We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olde Red Lion

The Olde Red Lion
Ranked #130 of 516 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I visited for lunch today with a Groupon voucher and we are very glad that we did! The pub is charming, staff welcoming, despite the landlady not feeling 100%; and the food was delicious. Unusually for him, my husband even said he would have the same meal again and would gladly pay full price for it! Praise indeed! The pecan pie was to die for. My husband rarely has dessert, he doesn't know what he's missing. We will certainly be back, thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Oriborus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissienorthants, General Manager at The Olde Red Lion, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We look forward to welcoming this satisfied customer back and thank them for such high praise. The landlady here is what you would call a "real trouper", a virus would not stop her from making sure you were well looked after. The pecan pie is delicious as are all our desserts which are Free on a Sunday, so we will be delighted to see you backl for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    33
    15
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Been twice - Glad we didn't pay full price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This restaurant is a regular fixture on the Groupon listings, and having been twice, I think I can see why they continue to advertise in this way. The offer we took up (on both occasions) was two main courses for £13.50. Given that most main courses are around that price, it is a really good deal - however on both visits, we have left the restaurant feeling pleased we didn't pay full price.

The staff are adequate - they're not rude, but nor are they friendly. The first time we went, we arrived 15 minutes early for our 8pm reservation and were curtly told to go and wait in the bar - there were only two people seated in the restaurant at that time! The second time we went, the person I had spoken to, to make the reservation had failed to put it in the diary. When we arrived and told we didn't have a reservation, the waitress seemed to think that was the end of the conversation. We had to ask whether they could fit us in - it didn't occur to her to look.

The food is nice, but it's not great. I think it depends very much on what you order. I've had Steak and Ale pie & Fish & Chips there, and they were both fine, but my other half has been disappointed with both his choices; lamb shank and corn fed chicken.

On our first visit, the table next to us were just finishing their mains when we sat down and ordered a chesse platter to share to finish their meal. By the time our starters had been ordered, served and eaten, they still hadn't had it, and left without it ever arriving.

Having said that, they did make the effort to put an indoor firework in my other half's cheescake when we visited for his birthday, so it's not all bad.

Overall, I would say that this place is "hit and miss" at best. I wouldn't recommend that you go for a special occasion, as there is a very real chance that you'll be disappointed. If you're just going out for dinner, to save on the washing up, then you should be fine..... Good Luck!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WannabeTraveller365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissienorthants, General Manager at The Olde Red Lion, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you to the reviewer for stating that none of our staff are rude, they are in fact polite and efficient, We are however sorry that you did not find us friendly......we have in the past been criticised for being too friendly, different people want different things. We are happy to be friendly on a personal level, with anyone who is obviously up for some friendly banter, however some people just want to be left to themselves. We are a little concerned that you state your husband had lamb shank, as this is something we have not had on our menu, fish and chips and pie would normally have no place on our a la carte menu, they are bar options, however some Groupon Diners, initially found our Menu a little intimidating, so we moved some bar options over onto the a la carte menu,, not everyone wants to eat the likes of Ox Cheeks, Veal and Calves Liver, which are the more speciality dishes discerning diners come here for. Its a pity you did not get to see our Cheese Board, it takes our chef a long time to plate and is the likes of which you will rarely see a cheeseboard offered,,,,,,in the middle of Service, when Adam is having to also plate starters, dessert sharing plates and cheeseboards do have to take a back seat, but they are more than worth waiting for......if we just slapped a piece of cheese and some biscuits on a plate, we could present it quicker, but thats not what we are about. The Groupon Promotions that we signed upto with Groupon end this weekend, the jury is still out on whether it is something we would wish to repeat, but we have met and delighted many new customers to the Olde Red Lion.....but we dont expect to be everyones cup of tea ! We would however wish to disagree in that Speciality Celebration Dining is always exactly that here "Special", to which there are many testimonies and thank you's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Private dinner party Sat Nov 3rd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having had several visits to The Olde Red Lion it has now become one of our favourite haunts, so earlier in the year thinking about the upcoming event of my parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary - 60 years I decided to book the restaurant for our party! What a success..
The staff went above and beyond to make it a very special night for us all. Lots of little extra's, the tables looked beautiful and to serve up 30 meals in a very short space of time and for them all to be first class was jin my books little short of miraculous. They took the stress out of the evening for me so that I also was able to enjoy myself. Thank you to you all.
Lucy Howard

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissienorthants, General Manager at The Olde Red Lion, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are thrilled to be one of your favourite haunts and equally thrilled that your parents Diamond Anniversary Dinner was considered such a success, after 60 years or marriage they certainly deserved it to be. First class meals, whether it be for 2 or 30, is what our efforts as a Team go into trying to achieve everyday, in the most part, like on this ocassion we get it right, not down to miracles, but down to a lot of effort on the part of the whole team and we thank the reviewer, who has had the courtessy of putting her name to this review for endorsing this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place Shame about the Attitude!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Tried This Place with Family for Sunday Lunch today 4th November. It all seemed very promising as we went into the lounge and the locals all spoke to us,then the person behind the bar came to serve us, what a misery, no hello or any greeting and no eye contact.The two drinks we had came to nearly ten pounds. When our two other family members arrived we were called into the restaurant by Mr Happys wife, Mrs I can hardly be bothered these two were the owners.The food was ok but not much of it There was no offer of mint sauce for the Lamb or Horseradish for the beef or stuffing or cranberry sauce for the turkey.We decided we had more than enough room left for dessert.!! We were not asked if we would like to order dessert our less than cheerful host just stood at the side of the table and told us what was available and seemed less than impressed when we could not remember all that was said.In fact one dessert had only one portion left as this was only one thirty and food is served until three this was pretty poor.All in all nice pub, over priced food , portion size questionable and absolutely appalling mannered hosts and atmosphere.!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissienorthants, General Manager at The Olde Red Lion, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I cant comment specifically about this reviewers experience, as they did not show us the courtessy of mentioning there was a problem when visiting, therefore giving us an opportunity to correct it. However, as the Reviewer dined on Sunday I can only assume as they are speaking about roasts that they dined on our £10.00 for a Roast Dinner and Dessert Deal, we run out of certain desserts throughout lunch which is served from prompt at 12am when the meat, yorkshires and roasties are all just about ready to come out of the oven to be served.....this being the reason we prefer diners to be booked in at 12, we want you to eat fresh cooked food, not something which has been sitting around for 2 hours. If we fill the 12/12.30 dining slot, and do a 2nd sitting, our chef cooks a 2nd lunch service, again so that its fresh, last weekend we were finished serving lunch by 1.45. To be able to offer this deal, we offer FREE desserts that we are clearing from the dessert cabinet, again which were all made fresh on Saturday, some may be in limited supply, especially as on the Sunday in question we had a party of 30 diners in the restaurant and 27 in the lower dining room on the Saturday evening. If we served desserts bought in frozen, then possibly we would never run out of anything, but we dont, everything is made fresh. Prior to having only one portion of Pecan Pie left, we had served approximately 6 portions to other diners. The Landlord and Landlady were run off their feet on Sunday, as you may have noticed there were no other staff and with 42 diners on Sunday, 23 of which were "walk-in diners" they possibly had little time to chat, they most definately are not miserable, working tirelessly to make sure that everything here runs as smoothly as it can, which at times is exhausting, fortunately most of the time they get it "spot on".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy Country Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were lucky enough to have another Groupon deal and when we visited we sat in the bar in front of a lovely roaring fire with the doors of the woodburner opened up.

Another fantastic meal - great pate starter and fantastic battered cod, chips and mushy peas which was so big we really struggled to finish it all.

Thank you for another wonderful lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dopeydorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissienorthants, General Manager at The Olde Red Lion, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We thank the reviewer for visiting us again and look forward to their next visit, when we hope they will be equally delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Red Lion also viewed

Kislingbury, Northampton
Kislingbury, Northampton
 
Thornby, Northampton
Ashton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Olde Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing