We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good curry”
Review of New Mumtaz

New Mumtaz
Ranked #26 of 525 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Excellent restaurant. Town Centre location, been there some time but recently refurbished.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently good curry”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We regularly go to the New Mumtaz. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food is always very good, freshly made and tasty. Would recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    22
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best curry in Northamptonshire!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I have tried most of the curry houses in Northampton,Wellingborough and Kettering and can honestly say none of them come close to New Mumtaz.
The food is consistently good, we have never had a bad visit, and you can tell the quality of the ingredients, particularly the meat. I don't eat chicken from other curry houses as have often found it to be rubbery or generally poor quality, but I will happily choose chicken here. You can see the care that goes into preparing the dishes, and the service is great too, nothing is too much trouble.
We live 20 miles away and are about to move further away, but won't hesitate to drive there for every curry!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Would have given 5* if hadn't taken 3hrs!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Go here regular midweek and Sundays and its normally fine. Went Sat 28th Dec party of 8 at 8pm. It was packed.
Was asked 3 times if we'd like popadoms.
I Had to beg to take our order
1 and half hours passed between popadoms and starters arriving. Good job we all had lots to catch up on!!!!!
In general food was good standard but service was well below par. It seems they can't cope with a full set of covers.
Be warned about peak times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mongulhorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

A great curry for the discerning curry eater. A bit under the radar on a quiet end of the Kettering road but the food and service never fails to be anything but fantastic. KC is your amiable host always willing to offer advice and tailor your dish to your taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT every time!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Every time without fail, the BEST service, wonderful food and often lives in the shadows of restaraunts nearby that have a better reputation than they deserve!!! If you are a fan of Indian food, this place is hard to beat. If you are looking for somewhere to have an intimate meal or just want a takeaway, you wont go wrong here. I would strongly recommend the Chicken Laziz - best dish on the menu, but Indian food never tastes as good as it does here. I have tried others but they dont measure up. Looks from the outside and inside can be deceiving but the experience is simply charming. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Since discoverying this place 2 years ago I have gone back time and time again - take away, delivered and to sit down - all equally as good!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mumtaz also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to New Mumtaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing