We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gardens are fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coton Manor Garden

Coton Manor Garden
Ranked #5 of 60 things to do in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
ravensthorpe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gardens are fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Visited last spring, bluebell wood is amazing, if you are a keen gardner or just want a lazy relaxing afternoon then this the palce to go. Plants are also on sale, you can also have a light lunch in the Cafe. Best time to go is a nice warm day so you can really enjoy the outdoors. Plenty of parking available. Flamingo's wander free along with a variety of other birds animals.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rickipike10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    57
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

A beautiful Spring afternoon was spent here in tranquility. Children loved the flamingos and rare breed chickens that roam freely.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greeneyes_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

You could visit these gardens all the year round and find interest. Sadly they are only open from Easter to September and for 'Snowdrop' weekends in February. There is a beautiful bluebell wood, a wildflower meadow, flamingos and unusual breeds of chickens. You can buy the plants you see from the nursery if you see something you like.
A wonderful experience .

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mimmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gardens, Plants and a very good cafe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have visited these gardens every year for many years as I don't live that far away. You'll see by the other reviews how good the place is for a one-off visit to the gardens, but I'd like to draw attention to the cafe and the plant nursery. I've had some of the best sandwiches I've ever eaten at the this place and my wife is always pointing to plants in our garden and saying "Look at that - it came from Coton Manor".

Should you wish to go the cafe and buy some plants you don't need to pay the entrance fee, but do go and see the bluebells there at least once.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful and amazing place to visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My family and I (5 adults) visited Coton Manor Garden in September 2012, and we all thoroughly enjoyed the visit. We were visiting Northamptonshire just after peak season, so many of the nearby attractions (Althorp, Lamport Hall, Holdenby Hall) were closed for the season or during the week, so we were quite happy to find Coton Manor open on a Tuesday! The admission of £6 per adult was quite reasonable, we felt, and there is so much to see! There are several different types of gardens, and they give you a map so that you can make a circuitous route through it and see it all! Best place to start is by the house where you can appreciate their beautiful lawn, the terraced gardens and rose gardens and enjoy the beautiful large pond. Moving on to the Woodland area, there are beautiful trees to admire, as well as a horse farm next door (where you can see the beautiful horses grazing) and the Manor itself has 2 pigs and there were 6 adorable little piglets!! We also enjoyed the Bog Garden, Water Garden, Orchards, the Meadow and Bluebell Wood. Sadly, since it was not bluebell season, it was not as ornate as during the Spring, but it was still beautiful. The gardens are full of wildlife as well- in addition to the horses and the pigs, there are geese and swans, chickens, flamingoes (yes, you read that right!) and ducks, and the friendly macaw Rodney, who has a perch near the cafe. It's a fascinating place, and a wonderful place to take pictures. You are allowed to walk through at your own pace, and there are various places to sit down and rest for minute, or just take in the beauty before moving on.

The Manor also has a very nice small cafe where you can buy tea, coffee (or try their homemade cider!) and other beverages, and enjoy a scone or some cake if you want just a snack, or sandwiches and crisps, soups or pastas if you're hungrier. The Garden Shop also has plants and gardening supplies and tools, greeting cards, seeds and more! They also sell their own cider and jams. We tried the Apple Pear jam, which is very, very good! We bought some to bring home to the US with us after having it on a scone in the cafe. YUM!

Overall, a wonderful place to visit. The admission price is very reasonable, and it's just so gorgeous. I think we spent approximately 2 or 3 hours there, and that was enough to see just about everything, shop and have a snack. You could spend a lot longer there, though!! My mother was disappointed that we couldn't also see inside the house (she loves to tour homes), but maybe that will be in the future? :) We did see the owner when we were first entering the garden area- he was just coming out of the house, and was very friendly. He thanked us for coming by, and told us where to start, with the terraced gardens. We would definitely recommend this to everyone visiting Northamptonshire!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zippyincolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coton Manor Garden also viewed

Castle Ashby, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Coton Manor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing