We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great British Pub, fantastic attention to detail.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stag

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stag
Ranked #6 of 19 Northampton B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great British Pub, fantastic attention to detail.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Charming and quirky! Stayed here for my 50th birthday for one night. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant and service at both dinner and breakfast was swift, relaxed and friendly. The food quality was very good in the restaurant as was the wine The bedrooms were very large and comfortable, Spotlessly clean and well maintained. The hotel also has a huge garden so I can imagine it would be great if you have kids or when the summer returns. But it was the owners fantastic attention to detail that made the all the difference, the resturant was very busy but he still made time to chat and truly make our stay one to remember (even made me a impromptu birthday cake)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
25
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Spent a night at the Stag's head and was pleasently surprised. The food and service were first class. The room was very large with very good facilities. Would recommend and use again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJBrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

One night stopover on a leisure trip. A friendly welcome, helpful staff, good dining options in the bar/restaurant & a selection of well kept real ales. Quiet rural setting but easy to find. Room fairly basic but more than adequate for our needs on a one night stopover and very good value for money. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandChris81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

This traditional English pub in a pretty village is just what you hope to find but rarely do. We (4) arrived here during a long journey, looking for lunch. The landlord said he'd finished serving (it was mid afternoon) but was prepared to make us lunch nonetheless. He then re-opened his kitch and cooked us all our individual choices. Really nice food to a high standard. The landlord had an advanced understanding of "customer service". Full marks for this place and we would definitely call again, maybe for longer next time.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here, just called for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ludomcgurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

We had an event that we needed to attend in Kettering and was going to book a hotel in Market Harborough but could not find anything suitable and decided to look a little further a field.
I came across the Stag's Head at Maidwell and could not of picked a nicer place for the money.
We arrived about 8pm and was immediately pleased with the surrounding area and the exterior of the inn. On entering you could feel the friendly atmosphere, presumably from local regulars and we were impressed with the decor, good traditional pub with oak beams and stone fireplaces. We were immediately shown to our room which we were very impressed with. It was of good size and had everything you could need; trouser press, small TV, tea and coffee, bottled water, ensuite shower, toilet, and sink. The furniture and bed was of good quality and the whole place was very clean (a must).
Although the inn is on the roadside the road is not too busy, especially at night and I think the other rooms, like ours, faced onto the lovely garden at the rear of the property.
The bar sold traditional hand pulled ales which I like and the food smelled good. Unfortunately we only got to try the breakfast (included in the room rate) which was great. Large choice of cereals, toast, fruit juice, and a good quality full English. We had planned to return for dinner after the event in Kettering as the breakfast was so good and the dinner menu really suited my tastes, unfortunately we stayed at the event longer than expected and needed to get back home to our children.
The meals seemed well priced as did the double room (£60). I had a pint of beer and my wife had a J20 (orange drink) which came to £4.85, not quite as well priced, but maybe drinks are cheaper where I live (Yorkshire).
I hope I in the future I have a reason to be in the area again as I would gladly stay at the Stag's Head again.

A special mention should be made to the lady whom I presume is the landlady (ginger frizzy hair). She was very friendly and I believe it was her that cooked our lovely breakfast and we enjoyed having a chat with her.

  • Liked — Quality of room
  • Disliked — Nothing, but don't know if they have wireless internet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
8.7 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
9.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
6.5 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
7.8 mi away
Shepherds Row
Shepherds Row
#1 of 19 in Northampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag

Property: The Stag
Address: Harborough Road | Maidwell, Northampton NN6 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A public house has occupied this site since 1766 (it was formerly named 'The Goat') and now running for 11 years under the same management and with the recent addition of new head chef, Bill Mackie. The Stags Head Public House, Maidwell has a large beer garden for the summer time hosting outdoor events/bbqs, and warming log burner fires during the winter, with themed evenings, quizzes and live music. The pub represents a clean, warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere, open 7 days a week for food and drink, with ample car parking facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing