We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, but restaurant is TERRIBLE.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I would not normally review a restaurant in my hotel review, but I have been to this hotel twice now, and both times the restaurant has been appalling! Why would I visit a second time, I hear you ask? Well, I was a captive audience, let us say. The hotel itself isn't too near to another eating option and so 'Centrale' it was!
Firstly, let me say that the hotel itself is perfectly adequate. It's just a glorified Travel Lodge, plain and simple (but quite well-equipped) rooms, nothing that makes it stand out from any of the other corporate 'high-end' chains.
The room was very reasonably priced at £65 (an offer) for a single. I had a HUGE bed, much bigger than the last time, but it was a disabled room so I'm not sure whether this made a difference?
Large TV, usual tea and coffee facilities, adequate bathroom which smelt slightly unpleasant and vinegary, but nothing too serious.
On to 'Centrale' the upmarket, very expensive 'French Bistro' within the hotel.
Dear Lord above.
Starter: £11, grilled king prawns. Slightly overcooked and rubbery, but edible.
Main: burger, £11-ish. Overcooked to the point that it was totally inedible. Sent back to the kitchen, another arrived straight away ("the chef has loads ready" the waitress said! Surely the problem?!) Again, inedible, but it was difficult to press the point with a waitress who had absolutely no interest whatsoever.
Dessert: £5.95 (I think) Tarte Tatin. Pastry was raw, sent it back. Came back nuked in microwave, pastry still raw. Brown stewed soggy apples on top, and - get this - treacle from a bottle sqeezed over in place of the procedure known as "cooking", when you caramelise the apples.
After this, the will to live had completely departed and so I left the dessert for the waitress to find and returned to my room without asking for the bill.
It was charged to my room, but at no point did anyone ask whether there was a problem - they knew that there was as I had returned two dishes to the kitchen!
It's a pretty scandalous restaurant and it really lets the hotel down. It's a plain, corporate hotel, but if it had a nice restaurant then it would make the experience of staying there quite nice. As it stands, I would avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasoned28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 512 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

Could not fault it. Me and my partner stayed for our honeymoon night and was bowled over from the very beggining. Amazing staff amazing food and amazing facilities! It may be of a higher price to other local hotels but it's clear to see what you are getting for your money

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northants21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Stayed for one night in a double room al expenses paid due to company xmas party. Had a double room which was excellent. Bed and pillows were very comfortable and smelt lovely and clean. The bathroom was also clean and hygienic. Large flat screen Tv with freeview channels. We were very impressed with the high standards. The xmas meal was a bit sparce, and a few more potatoes and veg would have been appreciated! The only negative was the reception staff. No warm greeting or even a smile. Had to even ask how to get to our room!. We did have a good nights sleep, and the breakfast is first class, with plenty of hot bacon, eggs etc and fresh fruit and pastries. We would recommend this hotel. We didnt use the pool or gym so cannot comment. Drinks are a bit pricey.....£9.00 for a brandy with no mixer and a pint of lager.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

we could not fault our stay , reception friendly and efficient , our room was spotless.
we usually stay in a innkeepers lodge at collingtree northampton but the rooms were getting very tired and grubby we had to take cleaning stuff with us and clean the room on arrival, so we changed and paid a bit more and went to the marriott, the difference is worth every penny. staff were very polite we had breakfast with room service, arrived
with perfect poached eggs and very hot a perfect start to the day, we ordered the breakfast at 9 arrived dead on 9. we could not fault our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianneDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for one night in June as i had my graduation ball here. The hotel itself is great, along with the hotel pool. The room was a good size and had a sofa in it, nice and modern. The only problem was that the room was really warm, and all you get is a fan, but when the room is warm all a fan does is blow hot air around. All in all, i paid £50 online for the room, with no breakfast , so a great rate. Breakfast is an additional £15 each, so didnt bother.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonnym_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Perfectly ok I suppose, but not what I had hoped for. The room I had was a good size and comfortable, but was too warm on what was a balmy spring night. The aircon wasn't very good, and quite noisy. The alternative was to open the window which wasn't an options as the dual carriageway outside was busy all night. Room service was slow and inaccurate - I ordered two bananas for my dessert and instead received a 'banana split' with ice cream etc. Satff were friendly enough, but overall I left the hotel tired and ill-prepared for my morning meeting nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GottaGoandGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel twice now. Ironically we got the second stay free because we complained about the service we received the first time.
On our first stay,last year, there were a number of problems - we were sent to a room that had not been made up, the second room smelt very heavily of smoke and the lights didnt work, they forgot to send up room service or deliver a newspaper and there was never anyone on the front desk to help.
We wrote to the hotel and they offered us a complimentary room so that they could apologise. Except nothing had changed. The decor in the hotel ( excluding the main lobby ) is very tired. There is also a very strange chemical smell in the hallways and the carpets and wood panelling need seriously updating.
Service again, was not brilliant. The check in girl barely looked at us when we were booking in and when we went to our room (at 6.30pm) there were still loads of breakfast trays outside rooms that had been there all day
The actual room itself and the bed were fine, but your overall impression of the hotel is poor and if I worked for Marriott I would be ashamed.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eabtwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
2.5 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#9 of 27 in Northampton
1,304 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 27 in Northampton
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#11 of 27 in Northampton
531 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northampton Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northampton Marriott Hotel

Address: Eagle Drive, Northampton NN4 7HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Northampton
#4 Business Hotel in Northampton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
Price Range: $85 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northampton Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of modern comfort and convenience at the Northhampton Marriott Hotel. With our 4-star sophistication and array of amenities, we cater to both business and leisure travelers. Experience the best of Northhampton, UK from our front door, or stay in an enjoy a delicious meal at 1460 Grill. We're just a short distance from local attractions including the Silverstone Circuit and Franklin's Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northampton Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Northampton
Northampton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing