We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Since change of management poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wok Inn

The Wok Inn
Ranked #116 of 516 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $42
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northampton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Since change of management poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We attended my daughters birthday dinner, and normally you are safe with the Wok. Unfortunately recent experiences have proven that since a change of management and staff the service has declined dramatically. The food continues to be very good but service is the critical factor. All attendees agreed that we will give the place a wide berth until we see a change reported. Looks like we will be visiting Castilian St more often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    66
    25
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good for a cheap night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Wok inn is a really good Chinese if you are looking for plentiful good food at a really good price,I think it may have recently changed management and the service wasn't as swift as normal but the food was still great, in fact if anything it's a bit to much. We were a group of 6 and we had a great night, wine is also reasonably priced in comparison to other restaurants, a fairly good red for £16. It's a no frills restaurant give it a go, apart from the imperial I don't think you will get any better in Northampton.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlindajen2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

What more can I say, the food is one of the best Chinese's I have had. The price is very reasonable especially for the quality. There are a lot of tables and sometimes you can feel like you are sitting on top of each other, but this restaurants is always so busy because it is the best Chinese, it kind of doesn't matter. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank penwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awful. Do Not Go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant used to be great, and now it is a total shambles.
We booked to go - for a table of 6 people. We had pre booked in the week, but when we arrived they informed us that they had no booking. (they hadn't written the booking in) They didn't have any tables and they said that "they would try and fit us in" There were large parties in there and so this clearly wasn't going to happen. After waiting for 15 minutes for an explanation or resolution in the middle of the restaurant as they do not have a suitable waiting area, we spoke to one of the waiters, and as we were trying to guage what was being done he shrugged and said "it wasnt our fault it is your fault" I tried to explain that we had a booking but he kept turning his back on me - 4 times!!! When a customer is trying to explain a situation to you, you should listen, pay attention, empathise and find a resolution - turning away from the customer and interrupting the customer is NOT acceptable. Then, finally, as I was still trying to explain my initial point, he said "Sir..." at me. I am a female and so this was the final straw for me and the rest of my party and we left. We would have spent £200 ish in that restaurant last night, and we have ALL been regular visitors to this restaurant in the past, but never, ever again. If you want extremely bad service, unreliable bookings and to be insulted then go to The Wok Inn - the worst restaurant in Northampton

PS, not only that, but 7 people were stood right outside the door smoking - a great welcome to the restaurant - and of course, when the front door was opened, the smell of smoke came into the restaurant - not appetising in the slightest

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstie276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful food lovely service defiantly reccomend - little pricey but well worth it. Will be returning again for some food. Reccomend the mixed starters and the dried shredded beef.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grapefruit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wok Inn also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Wok Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing