We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend break”
Review of Hopping Hare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hopping Hare
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just returned from an excellent weekend break at the Hopping Hare Hotel. We booked to coincide with the Battle of The Proms event at Althorp, the hotel was ideally located for this event. When we arrived on Friday, we were greeted by Debbie, who was absolutely fantastic in her effort to make our stay a weekend to remember. We asked for a free standing fan in the room, as we were lucky enough to arrive with good weather on our side. This was not a problem and Debbie sorted this for us without delay. The room we stayed in was very pleasant with a very comfy bed and the decor was very nicely themed. We dined in the restaurant on Friday evening and were looked after very well by all concerned. It was a fantastic weekend, but think that was because it got off to a great start with the lovely welcome extended to us. Thanks again Debbie, you made our stay really memorable, and a note of thanks from Keith, for ringing us when we left to let us know we had left something behind. Great service from very professional staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceysTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Tracey and Keith,

Thank you for your kind review and I am really pleased you had a fantastic weekend at The Hopping Hare.

Also thank you for praising Debbie. It is really nice when excellent customer service is recognised and this encourages all members of the team to really focus on delivering first class customer service, which indeed is one of our highest priorities and which we try very hard to encourage.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 509 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stay here every year for Battle Proms at Althorp. Last year I think I rated this as 5 but sadly this year there were a few little snags. The pilows in the room, both had black fluff on the sides. The shower glass doors handle was broken on one side but other than these minor issues the room was lovely. The double bed was two single beds joined, which I know is common for hotels but this was not totally level so not comfortable in the middle part. Other than this the room was well decorated and stylish, well aired and all the required additional extras.

It seems that if you miss the first "service" of the day then you just get fresh towels left on the floor outside your room, with no extra tea/coffee etc. It would be good it for rooms where users are not vacant when the clean is being doing staff ask and see if anything else is needed.

The meal on Friday had good and bad points. The lady serving us gave us the menu, failing to tell us which items were not available. Then my husband was served the mussels dish with just a knife and fork so we had to ask for a spoon. Small details but ones that really should be attended to.

The main course was delicisios as was the dessert. Breakfast was not too bad on Saturday - though very small portion of toast. Sunday we had to sit at a table full of uncleared pots for 20 minutes before anyone even bothered to clear it. I appreciate it was very busy but the hotel should be geared up to deal with this especially when they know they are full due to busy local events. Once the table was cleared our order was taken - we had to ask for toast, (was not offerred) - again a small portion and the portion of the breakfast itself smaller than the day before. It took a long time to get things that they had run out of like orange juice and napkins.
All in all not at all on the ball at breakfast on the Sunday.

We loved our stay last year and the service was excellent and the room faultless. This year worryingly it felt like standards were slipping a little. We will give it another try next year in the hope that it is back to the previous high standards as the food that was available was excellent, the room (despite the aforementioned) very sytlish but just the service needs looking into I think.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strontium38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Nandoland,

Thank you for your review and we will take on board the comments you have made.

I am very pleased that you found the food was ''delicious'', but of course I am disappointed that our standards slipped a little from last year's very high standards.

I am pleased that you will stay with us again next year, when I expect we will again deliver first class customer service.

Kind regards.

David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is lovely and anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the area should stay here.
Well maintained comfortable room. Excellent welcome from staff and one of the best English breakfasts ever. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDKlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear MDK,

Thank you very much for your kind review and I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Our two key priorities are to deliver first class customer service and to serve excellent quality food at VFM prices. I am pleased that we did both.

We look forward to you visiting again soon.

kind regards.

David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from The Hopping hare after a lovely and relaxing weekend break. The posponement of the Landrover show didn't even matter after seeing our room. It was absolutely gorgeous with fixtures and fittings straight out of an upmarket home decor magazine. The bed was comfy and had a fantastic velvet headboard with matching cushions. The en-suite was another delight and the shower had plenty of hot water. The breakfasts were fresh, cooked to order and delicious.
There were quite a few guests at the hotel but the staff were effecient, helpful and extremely pleasant.
All in all a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 17 at the top of the building although up a lot of stairs was a delight and a surprise.!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsypurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Patsy,

Thank you very much for your kind revieww which is much appreciated.

Liike you I think our three ''upstairs'' rooms are a bit different and are excellent.

We hope you can visit us again soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hopping Hare as a party of 9. We were due to go white water rafting but unfortunately this was cancelled due to the weather! Upon arrival David and his team tried to find us something else to do for the afternoon. The service here is fantastic. The rooms are very modern, clean and the bathrooms have been newly refurbished. We ate in the restuarant and the food was exceptional quality and good value. Thank you for turning our weekend into a very pleasurable experience - we will back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine29mah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Lorraine,

Many thanks for your kind review and I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Hopping Hare.

Our twin priorities are to deliver first class customer service and to serve excellent quality fresh food at VFM prices. I am delighted that you feel we have delivered on both.

We look forward to looking after your party again soon.

kind regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Basic hotel rooms a little tired and the bathrooms could certainly do with a refurb.
Public areas good and great informal bar and restaurant area. Very good food, great presentation and fab wine list all at bargain prices.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank all_ar0und_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear AOTW,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you thought our food was very good with great presentation and at FVM prices.

Excellent food, freshly prepared on a daily basis and first class customer service are our highest priorities.

We have 20 bedrooms, half of which are new and furnished c 2 years ago and are in excellent condition. The other rooms were refurbished in 2006 and we have an orgoing refurbishment programme. There are 2 rooms a little tired as you have identified and they are now scheduled for refurbishment.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed with my parents over the formula one weekend as it was the only room we could find. Originally booked for 2 adults, they had no problem with adding an extra person to the room (on a sofa bed) for no extra cost - not even for breakfast. The room was large enough and clean. Bathroom was lovely. We ate in the restaurant with friends that evening and the food was way above average - really, really nice. Breakfast was cooked or continental and was included in room charge. Definitely would stay again. Great value. Location is a bit bizarre (in the middle of a housing estate) but not a problem really.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Elizabeth,

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is much appreciated.

I am really pleased that you and your parents had a great time at The Hopping Hare over the Grand Prix weekend.

If you are coming to Silverstone next year please give Dave, General Manager a call and he can book you in at the same package deal.

Kindest regards

David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
4.3 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 27 in Northampton
442 reviews
3.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#8 of 27 in Northampton
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
749 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 27 in Northampton
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopping Hare

Address: 18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#4 Family Hotel in Northampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range: $110 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hopping Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When my family bought the Hopping Hare in 2006 our aim was to create an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, somewhere just a bit different. A place to dine, stay or meet up and relax with friends, family or colleagues. We didn't want it to be stuffy, intimidating or over the top. We set about creating luxurious rooms, a subtle, sophisticated bar with a great selection of quality drinks and a restaurant offering some of the best food to be found in Northampton. As a family owned and operated business, we set the standards on service, value for money, atmosphere and personality. No detail has been overlooked in creating a hotel, restaurant and bar in Northampton with an individual blend of 21st-century chic, high standards and a laid back friendly feel that we are sure you'll begin to notice as soon as you step inside. We've got to know some of our guests well because they come back time after time. In fact, 2010 saw the completion of an extension to the hotel to meet increased demand for accommodation from a growing clientele. My team and I would love to welcome you to stay for brunch, lunch, dinner or just a drink. Once the Hopping Hare is on your radar we guarantee you'll be back. David George, General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hopping Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopping Hare Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing