We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what i expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“not what i expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2005

i stayed at the northampton marriott hotel for a wekend break with my partner for a weekend when we entered the hotel and went to the room the corridors were exceptionally hot.
when we was in room the room was also very hot and the air conditioning did not work and with only one small window there was no ventilation at all.
room service was also exceptionally bad as ordered a meal for the both off us first time they only brought one meal second time they did not take off the items we required.
as for breakfast that was some what of an insult to guests bland and disgusting!!
all meals over priced majority off staff ok and helpfull but spoke poor english!!!
all i can say is that after that break i will never go to a marriot hotel again

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    185
    88
    29
    17
See reviews for
70
141
25
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2005

Ww booked a one night dinner, bed and breakfast deal in an executive room. The room had a king size bed, separate lounge area, robe, slippers and good quality toiletries.
I expected to be given an allowance for the meal in the restaurant but was plesantly surprised to be told that we could choose anything from each of the three course son the menu. Breakfast was equally good with plenty of choice and all freshly prepared.
Throughout our brief stay the staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive. My only complaint is that the room was too hot and we could not lower the temperature on the air con. However, will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cat4158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2005

As a business traveller, I regularly stay at hotels throughout the UK. I have to say that, for a relatively low price of £150 for three nights (B&B) this was terrifc value. Good room and pool, and the breakfast was well above average. Overall, the stay was by far the best I have had in Northampton... much better than the nearby Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2005

We stayed here in the June 2004 for a Norah Jones concert at the Althorpe Estate.

We asked for a non smoking room but on the way to the room down a very warm corridor all you could smell was smoke!

The room was indeed in need of a good spring clean as there was white dog hair all over the bedroom carpet that stuck to my freshly painted toe nails. The bathroom had dust and hair on the floor.

This trip and hotel stay was for my birthday and I felt let down staying in my first and last marriott as I book these on a daily basis in my job!

The pool was good and the staff in that area were very nice. Prices at the bar expensive and food very similar to any chain restaurant. Wanted the Hilton but full due to the concerts taking place....

Norah Jones was well worth it....

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TippyTumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2005

Stayed here last here for a wedding.
Good quality hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious. The bathroom could do with a slight modernisation but was not a problem. Beware of the minibar that will charge for anything physically removed from the fridge (then take it to reception unopened for a refund!). Good bar, although the restaurant had run out of many of its offerings! The breakfast was excellent - everything imaginable - was like being back in the Carribean! It's a few miles out of town, but easily accessible by road. Did not have time to use the pool / fitness equipent although I was told that they were very good. As best man for the wedding - the hotel's wedding "expert" was constantly on hand to help and advise on the little things that nobody had thought of.
Highly recommended (just be aware of the distance to town).

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhodgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.4 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#13 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northampton Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northampton Marriott Hotel

Property: Northampton Marriott Hotel
Address: Eagle Drive, Northampton NN4 7HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Northampton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#4 Business Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northampton Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of modern comfort and convenience at the Northhampton Marriott Hotel. With our 4-star sophistication and array of amenities, we cater to both business and leisure travelers. Experience the best of Northhampton, UK from our front door, or stay in an enjoy a delicious meal at 1460 Grill. We're just a short distance from local attractions including the Silverstone Circuit and Franklin's Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northampton Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Northampton
Northampton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing