We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value but service lacking ”

Toby Carvery East Hunsbury
Ranked #350 of 580 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Home of the roast - and much more... When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Northampton's favourite carvery restaurant. Breakfast is Mon-Sat 8am-11am, Sun 8am-10.30pm Carvery is 11.30am-10.00pm all day every day
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

The carvery was great value and tasty. The sweets were also lovely and generous portions. However, the bar staff were not very good. Waited ages, no ice, spirits given in half pint glasses, no manners etc etc. Maybe having an off day. The breakfast was ok and whilst included all the usual stuff does include carvery left overs of Yorkshire pudding and bacon, gravy and tomatoes and bubble and squeak.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Hi David S, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We do make everything fresh for breakfast with nothing left over the night before. And we do hope you will come back to see the excellent service that we are proud to provide as our standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 481 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2017

Good portion size of well cooked food, always plenty of choice of veg.We have never had a bad meal there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for the great feed back and rating we really do appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

We visited with friends - there were 3 under 5s in the group. The queue was quite long (it was Sunday lunchtime) but being able to fill a family platter meant only 1 per family needed to queue. This makes visits with children much easier. The staff were helpful.

Thank blt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. It's great to see you enjoyed the new platter, and I will feed this back at the review as we are currently trialing it. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

We were served by Megan - she was a real gem - nothing was to much - she was brilliant.
Megan was happy and put herself out to help - this young lady has all the makings of going a long way.
My Husband and my Sister went up and got their meal but I wanted the belly of Pork - it was not ready so I decided to wait. (although there was lots of other meat to choose from - but it is my favourite.
I mentioned it to Megan in passing as I was happy to wait -(I had waited about 25 mins but did not mind) although I did not as Megan - Megan was kind enough to check with the Kitchen and came back to say it would only be a few mins.
NOW THAT IS WHAT YOU CALL CUSTOMER SERVICE *************** SHE IS BRILLIANT - PLEASE GIVE HER A BIG PAT ON THE BACK - SHE IS A GEM.
ALSO ANOTHER STAR GEM IS HEIDI - SHE IS BRILLIANT

Thank holdich7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

This is a Brilliant review thank you so much both Megan and Heidi will get to see it and be thanked. We hope to see you again soon. I have also fed back your comments around the Pork Belly to our head office as we are currently trialling this product as a new meat option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Good food and first class staff. Very busy when visited and quite a long wait at carvery but well worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thank you for the 5 star rating and the glowing review its great to see you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery East Hunsbury also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Kislingbury, Northampton
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery East Hunsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing