We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sunday roast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hopping Hare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hopping Hare
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sunday roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Three of us went today for sunday lunch. Food was exceptional, well cooked and clearly freshly prepared (we all chose the sunday roast) We relaxed in the bar area before and after our meal on the comfy settee and cosy seats. A really good choice of background music added to the overall ambience. The owner was visiting and kindly treated us to a glass of champagne, very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billie_122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Billie,

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted you and the family enjoyed our Sunday lunch. Our chefs are very talented, we source the finest quality produce from local suppliers and they firmly believe that our Sunday roasts are the best in Northampton. Who am I to disagree??

We hope to see you all again soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    120
    47
    10
    12
See reviews for
82
167
9
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Since burning down & being refurbished the Hopping Hare has improved enormously. With tasteful nic-nacs, motivated service, excellent menu, presentation & flavour and with a really good breakfast for those staying over. I was impressed by the music choice (always tasteful) and the cheerful staff. Simply not what you expect in Duston!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Songmaster,

Thank you very much for submitting a review and I am very pleased you were impressed.

Customer service is our number 1 priority and we believe we offer ''relaxed dining at its best'' with excellent quality food.

We hope that you can call again soon.

PS Duston is OK and greatly improved since the Hopping Hare reopened in 2006!!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
478 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

I went to stay at the Hopping Hare on the night of the 18th March, Mother's Day. I was there with my wife and several family members for an overnight stay, as somewhat poignantly we were attending my mother-in-laws funeral in Milton Malson the following day. We had had pre-booked a table for 7pm as a number of us had travelled long distances from Northumberland and west Wales. The hotel had been serving meals non-stop from midday, and our fare came at the end of a very long shift for the catering brigade. Not surprisingly, it was a tired and disappointing experience, with cold, stale vegetables, and last, spare cuts of meat. Nevertheless the house manager, Ryan, was quick to exchange our dishes for more acceptable ones when we complained. We have enjoyed our meals here once before, so we wrote this one off. Our king size double rooms were superb, decorated in interesting and subtle colours, spotlessly clean, and with excellent facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful, without being unduely intrusive. Would we stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: The king size doubles are good value and a treat to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear JR,

Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that you consider our bedrooms to be superb and that they were spotlessly clean. I am also pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Customer service is our number 1 priority and I am pleased that you specifically have mentioned the service you received from Ryan, who is very customer focussed, an excellent member of our team and a great example to others.

I am, however disappointed with the quality of the meal you were served. Our kitchen team are very talented and we only source the very best quality produce and you will see from other reviews that normally we get excellent feedback on the quality of our food. However, on this occassion we did not get it right and I can only apologise.

I do hope you can call again soon and very much hope and expect that we can get every aspect of our customer service spot on.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, waikato
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

What a nice surprise. A reasonably priced meal, lovely surroundings, tasty and well presented food. We have had so many average pub-style meals in the UK so it was nice to have a pleasant surprise. Would recommend for a lunch or dinner.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank freet0fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Freet,

I hope this is your name. How great to have a Kiwi visiting us and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with our food offering. We have a very skilled kitchen team and we source from prime suppliers.

Hamilto, Waikato looks a fantastic place.

Happy travelling.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed 1 night. Very good stay, rooms warm, clean and freshly decorated. Breakfast excellent . Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Debs

We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We try really hard to give excellent customer service and we get it right most times.

We hope you can come back soon.

Mant thanks

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Very clean and comfortable stay and very good value for money.
Room quite small, but contained everything you need.
Power shower was amazing!
Very quiet. No noise from public bar downstairs, or from other guests.
Very good breakfast, (apart from the soggy fried bread).
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Martin

Thank you for your kind review.

We hope you can stay again soon and I will have a word about the soggy fried bread!!

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

My wife and i booked the whole of the conservertory for our Ruby Wedding Party Lunch.
It was held on March 11th 2012
We inspected the eating area prior to booking, and we were both very impressed by what we saw. The table arrangments were very flexible, so making it easy to group people together.
On the day of the lunch every thing was fantastic, we had a very warm welcome from the staff, and the conservertory and tables were decorated with Ruby coloured baloons, table decorations and spotless tableware. Everyone was welcomed into the conservertory with a glass of champagne. The food was served as soon as everyone was seated and comfortable.
The meals had been pre-booked from a very wide choice of food, and when delivered to the tables by very pleasent staff, looked very carefully presented. The food was cooked to a very high standard, and generous helpings. Wine was served by the waiters, who appeared very pleased to do so, and looked after everyones needs throughout the meal.
We could not fault any part of the lunch, and it made it a fantastic Ruby Wedding Day.
We will certainly use the resturant again in the future.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MFen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all very pleased that your party really enjoyed themselves.
We believe we are an ideal venue for a party or celebration, but practice makes perfect and we will always try and improve.

Many thanks for submitting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
4.3 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.0 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
5.8 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopping Hare

Property: Hopping Hare
Address: 18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#5 Family Hotel in Northampton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hopping Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When my family bought the Hopping Hare in 2006 our aim was to create an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, somewhere just a bit different. A place to dine, stay or meet up and relax with friends, family or colleagues. We didn't want it to be stuffy, intimidating or over the top. We set about creating luxurious rooms, a subtle, sophisticated bar with a great selection of quality drinks and a restaurant offering some of the best food to be found in Northampton. As a family owned and operated business, we set the standards on service, value for money, atmosphere and personality. No detail has been overlooked in creating a hotel, restaurant and bar in Northampton with an individual blend of 21st-century chic, high standards and a laid back friendly feel that we are sure you'll begin to notice as soon as you step inside. We've got to know some of our guests well because they come back time after time. In fact, 2010 saw the completion of an extension to the hotel to meet increased demand for accommodation from a growing clientele. My team and I would love to welcome you to stay for brunch, lunch, dinner or just a drink. Once the Hopping Hare is on your radar we guarantee you'll be back. David George, General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Hopping Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopping Hare Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing