills.

One highlight is when they serve the rice! They fill a bowl and flick the bowl off a spatula, spinning it through the air and you have to catch it...

The food is always excellent, top quality fresh fish and meat. Every time we have been I have come away with a full and satisfied.

Can be a bit pricey, but as a previous reviewer put "you pay for what you get"

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank isub-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gorgeous 'show off' food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The food is cooked freshly in front of you,from the meat to fish,stir fry to rice,it's all absolutely amazing. Can be a bit pricey,but I say you pay for what you get. An absolute gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobahnmillsmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing