We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
A TripAdvisor Member
Eastbourne, UK
14
Reviewed December 12, 2005

The IBIS at Northampton does exactly what is says on the tin - offers good value, clean and central accomodation. I've stayed at the IBIS 3 times now with my partner and each time we've found it to be clean, modern and efficient. Check-in has been easy and the rooms have been large and comfy with a great walk-in shower.
On the down-side due to its excellent central location on a Saturday night it can get a little noisy in the corridors but this is short-lived. You can ask for an inwards facing room (i.e away from the road) and all should be well and if like me you require an extra pillow, just ask at reception - they will also store your luggage FOC during the day when you check-out.
We've never had the breakfast but it looks okay - my recommendation is to go to the Wetherspoons Moon on the Square Pub that is round the corner in town.
The IBIS is never going to be a hotel where you will spend a lot of time - its just basically a lot of corridors and rooms, but for a good overnight stay then you really can't beat it.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 694 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2005

I would advise people not to use the hotel, the location is quite central, however it seems the only redeeming feature. Problems encountered are TV not working correctly (apparently known problem for 2 years). Parking was an additional £16 per night. Rooms available only seem to be doubles. If you want a night on the beer within walking distance the place is reasnoble!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caerleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2005

I stayed at this hotel just over two years ago and again recently.

On my first stay the hotel staff informed me that they were having trouble with tv reception for ITV, Channel 4 and Channel 5 - two years later they have not rectified the problem but continue to give excuses, namely that this is beyond their control whist continuing to increase their tariff - the staff gave me the flimsiest of excuses to complete lies regarding this matter, they would not countenance a reduction of any sort nor award a complimentary breakfast in lieu of a very very poor service.

Check in and check out can be a ponderously slow procedure.

The above problems clearly stem from an unwillingness to address the concerns of the hotels guests.

Stayed: September 2005
1  Thank Shona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2005

This hotel is fine for business, or staying in after a night drinking as in the town centre. Basic, but ok.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooms77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
437
Reviewed March 14, 2005

I would definitely not return to the Ibis hotel in Northampton, not because of a particularily bad experience, but simply because there are other, better hotels in the area.

Whatever you do...dont park there! the parking is incorportated into the mulit storey car park in the building which also includes the multiscreen cinema and various shops and eateries...had we parked there overnight the total charge would have been in excess of £16! we even had to pay £1 to check-in...better off parking in the pay and display car park on the cobbled street next door - just £2 for the whole night between 5pm and 11am the next day...which was much more like it!

The hotel itself was adequate and the rooms spacious. the TV didnt work properly though and when it did, we found the remote control didnt. THe bathroom was really nice, clean and spacious. I would think a person on business would find it reasonable to stay here - as long as their company was covering expenses!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
london
115
Reviewed January 30, 2005

I would never return to this hotel again and would strongly recommend that no one else does especially females. myself and two friends booked in on friday, no problems until we tried to return after our night out they refused us entry to our room on the grounds that there was only mean't to be 2 adults per room. despite our room having 3 beds. we booked in as 3 adult females, and was unaware of any mistake. They attempted to refuse us to retrieve our belongings, so we could not move to another hotel and they wouldn't let us pay for another room. they kicked us out onto the street at 3 in the morning. we could not drive our cars, the 3 hour drive back home. we then had the risk of being attacked or mugged in a town unknown to us.
i have never been so scared in my life, and i would never want a mistake like this to happen to anyone else.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Rooms
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
England
17
Reviewed January 15, 2005

I stayed at the Ibis Northampton last night after a night at Time & Envy nightclub. The hotel was great value for money and most importantly had a very comfy bed. The 12.00 check out was also an added bonus. The rooms are very spacious and have everyhing you would need from a fairly cheap and cheerful hotel. I would recommend it!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Central
Travelodge Northampton Central
#18 of 27 in Northampton
242 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#21 of 27 in Northampton
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#27 of 27 in Northampton
564 reviews
1.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#8 of 27 in Northampton
510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#11 of 27 in Northampton
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre

Address: Sol Central Marefair, Northampton NN1 1SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range: $61 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Northampton Centre is conveniently located in Northampton Town Centre, just five minutes walk from the train station, and less than ten miles from the M1 Motorway. The hotel offers 151 comfortably appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, flat-screen TVs, and high-speed internet access. The hot buffet breakfast is served from 6:30am – 10am daily and the café bar serves hot meals 24 hours a day. Located in the ‘Sol Central’ complex the hotel is in the heart of the town with a cinema, gym and restaurants next door. Guests can workout or relax in the Topnotch health club above the hotel for just £5 per person. Sol Central also offers secure parking with direct access to the hotel for only £5.50 per day for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing