We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Visit”
Review of The Britannia

The Britannia
Ranked #390 of 538 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: May be found under 'Chef & Brewer' or perhaps Weatherspoons
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Made a short visit middle of midweek afternoon so very quiet but it was clean, tidy, staff courteous and made me feel wanted. Recommended

Thank turveytortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBritannia, General Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hi, thanks for the good review.
We do strive to make every guest feel welcome & have a great time. It's great to hear my team are doing a great job.
Again thank you, Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 792 of 826 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Went as a group of 5. Recommended by the receptionist at the hotel we were saying at. Oustide photo doesnt do it justice. really nice interior with wooden beams and soft lighting. Felt cozy and warm.
We were greeted by a friendly member of staff where we were quickly seated. Waitress that looked after us was pleasant, polite and knew her menu.
Food and drink arrived in good time. i ordered the Pork Belly and it looked good and tasted even better. Crackling was to die for. All my group complimented the food.
After the meal our waitress was swift to assist us on splitting the bill 5 ways(something of a challenge in some places!)
Overall a very nice surprise and i'm off to hunt out one of their branches near where i live. Fingers crossed its as good!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tr3vab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBritannia, General Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Hi, thanks for the fab review.
We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you come join us again soon. Yes our other branches around the country are just as good, if not you know where to come.
Thanks Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This used to be a good pub and with good grub. I recently had lunch here with a friend and found it to be pretty mediocre. I had a jacket potato which was over cooked and the flesh was discoloured. You also have to wait a long time for your meal even when they are not busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lovecatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBritannia, General Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hi, thanks for the review.
I'm sorry to hear that your visit wasn't the best it could of been, I've passed your feedback on to the head chef of how you were disappointed in the food.
Thanks Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our 4th trip in about 6 weeks, yet again, excellent value , super service and staff. Great menu choice, and if you are armed with a 20% off voucher ( food) what a bargain night . The tea and coffee machine had broken down, but they offered to make us hot drinks with kettles, and appologised if it was not up to Costa standards, well, it was ok for us and a great gesture from the staff. !!!!!!! ( no complaints please from the H&S brigade regarding risks and training, !! )

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank starla100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBritannia, General Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hi, thanks for the great review.
I'm glad you have enjoyed your visits & my team have looked after you. The vouchers you recieve from being part of the email club are fab to, so another great excuse to come visit us.
Many Thanks
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Now introduced seating via waitress who points and leaves you to it. Amazingly slow service probably due impromtue staff meetings at the bar and shouting across the bar offering opions. Both drink and food orders wrong - not to be recommended. Food well if you want a burger go to McDonalds

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paj1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBritannia, General Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your visit.
I can only apologise for your visit not being up to the high standards we strive to deliver. I will look into this further.
Thanks
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Britannia also viewed

Weedon, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Great Glen, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing