We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Walnut Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Walnut Tree Inn to your Saves list
The Walnut Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21, Station Road, Northampton NN7 3DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Northampton
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A friendly little hotel. We arrived to check in very late - which seemed no worry to them. We were too late to have anything to eat but the bar looked very welcoming. Got up to a lovely freshly cooked breakfast served by very efficient and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The hotel is VERY close to the main London to Birmingham railway line, if you don't want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSumaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room had all the necessities. Inspite of the closeness to the high speed London railway line we were not bothered by the noise at the back of this nice old building. Breakfast was excellent. We had not found the mattress very comfortable but our feedback was received in a very positive way.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Booked the day before and had no expectations. Arrived late, but in time for a quiet drink in the bar. Good quality 'real ales' on. The staff were friendly, the room was clean & comfortable, the shower hot. Breakfast was served with a smile and very good. When I next need to stay in the area, I'll be booking in here. (didn't have a problem with train noise, due to my room being at the back)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back don't get the train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

First visit to this restaurant .Welcomed by a lovely waitress,so polite and professional.
I had the bream which was cooked beautifully.Throughout the evening the waitress was attentive...
We will certainly return,compliments to the chef,very good food,cooked and presented to a high standard.

Room Tip: Well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24conway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here and were very happy with the hotel and all it had to offer. The rooms are clean, and well equipped. We found the staff to be very kind, friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The food was excellent, with a great choice, and a really nice friendly bar to top things off. I think the hotel is very reasonably priced,and so the quality exceeded my expectations.
I was a bit concerned when I arrived about the noise from trains, as I'm usually a light sleeper, but ... the trains must have stopped as I slept like a baby both nights.
I would struggle to find anything to dislike really, if you expect the Ritz, then you should book (and pay for) the Ritz. This is a very friendly local Inn, with great food and friendly staff..... I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The food at the hotel was good if pricey, the room was average but the noise from the railway is horrendous. We were in room 5 and directly opposite the tracks high speed trains every 5 mins up to midnight and starting at 5.30. There is no mention of this on the blurb for the hotel on their own site we would have reconsidered our choice. The girl at reception was excellent very welcoming and very helpful.

We would not return to this hotel but only due to the noise.

Room Tip: On booking ask for a back room away from the boiler/ refrigerator unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarybuzzacott05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I booked a room at the Walnut tree as it was the venue for a family wedding. We booked one of the smaller rooms at £69, which was indeed small, but fine for a one night stay with a a good size ensuite. Nice fresh modern decor, and a clean and well maintained room with a very comfortable bed.
We had a front room overlooking the adjacent railway line, but the train noise was minimal and stopped at night. The toilet in the next room flushed loudly but I have rarely been to a hotel where you couldn't hear some noise from plumbing.
We had a good night's sleep. The only issue which I did raise with the hotel was that the room faced east and had very thin curtains so at 5.30am the light woke us up. I did get back off to sleep but by husband didn't as it was too light. This would be easily sorted with blackout linings.
Otherwise the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was lovely and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear would be quieter and less sunny in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
4.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 28 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 28 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Northampton South (Wootton) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Inn

Address: 21, Station Road, Northampton NN7 3DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully spacious reasonably priced hotel in rural Northamptonshire, near the home of British Grand Prix - Silverstone. Fantastic dining, a relaxed atmosphere and a lively bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Walnut Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing