We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANT every time!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Mumtaz

New Mumtaz
Ranked #19 of 516 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent restaurant. Town Centre location, been there some time but recently refurbished.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT every time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Every time without fail, the BEST service, wonderful food and often lives in the shadows of restaraunts nearby that have a better reputation than they deserve!!! If you are a fan of Indian food, this place is hard to beat. If you are looking for somewhere to have an intimate meal or just want a takeaway, you wont go wrong here. I would strongly recommend the Chicken Laziz - best dish on the menu, but Indian food never tastes as good as it does here. I have tried others but they dont measure up. Looks from the outside and inside can be deceiving but the experience is simply charming. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Since discoverying this place 2 years ago I have gone back time and time again - take away, delivered and to sit down - all equally as good!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    19
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

im very lucky to have this hidden gem as my local indian. The food is always freshly prepared and delicious with great service from lovely staff. its such good value for money, especially the all you can eat sunday buffet. would recomend wearing your stretchiest trousers for this!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Northampton-girly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must for a curry a la carte”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Took my Dad here for his birthday and it proved to be so good that it's now our local. The staff are obliging and the food is good. Try the Dansak and the Achari :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sable78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Two out of two take away orders poor.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The two times we've ordered online from New Mumtaz our orders have been both late,and missing dishes causing half of us to eat an hour later. Average, overpriced food with a poor service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Food OK, service better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

This restaurant is fairly comfortable and the food is fairly good - my Mumtaz special was good but not special, and the other Mumtaz extravaganza (flaming brandy etc) was equally appraised by my friend. The service is what marked out this restaurant from the extensive competition, and as such comes recommended as worth visting to anyone who likes to try out the various Indian restuarants in Northampton. It's good value too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ardara24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mumtaz also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to New Mumtaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing