We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Comforts”
Review of The Stag

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stag
Ranked #7 of 19 Northampton B&B and Inns
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Country Comforts”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Delightful: greeted by Rob, and once I had settled in dined on the delicious lamb's liver. Plenty of atmosphere and character - it seems like a place for the locals to chew over the fat. I had intended to return to the bar but alas it had been a heavy day in Norfolk and fell blissfully asleep on the bed.
Traditional English breakfast to set me up the next morning - will be looking for an excuse to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
25
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a great find ! Was going to stay in Northampton, but drove on a little bit, and found this pub, about 8 miles north. Right in the middle of England apparently !

Loads of character, open fires - great food, and clean, en-suite rooms.

I was working - so no time to explore ..... but excellent walking - the centre of MacMillon way, Brampton Valley way cycle track, and just one mile from Lamport and Kelmarsh Halls (stately homes).

Apparently Northampton is the heart and soul (groan) of the shoemaker district, with many local famous companies. Could hear the talk (networking !) around the bar last night, and fellow guests at breakfast were visiting / on internships at local shoe manufacturers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almostgreynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We are working about 4 miles away from The Stags Head and have been stopping here for 2 weeks now.we have found the rooms to be very good,and the staff to be very friendly,there is free internet in the bar and rooms,and the food is second to none.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We use the Stags Head on a regular basis,for a night out, lunchtime stopover after a mornings walking/cycling on the Brampton Valley Way, any excuse really, Great atmosphere and great food can highly recommend the Stags Head chicken curry and cherry pancakes, only wish we could eat there every day. We now recognise it as being our local even though we have to go through three villages to get there. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in Room 6 on the ground floor, overlooking pleasant garden. Very tiny room, no wardrobe, just a hook on the wall. However, it was clean and modern. The downside was the lack of insulation between this room and the next - we could clearly hear all their bathroom activities and had to put the tv on to drown this out.

Dinner (vegetarian crumble) was very good - the place was packed, so food generally must have been good. I must make special mention of Simon, who was Receptionist/Barman/etc. - definitely in the right job, pleasant manner, courteous, smiling and helpful - wish all hotel/restaurant staff everywhere could be like him!

Room Tip: Although the 2 garden rooms are away from the traffic noise of the main road, there is the problem o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

visited wit my wife and father for his birthday,. Greeted with a friendly smile in a generally comfortable atmosphere. the service was prompt but not pushy which is a change from the large group pub eating places which have the find,feed them and forget them attitude.
the food was tasty and well presented and reasonably priced. certainly visit again when next in the area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilton Rugby
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Went here on Saturday night for a meal lovely staff and the view out the back of the pub is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
4.2 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
692 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
471 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,093 reviews
7.9 mi away
Shepherds Row
Shepherds Row
#1 of 19 in Northampton
111 reviews
22.6 mi away
Apple Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag

Property: The Stag
Address: Harborough Road | Maidwell, Northampton NN6 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A public house has occupied this site since 1766 (it was formerly named 'The Goat') and now running for 11 years under the same management and with the recent addition of a new head chef. The Stag Public House, Maidwell has a large beer garden for the summer time hosting outdoor events/bbqs, and warming log burner fires during the winter, with themed evenings, quizzes and live music. The pub represents a clean, warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere, open 7 days a week for food and drink, with ample car parking facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing