We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #16 of 657 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Food served Tuesday to Thursday 12 - 2 and 6 - 9. Friday and Saturday 12 -2 and 6 - 9:30 Sunday 12 - 3 Enjoy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food, nice selection of dishes on the Sunday lunch menu, though a little too many served with chips in my opinion. However, the roasties were excellent (no Aunt Bessie's here!). The roast pork lunch I had was good but not the best I have had, could do with being a little more imaginative. I must say the waiters and service was faultless, well done, overall enjoyable but wouldn't rush back.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jansterKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 167 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2019 via mobile

Six of us went here on Saturday evening 3rd August there was a bit of a mix up with our booking but the staff found us a table and looked after us with a round of drinks which was a nice touch.
The choice of ales was very good and the food was excellent I had the Wellington all in all we had a great evening thanks to all the staff
Nice outside area as well plenty of parking We will be back

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank daftdevondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

Visited the Royal Oak with friends for the first time. Very impressed with the menu choice. The meals arrived in the time stated , they were hot and very tasty. The staff were friendly and we were impressed by the value for money. The restaurant is tastefully decorated with a nice atmosphere. We all agreed we would have no hesitation in coming back again. A great evening with delicious food..

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 198polly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019 via mobile

Walked here from Billing Aquadome and it was well worth it. Staff and locals were all very friendly. Beautiful garden too. Food was excellent. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 739Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

Friendly staff, very good menu with plenty of gluten free options and fantastic gluten free beer available all set in a lovely rural location. We will certainly be returning for another visit soon.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fatboygilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Kislingbury, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing