We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heaters are out of date and not much of an H&S policy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Northampton
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Bucks
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“heaters are out of date and not much of an H&S policy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a saturday night, room was generlly ok with the facilities you would expect to find. Heating was fine when first entering the room but as t was very cold outside and the temperature was dropping the heating did as well until both heaters were not working. At this point my partner went downstairs to reception to ask someone to come and look at the heater. 15 minutes later and no one had turned up, we wanted to get ready to go out for the evening as well, so i went down to ask when someone would be coming up. the man on reception said he didnt know and decided to hand me a portable electric heater that had recently been on - apart from this being a breech of health and safety, this is unacceptable for a well known hotel to except this. My partner came back down to complain about this level of service and we were given keys to a different room, luckliy the heating/haters worked in this room, but throughout the night it was so noisy we had to switch them off.

generally the place was clean and tidy except the mould in bathroom, see pics. and in the first room the window didnt shut properly which helped towards the coldness of the room. This Holiday inn needs to update its heating system and beaware of customers needs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkospud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorOperationsNS, at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for posting your review to Tripadvisor and the late response.
I’m sorry that we were unable to provide the heat in the room assigned in the first instance it appears the service you received was not acceptable for which I trust you will accept our sincere apologies.
I’m glad we were able to provide an alternate room which better catered for you in the colder weather. We do have a regular maintenance programme and visit all rooms in turn, I am aware the team at the hotel have visited the room in question to ensure we avoid any future repetition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    159
    133
    47
    21
See reviews for
85
124
34
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

After a slow drive up the M1 I arrived and found the hotel, I was a bit worried as it was on a main road and I am quite noise sensitive. Parking was fine, check in very efficent and friendly. The room was clean, tidy and the bed linen was acceptable, I liked the choice of the firmness of pillows.
The drawers on the dressing table kept sliding open. Whoever designed bathroom should be shot! The toilet roll was behind the toilet and the flush was on the wall of the shower. The sink taps leaked and I think the bathroom needed updating.

There were no heavy curtains on the window but like blackout linings, they worked very well, I got a good nights sleep. Only problem was the heater was not working and the outside temperature was below freezing, however I just used the quilt off the spare bed and all was fine. The ligthing in the room is plentiful and there are decent bedside lights to read by.
Didn't use restauarnat or bar as I was out for evening.
Efficient check out in the morning; very reasonable for price, would use as a stop over again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear MrsKF
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit with us however with regards to te issue with heating in the room first of all i would like to apologise for the inconvenience you encountered had you informed hotel team a portable heater would have been offered to you.

Again thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

The rooms need a complete refurb, it looks like the hotel has been touched up around the edges but the bathroom was grubby, there was a mysterious stain (blood or make up?) on the net curtains in the room and the sound insulation was shocking, I could hear the lift all night and didn't sleep well. All the staff are friendly and the food is OK though. The mini-gym is hilariously small.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Steven M

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Bedford Road Northampton. All the feedback we received is valued and used to help us learn lessons and to improve the service and facilities we offer.

I am really sorry that on this occasion your stay did not beat your expectations. There is no excuse for the curtains not having been cleaned thoroughly and I will address this with the team.

I am sorry that you were unable to sleep properly due to noise from the lift had you informed us we would have offered you an alternative room.

Your comments about room and toilets have been noted,I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Bedford Road Northampton in the near future.

Kind Regards

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Standard HI, polite, clean, good quality, as usual HI and associated hotels are far better in comparison to others

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGPNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Big GPNE

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit with us and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed here only for one night but thought it was really excellent. The staff were great and friendly, nice room, good facilities and I'd highly recommend it for a business overnighter. Had breakfast which was great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcsjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit with us,i will certainly pass on your feedback to the whole team.

We look forward to welcome you to Holiday Inn - Bedford Road Northampton in near future.

Many Thanks

Kind Regards

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I've stayed here a number of times (it's handy for the Brackmills business estate), and it's always a toss-up between this place or the Hilton. The food here is a better selection, and more reasonably priced. However, the ugly ensuite bathrooms really are in need of updating, and many of the rooms have minimal heating (though they will send up a plug-in heater if you ask).

The beds are very comfy, and I do like the Holiday Inn choice of pillows! The main bedrooms are well decorated with a good-sized desk to work at. I don't really watch the TV but the channel selection isn't very comprehensive.

The breakfast is fine, and there's usually a free newspaper too. The hot buffet seems to be regularly replenished as there is a brisk flow of business travellers on weekday mornings. Sometimes there is a selection of little pastries, but I try to stick to the fruit salad, which is usually a good option!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Travelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Not quite what I expected from Holiday Inn it seems to be between holiday inn express and the normal holiday inn experience. i.e. HI express plus a bath and proper breakfast. No leisure facilities and poor/limited public reception area.

Staff friendly and helpful but disappointed with the tiny restaurant and after seeing the prices unexciting menu and very few if any customers eating I walked down to the Britannia Inn (500m) for three excellent evening meals at half the cost. I had an unsubstantiated feeling that the restaurant would probably be disappointing and didn't take the risk.

There was an issue with plumbing in my room on the first night, slow hot water running a bath took 40 minutes plus, they did change the room promptly but didn't think to offer help to move my stuff which was a bind after a hard day on my feet training.

Good breakfast except for the usual hot buffet and those ubiquitous dried out scrambled eggs, had to ask for fried to be cooked specially and these were a bit greasy.

Parking OK seemed secure and no issues. Very complex roundabout nearby you need to be careful which lane you choose especially in busy traffic; hardly the hotel's fault though to be fair. Nasty right turn out of the premises, you can wait for ages for a clear road, best to take left turn and do a u turn at the next roundabout 400m away.

Not bad in all, the pre booked non cancellation price online was competitive and the proximity to the pub was a bonus. Online booking excellent and good communication an paperwork.

Excellent for visiting Barclaycard and I would stay again but probably not more than 3 nights as this hotel has limited facilities.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Fenester

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor regarding your stay especially your comments about Friendly Staff.

Our reception area is warm and welcoming and we consistantly try to give our hotel a fresh look, we we also have a gym in house which is located on the ground floor
I Apologise for the maintainanace issue you encountered in your room but was glad to know that our team promptly offered you a different room.

With regards to breakfast i have discussed this issue with head chef who intern implemented some corrective measures within in his department.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you to Holiday Inn-Bedford Road Northampton in near future.

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#20 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Northampton

Property: Holiday Inn Northampton
Address: Bedford Road, Northampton NN4 7YF, England (Formerly Courtyard)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near to central Northampton you'll find all you need for a modern comfortable night s stay either for business or leisure purposes at the Northampton Holiday Inn Hotel. An ideal base for all visiting motor enthusiast near to Silverstone, home of the British Grand Prix, Santa Pod and Rockingham . Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel is also Near to Northampton town The Lakes, Brackmills, Riverside, Moulton Park & Grange Park Business Centres, yet only 5 Miles from Junction 15 of the M1 . The Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel provides Quality hotel rooms with the luxury of a choice of king sized bed or two queen size double beds. Business customers will find all the facilities required including WI-FI availability, working desks in all rooms as well as a multi gym to work out in For weekend breaks relax and enjoy bed and breakfast at your leisure before visiting the sights or taking in an event. At the hotel we are also equipped to host meetings for up to 70 people, & banqueting functions for up to 120 with really competitive hotel rates . The Hotel offers WIFI Internet access in the lounge area & business centre available 24hr a day.Local attractions include: Castle Ashby House & Gardens, Wicksteed Park, Billing Aquadrome, Althorp House and Nene Whitewater Rafting Centre, Silverstone & Santa Pod. You'll find all you need in a Hotel - A quality location for a quality stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel Northampton
Northampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing