We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clearly a well-run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clearly a well-run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2006

I haven't stayed in a "chain" hotel in ages, so was fearing the worst from the Northampton Marriott. However, I am glad to say it surpassed all of my expectations. The people who work here clearly care about providing a good service and generally doing a good job. The hotel, whilst not the height of cutting-edge fashion, is really comfortable and most important of all clean - something which should be a given but is often not. My bedroom was not huge but had lots of amenities, such as broadband, iron, fridge, good toiletries, nice quilt on the bed and comfy mattress. Most suprising was the scrupulous cleanliness of all areas and very careful housekeeping. My room was spotless and everything worked! The food was presented with care, room service came on time, even the notorious breakfast buffet was fresh and appealing. The only (very minor) criticisms I can make are that the burger I had for dinner was slightly overcooked and the dubious £2.50 "tray charge" added to already-ambitious room service charges. But these are minor flaws that shouldn't put you off a stay in a fantastically-run, comfortable hotel.

  • Liked — The room, the leisure facilities
  • Disliked — Slightly bland decor (minor criticism)
  • Tips/Secrets — Book on "hotels.com"
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    185
    88
    30
    17
See reviews for
70
141
25
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2006

Great place to stay with friendly and good staff. Having stayed at the Northampton Marriott on serveral occassions in the past, mainly weekends , is always a treat. We stay every other month when going to the theatre or shopping. . From the moment we check in it is always great. The rooms are lovely and airy , looking out onto a lawn with little rabbits hopping about . The Leisure Club is great you can even have a cup of tea poolside. Last time we stayed we had dinner in the Restaurant, which was very good.. Nice friendly service , a lovely choice on the menu at a reasonable price. Breakfast is till 11 so you don't have to get up that early. Good choice on the buffet , reading the paper - Sunday bliss. We like it and will come back

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank enjoy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2005

My partner and I went to Silverstone racing circuit for his ferrari thrill driving experience so we decided to make a weekend out of it. We looked at both the Marriott and Daventry hotel and we couldn’t decide on which hotel to stay at so we decided to stay at both hotels each night. for both hotels we took the best room available and decided to stay our last night at the Marriott as it sounded better because it stated that it had a king bed with double sunken jaccusi while the Daventry had a queen with jaccusi but not double sunken, so you see why we decided to go for both. Our stay at the Daventry was great except their jacussi was small, but everything else was fine. Well, needless to say.. When we arrived at the Marriott, it was 3.30pm and we were told to wait because our room was being cleaned. When we finally got to go in, the room was stinking of smoke, and the bed was not king-sized!! We called reception, while waiting we saw a cleaner I asked her if she would be able to get the smell out and she didn't understand me as she didn’t spoke a word of English. The head of house keeping came she brought a spray and used it. There was no robes and slippers she apologised and got some, there was not enough spray so she came back with a new one again!! After a few minutes the scent was back, we were upset but decided to let it go.. I took up the duvet to smell it as to see if that was the reason for the smell of tobacco when we noticed a big stain on the sheets!!! The entire bed was not changed.. We again called room service they changed the sheets and i had to ask the lady to changed the duvet cover as well because they were leaving it.. We went down to the reception to speak with the manager. She just told us that the bed was king and there was nothing she could have done because all the other executives’ rooms were full. So we got no-where with her! Then comes the eating, the service was poor, my partner asked for a glass of juice and the waitress never returned. the manager whom we complained to about the size of the bed, we saw her doing an all-rounder, she was serving and cleaning the tables and going to and from the kitchen all at the same time ( i guess it was lack of her incompetent staff.. these hotels should stop hiring non-speaking English foreigners to do jobs because they are underpaid and over-worked!! for god's sake we are paying for quality and not quantity. we paid almost £200 for nothing!! the only good part was the jacussi everything else was a disaster. Never will I stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2005

i stayed at the northampton marriott hotel for a wekend break with my partner for a weekend when we entered the hotel and went to the room the corridors were exceptionally hot.
when we was in room the room was also very hot and the air conditioning did not work and with only one small window there was no ventilation at all.
room service was also exceptionally bad as ordered a meal for the both off us first time they only brought one meal second time they did not take off the items we required.
as for breakfast that was some what of an insult to guests bland and disgusting!!
all meals over priced majority off staff ok and helpfull but spoke poor english!!!
all i can say is that after that break i will never go to a marriot hotel again

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2005

Ww booked a one night dinner, bed and breakfast deal in an executive room. The room had a king size bed, separate lounge area, robe, slippers and good quality toiletries.
I expected to be given an allowance for the meal in the restaurant but was plesantly surprised to be told that we could choose anything from each of the three course son the menu. Breakfast was equally good with plenty of choice and all freshly prepared.
Throughout our brief stay the staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive. My only complaint is that the room was too hot and we could not lower the temperature on the air con. However, will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cat4158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2005

As a business traveller, I regularly stay at hotels throughout the UK. I have to say that, for a relatively low price of £150 for three nights (B&B) this was terrifc value. Good room and pool, and the breakfast was well above average. Overall, the stay was by far the best I have had in Northampton... much better than the nearby Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2005

We stayed here in the June 2004 for a Norah Jones concert at the Althorpe Estate.

We asked for a non smoking room but on the way to the room down a very warm corridor all you could smell was smoke!

The room was indeed in need of a good spring clean as there was white dog hair all over the bedroom carpet that stuck to my freshly painted toe nails. The bathroom had dust and hair on the floor.

This trip and hotel stay was for my birthday and I felt let down staying in my first and last marriott as I book these on a daily basis in my job!

The pool was good and the staff in that area were very nice. Prices at the bar expensive and food very similar to any chain restaurant. Wanted the Hilton but full due to the concerts taking place....

Norah Jones was well worth it....

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TippyTumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.4 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northampton Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northampton Marriott Hotel

Property: Northampton Marriott Hotel
Address: Eagle Drive, Northampton NN4 7HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Northampton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#4 Business Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northampton Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of modern comfort and convenience at the Northhampton Marriott Hotel. With our 4-star sophistication and array of amenities, we cater to both business and leisure travelers. Experience the best of Northhampton, UK from our front door, or stay in an enjoy a delicious meal at 1460 Grill. We're just a short distance from local attractions including the Silverstone Circuit and Franklin's Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northampton Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Northampton
Northampton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing