We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor all round experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan at Lamport

The Swan at Lamport
Ranked #157 of 516 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Swan at Lamport, set in the picturesque Northamptonshire countryside, is a traditional country pub-grill providing guests with delicious food in a beautiful location. Our delightful terrace, cosy lounge and snugs alongside a more modern dining room make The Swan at Lamport perfect for any occasion. Our Steak, Chops and More Menu provides guests with a variety of steak cuts, chops, burgers and favourites such as pan-fried duck breast, pan-seared fillet of seabass and not to mention our fantastic Sunday roasts. Situated just a few miles off of the A14 to Kettering, The Swan at Lamport is easily accessible and well worth a visit. Also, don't forget to check out our 2 for £15 menu, which provides great food at a reasonable price. Why not book a table now and experience The Swan at Lamport for yourself? When visiting, don't forget to pick up your McManus Loyalty Card for current deals and promotions.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Poor all round experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Poor experience all round. Waitress dropped food on the floor and had little knowledge about how not to spill a drink over a diner. The ham hock was 50 % inedible fat and the drinks bill was wrong. Unacceptable all round and the worst dining experience for many a year. No direct apology from the chef or the manager either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    93
    72
    56
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nearly but not quite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Let me qualify by saying this review relates to business lunches on 2 separate occasions. The first time we gave it the benefit of the doubt as we enjoyed the food. Alas, the second time was a facsimile.

The downside: from walking in to walking back out took 1.5 hours for a single course. Service is beyond slow - no-existent sometimes as had to go to the bar to prompt waiting staff - and very lacklustre resulting in tips of a big fat zero both times. They don't appear to be under-staffed as the place wasn't even busy. I'd be really nervous about booking in a busy Saturday night (assuming it is busy on a Saturday night).

On the plus side, the food is quite nice and certainly better than most other offerings in the locality (although the options are limited), and the interior is also quite nice in good condition and very clean.

Please though guys, sharpen up! It takes 6 of us 2 hrs to go for lunch which we want to do in 1 hour. This means the loss of 6 man-hours in the afternoon, 80% of a man-day. The swan will not be on our short-list for lunch in the future until the grapevine convinces me that something has changed, which is unfortunate as other than this it's agreeable in an all but captive market.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Des1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, ambiance and service needs to be improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Me and my partner went for our 3 year anniversary, we enjoyed the food from starter to finish all cooked perfectly and very tasty but not extravagant or knock your socks off master-chef bells and whistles on top.
Service - needs to be improved, we felt as we were rushed through the meal and had at least 5 different waitors/waitresses serving us throughout the meal so timing of would you like to order, drinks was out.
Ambiance - the decor is very tastefully done however with the wooden flooring and no curtains, no plants combined with a busy restaurant meant the acoustics were extremely loud and we practically had to shout at each other across a small table for two.
So overall a few simple changes could make a huge difference. Polish that diamond!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewGolfersChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We called here just on spec. The last time, some years ago, it was just average. This time what a difference, really good atmosphere, food that was well cooked. The menu was imaginative and well thought out. If you are near don't miss it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

visited yesterday evening for a celebration meal the food was of great quality and presented and cooked perfectly. service was prompt and friendly but not overly intrusive as i dont really liked been overly fussed over. will be coming back as me and my partner thought it is a really nice relaxed place to go too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan at Lamport also viewed

Bugbrooke, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Swan at Lamport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing