We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value indeed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

The Express by Holiday Inn, Northampton is a great example of modern out-of-town budget hotels. It is well presented, refurbished in 2007/8. The rooms are a good size and clean. Beds were comfortable. Furnishings are minimal but quite adequate -- TV, hairdryer, phone, ample hanging space, no drawers but plenty of shelf & desk space. The shower room is simple but functional and the plumbing worked fine. Room rate includes a self-service continental breakfast. The breakfast serving area is a bit cramped but quite OK, and the seating area is spacious with plenty of tables. When we were there the hotel was busy but noise was not a significant problem. The hotel is situated right off the M1 motorway at J15. There is oodles of parking, but it is a 15 minute drive into Northampton. There is a Harvester family restaurant opposite the hotel but not much else on site.
The bottom line is the excellent low room rate. Hard to beat for value and ideal for families on a budget. Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    172
    47
    9
    7
See reviews for
81
131
23
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed overnight ready for Silverstone the next morning. We had three rooms all on the same floor. Rooms were the usual Holiday Express rooms,clean , shower cream and liquid soap in bathrooms, two hairdriers, a kettle to make tea and coffee. Included in the price is a continental breakfast, cereal, muffins, croissants, cheeses, yogurts and toast. We found this ample and it set us up ready for the morning. We used the bar which was nice for a couple of drinks, there is a pool table, and also a patio area outside. It was very quiet through the night no noise in the corridor.
It was right off the M1 at junction 15 so it is easy to find. A really good value clean hotel, we would definately stay there again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annjodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

Stayed at this hotel recently for 1 night, We found the room clean and adequate for a 1 night stay, duvets and beds very comfy. Slight noise in room from what we think could be a possible 'boiler' room next door. Staff were very welcoming and when we asked for extra pillows they were very helpful. Harvester which is nearby offers a good range of food. We could not fault the hotel or the staff, although the hotel was extremely busy nothing was too much trouble and the staff were always smiling. We will definately stay there again.

  • Liked — welcoming
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitstop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
903 reviews
307 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 722 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Express by Holiday Inn, Northampton, for one night in September. We found typical Holiday Inn efficiency: everything was well designed and maintained. However, the room had only one towel and there was no shower cap. The shower floor was highly slippery, especially after the liquid soap was used. The lift is conveniently right inside the front door, and it was easy to bring suitcases to our room on the top floor. There is plentiful parking, and the hotel is in the same complex as a Harvester family restaurant where we had a good dinner. The other guests on the Sunday morning were mainly families with little children. The good buffet breakfast was often dominated by children protesting, playing, or insisting on serving themselves at small facilities designed for taller people. We brought a small refrigerator on the road trip because most hotels in the U.K. where we stayed did not provide refrigerators. The hotel staff were polite but they didn't show the extra personal warmth of the staff at Holiday Inn Express, Hammersmith, but we were satisfied with the room and the efficiency of check-out. Based on experiences at two hotels, we assume that Express by Holiday Inn is a very good deal in the U.K.

  • Liked — Everything worked
  • Disliked — Little kids running up your pantleg at breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2006

Holiday Inn Express, Northampton
Date: August 2006
TripAdvisor Member, Surrey, England
We had an overnight stay here when we were in Northampton visiting relatives. Although a little basic, the rooms were very good and the beds comfortable. All the usual things (tv, internet connection, phone, toiletries, etc. etc.) were there. A very good buffet breakfast is included in the price. There is ample to eat and no restriction on the amount you can have. We found it such good value for money and close to the M1 that we are staying there again on our way up to Yorkshire later this month. If you don't expect the luxury of a 4-star hotel, this is certainly the place for a short stay. It can be recommended over and above those other hotels of similar nature that charge much more for room only. Really recommended.

  • Liked — Location - Close to the M1
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Tips/Secrets — Join the Hotel Priority Club
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MoniJoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2006

Stayed here as a stopover for Telford, Looks shabby from outside but lovely inside , really nice room , good facilities, My mother got an exec room for the same price , excellent value , best holiday inn yet .

  • Liked — clean and big
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mistymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2005

A typical Holiday Inn Express – basic but clean – great value for money

Rooms are satisfactory & the staff are pleasant & friendly. Breakfast included in price.


Fine for an overnight stay – or if you need somewhere to house a family overnight in 1 room.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#8 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#15 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.6 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
5.1 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15

Property: Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Address: Loake Close | Grange Park, Northampton NN4 5EZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Northampton
#5 Business Hotel in Northampton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location just off junction 15 of the M1 at the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Northampton hotel. A warm welcome awaits you in the bold crimson-and-white Lobby at Holiday Inn Express Northampton, a 40-minute drive from Luton Airport. We're just 4 miles from Northampton town centre & a short drive from Silverstone & Santa Pod Raceway. Make yourself at home in your bright Guest room, with free Wi-Fi & complimentary tea & coffee. Holiday Inn Express Northampton is located just 3 miles from Brackmills business park, home to Barclaycard & Travis Perkins. It's an hour's drive to major exhibitions & concerts at Birmingham NEC. You can get down to work in our 8 air-conditioned meeting rooms and 24-hour Business Centre & there's ample free car parking at the hotel. Motorsport fans head to the Silverstone Circuit & the speedy Santa Pod Raceway, both just 15 miles from the hotel. You can visit the childhood home of Princess Diana at grand Althorp House, 11 miles away, while the acclaimed Royal and Derngate Theatre is 4 miles from the hotel. Start your day with a leisurely complimentary breakfast buffet including a continental selection, hot scrambled eggs & sausages, pastries & fruit in Holiday Inn Express Northampton's open-plan Great Room. You can socialise over drinks, use free Wi-Fi & order light meals in our Lobby bar, open daily. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Northampton m1, Jct 15 Hotel Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing