We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room too hot in Summer. Probably perfect for Winter.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Room too hot in Summer. Probably perfect for Winter.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was initially confused on where to park my car before realising that the Car park on one of the side roads actually offer better parking deals than the hotel especially if you are parking after 5pm.

The location of the hotel is brilliant for ease of strolling around the town centre.

The room provided was well presented. The bed and pillows were comfortable and I enjoyed the shower which was at a reasonable pressure.

The only downside was that the room was hot needing some air conditioning which wasn't available. So windows had to be opened and because my room was in front view of hotel so there was a lot of noise from the passing traffic.
This would not be a problem in winter so I would recommend it for winter stay as perfect but for hot summer days, I would avoid if you want to have a comfortable night sleep.
Even with the windows open, I still felt sticky from the heat.

I didn't have breakfast and also didn't use their wifi but inclusion of these in room deals would encourage me to come back again without them provided, I would be choosing somewhere different next time.

Room Tip: Use Car Park on side road which is just £2.50 from 5pm till 10am (next day). If you ask for a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel giving some good and balanced feedback.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. I can confirm that as of now we offer free internet in the room price, so that hopefully provides an incentive to return!

Many thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    229
    170
    79
    59
See reviews for
48
148
72
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I rate this 4 stars on the basis that it does what it means to do well enough. Friendly and efficient check in, clean and comfortable rooms and being able to check in early was helpful. I think rooms on the front are likely to be noisey especially at the weekend but there are rooms at the back.

Room Tip: At the back and on an upper floor for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel giving some good and balanced feedback.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Friendly and helpful foreign staff. Clean rooms with basic facilities.

WiFi not free or free-view TV

Cooked breakfast not up to much.

Canteen/Bar very impersonal decor. No brandy.

Not properly informed before or at arrival about the parking facilities. Could easily ended up with parking ticket.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JUK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have stayed at this many times in the past and it is well located for the town centre. It is comfortable and has everything you need for an overnight stay on business. The wifi should be free as it is in many hotels now and the breakfast is ok but a little expensive for what it is. The towels are too small (more like hand towels). On a positive note the new bedding is a winner, very comfortable beds and the sheets and quilts are high quality and you can tell. All in all a reasonable hotel with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

I am very happy to hear that you found our beds comfortable and I would like to let you know that we will be having free Wifi installed at the hotel shortly.

Many thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel is modern and very well looked after - all areas were spotless. Good location for shops, restaurants etc.. If you don't know where the car park is, it's not easy to find as the entrance is around back via an annoying one-way system. Bedroom very good with excellent shower room. Make sure you have the card you booked on-line with when you arrive. I didn't and there was some confusion until a manager arrived.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHANTS
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We selected this hotel to stay in after a trip to watch the rugby final in town & avoid cabs in case people wanted to leave at different times - this was a good choice - easy walk into town, very pleasant staff, good quick check-in. Didn't have any food, but nice coffee & juice in morning, they have a 24-hour bar & breakfasts are £7.95 I believe.. Good that checking out is up to 12 p.m. - we needed that time to recover from the night before!! Multi-storey car park next door, but was more expensive than we were told for overnight parking.

Room Tip: no idea I'm afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDAGNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks for the feedback.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francophile in the UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this Ibis as it was ideally located for Santa Pod Raceway and Crick boatshow. The reception staff were very efficient and friendly and the reception area had a welcoming feel. Our room was spotlessly clean and had had one of the new Ibis beds fitted as advertised on tv. I had never really given hotel beds much thought unless there was something wrong with them, however these new beds are amazing. They are huge and supremely comfortable and Ibis are right to be proud of them. I could find absolutely nothing to fault our room or our stay and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone needing a central location in Northamptonshire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeseybits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

I am very happy to hear that you found our new beds so comfortable!

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Central
Travelodge Northampton Central
#21 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Langham Hotel
The Langham Hotel
#23 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre

Property: Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Address: Sol Central Marefair, Northampton NN1 1SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Northampton Centre is conveniently located in Northampton Town Centre, just five minutes walk from the train station, and less than ten miles from the M1 Motorway. The hotel offers 151 comfortably appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, flat-screen TVs, and high-speed internet access. The hot buffet breakfast is served from 6:30am – 10am daily and the café bar serves hot meals 24 hours a day. Located in the ‘Sol Central’ complex the hotel is in the heart of the town with a cinema, gym and restaurants next door. Guests can workout or relax in the Topnotch health club above the hotel for just £5 per person. Sol Central also offers secure parking with direct access to the hotel for only £5.50 per day for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing