We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northampton Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
861 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Nice weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just wanted to get away from it all in a Marriott and decided upon the one in Northampton. Very easy to get at just off the A45 with ample free parking.

As others have commented the reception staff were great and explained where everything was in the hotel. Rooms are typical Marriott with the usual amenities - smallish but clean and comfortable.

Had dinner one night in the restaurant which was fine - had a steak and fish and chips. Breakfast was fine with a good cooked breakfast. The toaster continually burned toast though and set off the fire alarm twice during our breakfast!

Nice hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    166
    78
    28
    15
See reviews for
63
127
20
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

for any of the brilliant staff at this hotel - friendly, very profession staff that give you excellent service yet make you feel like one of the family. The hotel was really busy when we were there, visiting rugby teams, weddings and conferences yet we as a couple were made to feel just as important as everyone else. The room we had was very clean and comfortable and the leisure complex was pleasantly quiet. The ladies behind the bar coped brilliantly with the large number of customers and the typical hotel bar prices didn't put people off going back for more. Full marks to the catering team for serving up the perfect breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor are quieter but there is no lift to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you're looking for polite, attentive and down to earth staff then you will find them all at this hotel. I've stayed on business at this hotel for the last 6 years and although the Hilton down the road keep under cutting the room rate I return week on week. Whether its the reception staff, restaurant/bar or the health club staff you can expect to be warmly welcomed and very well looked after

Room Tip: Upgrade rooms are lovely if you enjoy a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed over on Saturday 14 September. Excellent reception staff - so helpful. We had room 310 - bit dated but clean and had a huge comfortable bed. We expected some noise given the proximity to the dual carraigeway but we were pleasantly surprised as the room was quiet. There were two weddings taking place which meant that the bar was very busy inbetween the wedding dinners and discos but the bar staff managed well and the noise and people around actually made for a nice atmosphere. Ordered breakfast to the room on Sunday morning - this was on time, hot and very nice. Speedy checkout with same reception staff who checked us in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having requested a room in a quiet location, we were initially pleased to find that our room was at the rear overlooking the golf course. However, it immediately became apparent that this room (and presumably the others) lacks secondary glazing so the drone of the adjacent, eternally busy, A45 droned all day and, especially noticeably for light sleepers, all night. Surely the investment in decent soundproofing would be worthwhile. In addition, the noise from air-conditioners in adjacent rooms permeated on and off all night.

Avoid the rip off WiFi rates in the rooms (£6/hour, £15/24 hours) by using the free WiFi in the public areas. Unfortunately, it's not possible to avoid the 'Sky-Hi' priced drinks at the bar. The food was average, and the service good - when it arrived.

Be prepared for lots of unsupervised children racing around corridors at weekends as their parents presumably relax in the bar. There were two weddings on at the time of our visit, and thankfully our room was well away from any noise that would have been generated by them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as a mini break away from the kids.

Was greeted by two receptionists - a man and a woman possibly foreign but most pleasant.

Between them they ran through the facilities and even offered us chocolates and fruit juice! Very nice touch.

We checked in and went straight to the leisure club which was nice and quiet so had a lovely relaxing time - the pool is a little small so was nice to be the only people in there.

After refreshing we went down for dinner and that is where the contrast showed. We waited at the restaurant desk for 10 minutes before we were seated.

The restaurant only had two other couples in so was not busy which is maybe why it was so cold.

We were served by Matt - seemed pleasant but more interested in watching the football.

There was a list of things not available which was a shame. We ordered food and drinks together.

I think Matt forgot about our drinks as the starters which took 20 minutes arrived first.

After starters were cleared it was a further 20 minutes for main course and the same for desert which seems a long time considering it wasn't busy.

At no point were we offered refills of our drinks or checked on to see if food was ok.

We have scored 5 for service as we feel it would be unfair to mark down everyone just because of poor service by one.

We would visit again if in the area but would most definitely eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiseger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a weekend coach break. Staff for me made our stay here very enjoyable so helpful. The food was lovely with a good choice. Room was nice and clean, aircon wasnt working that good but we managed for the 2 nitghts. The only thing i would say was a let down was the fact there was no music in the bar or even the lounge area which 1would of made a difference.

Room Tip: we had a quiet room 3....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dance1980s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
2.4 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#9 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#2 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northampton Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northampton Marriott Hotel

Property: Northampton Marriott Hotel
Address: Eagle Drive, Northampton NN4 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Northampton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#4 Business Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northampton Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Northampton Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Northampton
Northampton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing