We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, poor nights sleep”
Review of Hopping Hare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hopping Hare
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before doing a Red Letter Wacky Races day. Chose it as different to all the main stream chain hotels in the area.
We received a warm welcome. Happy with the room. Had dinner in the bar as sadly restaurant full. Really enjoyed the butternut squash and oat fritters and my partner enjoyed his burger. Staff friendly and attentive.
Breakfast was also enjoyable. Both had the full English. Was room for a little more organisation due to not enough tables so people waiting and two staff trying to do ten things at once, but full marks for effort.
My main negative feedback, and quite important, is my poor quality of sleep. We were in room 104 (if I recall correctly) which must be over the front internal door. All I could hear is the constant banging of it which seemed to rattle through the radiator. This went on until midnight and woke me up again around 7.30am. If this door could be prevented from banging (then bouncing a few more times after), it would have been a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VictoriaH105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Victoria,

Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed the Wacky Races day.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your meals and the team looked after you well.
Excellent food and first class customer service are our highest priorities.

The door you refer to is a fire door and it should not bang. We will get this fixed.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Northampton.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 507 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was booked into this hotel for a business meeting near by. It was my first time in the area and didn't know what to expect. I can't say enough good things about the staff and the hotel; everyone went the extra mile to make sure the room and accommodations were perfect, plus the staff in the restaurant were exceptional. One morning I missed breakfast (by 45 minutes) and I was offered a very nice bacon sandwich and tea, very kind indeed. The room was cozy and clean, just a delight to stay there. Many thanks to the employees at the Hopping Hare, people make the difference.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humancapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Humancapo,

Thank you for your kind review.

You are so spot on. The whole ethos at The Hopping Hare is to go that extra mile for our customers. Our staff really do care, try hard and really appreciate it when their efforts result in customers having a great time.

Your feedback will enthuse and encourage then further.

Many thanks, Kind regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for an overnight stop to break our journey. Dinner,bed and breakfast.
The room had no view but this was not important to us. The main anxiety is always will the bed be hard? It was not, we both slept well and even though I had a topper in the car outside there was no need for it. Well done!
The carpark was safe, as we had things in the car this was a reason for choosing this hotel.
Dinner was fine, tasty and nicely presented and breakfast good enough..No marmite however.
This is an old building but all signs of this have been banished in favour of a contemporary style featuring large vases.
Very pleasant and responsive staff.
We would not return because of the relentless music which is continuously intruding in the whole downstairs area ,including the dining room. There is no quiet area so we went to bed early.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank persistent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Persistent,

Thank you for your complimentary review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Clearly we had the background music a little high. There are 4 zones and each area should be set at a level which is audible but not intrusive. When set at the correct level it is ideal and we will certainly pay more attention to this area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for two nights and wished I could of stayed longer.

First of all service was fantastic, friendly but professional , they actually looked like they wanted to serve you , which is hard to find ! They all just seemed to get along and work as a team , it was great to see.

Food again was great , rooms were comfy and spacious , I had an outward facing room , and although was no sea view it was still very pleasant. Breakfast was okay , you could tell the food was all fresh which was the main thing.

I do think everyone should be very proud of how they portray themselves here

well done we will be back !

Room Tip: Get a outward facing room so you can avoid the interior fans for the kitchen. Make sure you book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asifthe5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Asifthe5th,

Thank you for an excellent review.

You hit the nail right on the head. The team really want our customers to have a great experience at The Hopping Hare and they go the extra mile to deliver first class customer service.
I really appreciate it when customers recognise that our staff really care and take pride in their work.

Our food is excellent as well!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visiting Northampton we stayed one night at the Hopping Hare. Staff could not of been more helpful. Excellent value for money. Breakfast was also excellent.
Would recommend this hotel.

Good value for money as the price we paid we did not expect much.
We will be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: traveling with babies take your own travel cot as they do not supply one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iloveittravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Iloveit,

Thank you for your kind review and for recommending The Hopping Hare to other travellers.

Our staff are very friendly and helpful and I am particularly pleased that you appreciated the excellent customer service which they always try to deliver.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Haven't eaten here in quite a while and it gets better each time. Had a wonderful meal with all the trimmings. Such friendly and helpful staff and such good value for money. If your looking for a tasty lunch or a special place to treat someone I'd highly recommend the hopping Hare!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Nikki,

Thank you so much for your very positive review.

The staff are indeed extremely helpful and friendly and I know they always go out of their way to offer exceptional customer service. I know that their efforts are recognised by our customers but of course only a few post a review. So thank you very much.

Kind regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights and for an evening meal. I would recommend that the restaurant is brilliant. The food is of a very high standard and would recommend as fine dining. My husband ordered the 31 aged sirloin steak which he thoroughly enjoyed, and I ordereed trout with green salad leaves toss in lime juice which was fab. Our stay in the hotel was average, as you entered the B&B. Not sure where the receptionist area is situated as there is no sign to indicated this. I found that the staff was not very welcoming or friendly. There was a wedding party that had booked out most of the rooms and we were subjected to the last room which was awful, it was a sweat box for two nights that we had a fan going all night (no aircon) In the bathroom was a shower cubicle only that you could just about fit into and definitely not able to swing a cat in. Breakfast was good but service awful. Waitress decided to bring me porridge and a cooked breakfast at the same time to eat. Very disappointing stay. The only saving grace to this establishment is the brilliant chef a sous chefs in the kitchen.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Winnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Winnie,

I am pleased that you recognised our restaurant as brilliant and that you would recommend the food as fine dining. We don't believe we are fine dining but we do know we are one of the very best restaurants in the County and our food is of exceptional quality and excellent value for money.

The staff are very disappointed with your comments about service and I am surprised as excellent customer service is our highest priority and overwhelming feedback from customers is positive and very good.

On a couple of specifics, the fan you referred to was in fact the air extraction unit in the en suite bathroom which was on as the light in the en suite must have been left on (it goes off automatically 15 minutes after the light is switched off).

Our powerful showers are a standard size for hotels. We have had positive feedback on them, but never have had a complaint.

I understand that porridge and breakfast were ordered at the same time and prepared at the same time as the chef assumed there were 2 people for breakfast. As you know as soon as the mistake was discovered the breakfast was returned and reserved later, with an apology for the misunderstanding from our staff.

Regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#7 of 27 in Northampton
521 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 27 in Northampton
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
745 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopping Hare

Address: 18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#4 Family Hotel in Northampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range: $107 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hopping Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When my family bought the Hopping Hare in 2006 our aim was to create an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, somewhere just a bit different. A place to dine, stay or meet up and relax with friends, family or colleagues. We didn't want it to be stuffy, intimidating or over the top. We set about creating luxurious rooms, a subtle, sophisticated bar with a great selection of quality drinks and a restaurant offering some of the best food to be found in Northampton. As a family owned and operated business, we set the standards on service, value for money, atmosphere and personality. No detail has been overlooked in creating a hotel, restaurant and bar in Northampton with an individual blend of 21st-century chic, high standards and a laid back friendly feel that we are sure you'll begin to notice as soon as you step inside. We've got to know some of our guests well because they come back time after time. In fact, 2010 saw the completion of an extension to the hotel to meet increased demand for accommodation from a growing clientele. My team and I would love to welcome you to stay for brunch, lunch, dinner or just a drink. Once the Hopping Hare is on your radar we guarantee you'll be back. David George, General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hopping Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopping Hare Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing