We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fan-flipping-tastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hopping Hare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hopping Hare
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
kettering
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fan-flipping-tastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I love this place it's my second favourite place to eat in northants. We went here for a meal on the Saturday after new year and couldn't fault it, the only downer is its 3/4 hour away from me so someone has to drive, that's my fault though.

The setting is exquisite, the staff helpful and the food out of this world.

We had a bread starter with olive oil and balsamic dip, one main dish of chicken with mushroom risotto and a main dish of beef Wellington with a drink each, it was all well presented and done better than a Gordon Ramsey place I've been to an the bill came to £50, I was happy with that and you get what you pay for.

I hope they keep this head chef they are worth their weight in gold

Good place to go they do have rooms too if you want to stay over. The place is well worth a visit, top marks from me!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank thegoose768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Goose,

It is so good to get such a glowing recommendation, especially from a Senior Contributor. Thank you so much and I know that you will have made the day for the kitchen team and the front of house staff. On their behalf many thanks.

We have two straightforward objectives, to serve excellent quality food and to give first class customer service so that our customers really enjoy their visit. I am delighted we continue to deliver on both counts.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    120
    47
    11
    12
See reviews for
84
171
9
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed for a wedding, 2 nights, initial problem with our booking on check in(the grooms fault!) which was quickly and effectively dealt with by the staff. In fact all staff very good and accommodating throughout our stay.
Had one evening meal and 2 breakfasts all of which were exceptional.
Room was quite a trek from the bar but spacious and decorated in a modern style. Some peeling paint in the bathroom, but overall very good. We'd definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Andy,

Many thanks for your kind review.

I am very pleased that you found the quality of our food to be exceptional and were very pleased as regards customer service. These are indeed our two highest priorities.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I love this pub I'm a regular, but Xmas day as always we went for a pre lunch drink and there were no festive offerings such as egg nog or mulled wine? Or the bar man couldn't be bothered to make it. The atmosphere was terrible ( no christamas music poor decorations )and had I paid £64.99 for the meal I would be very disappointed
Either way disappointing Xmas day visit!
Please address these small issues as the hopping hare is a great venue.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Tony,

Thank you for your feedback and I am very pleased that you recognise that The Hopping Hare is a great venue.

We do try very hard to give excellent customer service and we will take note of your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I vistited the hopping hare over the weekend for a meal & over night stay. Food & service was amazing & room was really comfortable. Will definitely recommend & be back in the future. Thanks for a great evening.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear James,

Thank you so much for writing such a complimentary review, it is very much appreciated.

The team try so hard to deliver excellent customer service and top quality food and it is great to get appreciative feedback from customers.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We came to the hopping hare for my husbands birthday back in September and stayed over with breakfast the following morning. The whole experience was beyond fantastic. For our evening meal we both had a special of haddock and leek gratin, I can honestly say it was the best dish I‘ve ever tasted, it was delicious. My husband had blade of beef and I had chicken. Both were exceptional. I am not a personal fan of beef but my husband gave me a piece and I can honestly say I could easily be converted if beef always tasted that good. For desert we shared a chocolate brownie which again was to die for. To top off the amazing food it was complimented by a lovely ambience and atmosphere in the restaurant and our bedroom had the wow factor with a king size bed and all mod cons. The service through out was faultless and all the staff made sure we had a good evening.

Due to the fantastic experience we returned yesterday evening for a birthday dinner with the family for our mother in law. Second time round yet again - absolutely faultless. For starters we all differed with clams and chicken terrine. For mains we had duck, chicken risotto and pork belly. Deserts were the crème bruelee and ice cream with no complaints what so ever. The service was fantastic and the restaurant even kept aside a cake we brought in especially for the occasion. With being December I was apprehensive if the service would live up to the same expectations when we visited in September ,as Christmas times in restaurants can be a little chaotic! I can definitely say the experience last night matched our last visit and again I cant wait to return in the new year. I cant recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Joanna,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and complimentary review.

The team at The Hopping Hare try so hard to serve excellent quality food and to provide first class customer service and it is really appreciated when customers take the time to recognise this.

On their behalf, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

My family had our Christmas get-together at the Hopping Hare. We stayed in Rooms 15, 16, 17, 18 and 19 and without exception they were clean and tidy. No complaints at all. We also ate in the restaurant and had a lovely meal. Breakfast was also good. The staff were friendly and helpful and any small glitches were ironed out quickly with a minimum of fuss. Highly recommended, we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 18 are up their own stairs and the only 2 up there so good for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mintys_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Mintys Gal,

Thank you very much for your kind review and also for your custom. Our team will be very pleased with your feedback.

I am delighted that your family Christmas get together went well and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

kind regards

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

staying here room cleaning needs improving! breakfast shocking.
scrambled eggs were so runny with burnt toast.
banging door all night and then again in the morning!!! I mean come on once is enough surely

would I stay again.....

who knows

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Sugarlover,

Thank you for your comments and I can confirm that the points you have raised have been dealt with.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
4.3 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
10.7 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopping Hare

Property: Hopping Hare
Address: 18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#5 Family Hotel in Northampton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hopping Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When my family bought the Hopping Hare in 2006 our aim was to create an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, somewhere just a bit different. A place to dine, stay or meet up and relax with friends, family or colleagues. We didn't want it to be stuffy, intimidating or over the top. We set about creating luxurious rooms, a subtle, sophisticated bar with a great selection of quality drinks and a restaurant offering some of the best food to be found in Northampton. As a family owned and operated business, we set the standards on service, value for money, atmosphere and personality. No detail has been overlooked in creating a hotel, restaurant and bar in Northampton with an individual blend of 21st-century chic, high standards and a laid back friendly feel that we are sure you'll begin to notice as soon as you step inside. We've got to know some of our guests well because they come back time after time. In fact, 2010 saw the completion of an extension to the hotel to meet increased demand for accommodation from a growing clientele. My team and I would love to welcome you to stay for brunch, lunch, dinner or just a drink. Once the Hopping Hare is on your radar we guarantee you'll be back. David George, General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Hopping Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopping Hare Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing