We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes a nice change from Chains”

Leopold's Belgian Chocolates & Coffee House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Leopolds is a cafe where you can come and enjoy just a drink, a litebite or something more substantial. We have a Leonidas Chocolate Counter where you can chose chocolates to go with your drink or to takeaway as gifts. Leopolds is a table service cafe in an elegant surrounding. Limited outside seating is available. We have a full menu of jackets, sandwiches, panini, salads, various hot food plus a litebite section.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Makes a nice change from Chains”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed friendly atmosphere.

Excellent food at a reasonable price.

Only downside is that they wouldnt do tap water with ice and lemon, as it was free.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeopoldsNorthampton, Owner at Leopold's Belgian Chocolates & Coffee House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

I am glad you enjoyed your visit and found the food excellent and reasonable.

The reason we do not put ice and lemon in tap water is because more and more people are having tap water with their meals, which we are happy to provide, and therefore we were buying in ever growing quantities of lemons and ice for something which was free of charge. We do not make our own ice on site. We do however provide ice and lemon for all our purchased cold drinks.

Thank you for taking the time to review Leopolds and we we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best Regards
Leopolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    17
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never let me down”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I thought I would write another review especially as this time I visited Leopold's later in the day. I had reservations often you find places have run out of food and that. However this was not the case here. Everything was still on the menu and it was just as fresh as earlier in the day.

The staff made me feel most welcome, I found it nice that the staff recognised me from my last visit, and recognised my coffee order.

I've been in a few times recently and noticed that the manager isn't around, however a young girl seem to act in his place, as a manager myself I have to say this young lady deserves some recognition.

In a town where there are a lot of chain coffee shops Leopold's is a pleasant Oasis of tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of Abington Street.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We called in on the spur of the moment for something to eat and weren't disappointed. The scrambled egg & smoked salmon was excellent and Mandy had a very nice Coronation Chicken sandwich. The coffee is still the best in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Jelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We Will Return”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We're a Leicestershire couple who decided to have a day off work and take a drive down the A508 Into Northampton for bit of shopping. We called into Leopolds coffee shop and I had the best hot chocolate ever. (The wife's the coffee drinker, very Impressed). The staff were pleasant, and a gentlemen came over for a chat as we were "new in town". He was the owner and I complimented him on his drinks and the display of his fine chocolate selection. He let us sample a bite or two before my wife chose the chocolates she wanted. Overall a lovely little independant coffee shop, friendly and helpful staff, the best chocolates around, we will return. (Altough we didn't eat here (due to a large breakfast at home) I have marked excellent food for the chocolates)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful coffee shop”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have been visiting Leopolds since they opened and am never let down!! Whether it be just a quick glass of fizzy pop, hot choc and cake stop while shopping or hot drink and snack stop I am always completely satisfied. The shop is beautiful and relaxed, the staff are always friendly, polite and very helpful and the food and drink is always fresh and wonderful... I luv visiting Leopolds and would recommend anyone to visit and try out their menu whatever it is they are looking for!! Can't wait to go back and treat myself again....... :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosieDee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leopold's Belgian Chocolates & Coffee House also viewed

Kislingbury, Northampton
Denton, Northampton
 
Castle Ashby, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Moulton, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing