We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as nice as it used to be”
Review of Buddies USA

Buddies USA
Ranked #163 of 529 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not as nice as it used to be”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Me and my fella have been fans of Buddies (all sites) for years. But recently we have been to Grange Park and the Town Centre ones and they have changed, for the worse.
Burgers seem to be smaller, weith a fair bit of grissle in them. The BBQ pulled pork was fatty, not the usual lean pork. Chips are smaller portions, and cold. coleslaw seems mass produced, not the old hand made stuff. But prices have gone up
On the plus side, service is fast and the place is clean.
But something has changed. Put it back to the winning recipe please :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beccie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    57
    29
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“its ok”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

chairs are uncomfy, but quick service, and great for kids with all the toys and cartoon charaters hanging from the ceiling.

you also get trivil persuit to play with on every table while waiting for your dinner!! love it

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oh how the mighty have fallen.”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This restaurant was once one of my favorites. However I have made a few visits recently, and on every occasion the food has been cold and fairly tasteless. It is very disappointing because it was once a brilliant restaurant. Plus, to add insult to injury, it seems the prices have only increased over the years. What was once a justified bill for a good meal, now seems to leave me feeling like I may as well have gone to Mc Donalds and saved a few pounds.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Been loads of times, it use to be a ritual when I can back from working away. The steaks use to be top but that has all changed. Burgers use to be so huge you had to have your chips on a second plate, it actually reminded me of an American diner... Not now, they have changed the menu (or the ingredients supplier) so many times for the cheaper it's not even the same place anymore. Steaks are thin and chewy and unless you pay extra for your burger you can't find it. Big shame.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This review is for the sixfields Buddies”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love Buddies but this experiance was awful, the service was slow and and the waitress didn't seem to want to be there, I had three drinks while I was there and when I left all three glasses where still there. She'd turned off the coffee machine before asking us if we wanted coffee. I asked for mayonaise which seemed to be an inconvienience for her. Food was delicious apart from the cheap Ice cream.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddies USA also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Buddies USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing