We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely meal and excellent evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophia's

Sophia's
Ranked #4 of 516 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely meal and excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were welcomed immediately when we walked through the door. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The owner was very attentive and charming. The food was excellent. A great little gem we've discovered and will be recommending as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1974camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thankyou camper for this great review and were so glad that you discovered us, we look forward to seeing you again soon and as we always say its the personal reccommendations that mean so much so thankyou again!!
Regards,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    156
    41
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with a very talented and kind proprietor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The weekend before Christmas my partner, friends of ours and myself went to Sophias. The owner and staff were very friendly and most helpful. We were all impressed with the food we had and loved how the owner cooked our "steak Diane" in front of us.

We will definitely be back and have already recommended Sophias to friends and family.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MummyK1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thankyou MummyK for the great review, the steak dianne is a popular choice and we always try to cook it the traditional way at the table much to the delight of our customers,
Thankyou for recommending us to friends as your recommendation is the best kind of review we can recieve, we look forward to your many return visits.
Kind regards,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wonderful meal....8 of us for a birthday celebration. Table was decorated with balloons and even a card from the staff. Food was delicious and staff were very attentive and friendly. The owner even came over to say thank you....can't wait to go back....!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1969tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thankyou Tricia for the review and its no secret that we love a good birthday celebration here at sophias, we are so happy that you had a great time and look forward to your return visit
Many thanks again,
Kind regards,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Great little restaurant, good food, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff - try to get a table downstairs if you're booking in advance. We'll be back

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gastro-god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thankyou Gastro-god (great name) for the review were so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you in the near future
Kind regards,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My boyfriend took me to sophia's restaurant for my birthday and I was pleased with the attention and the outsatnding food. Definatelly it was an amazing birthday and we recommend this restaurant for people who love excelent food and outstandig service. Thank you John. We will come back for sure. x

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dianca1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thankyou Dianca for the review your boyfriend obviously has impeccable choice were so glad to have been part of your special occasion and we hope that the whole day was great for you,
Look forward to your return,
Kind regards,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Sophia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing