We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the most exciting”
Review of The Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Boksburg
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the most exciting”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked this hotel because of a last minute closure of the Hotel next door, So it wasnt researched and we were desperate as we were over from South Africa to attend my cousins wedding. We arrived and were welcomed in by Mary and shown to our room, having just spent a fantastic week in London at the Queens Park this place was really a disappointment, the windows are falling apart and were very difficult to open, England was in the grips of a heatwave and we needed air, there was a fan in the room but this was the extent of the air conditioning. we had to prop the windows open as they could not stay open on their own. To top it all the heater was on in the bathroom and I was told it could not be turned off. FANTASTIC IN SUMMER!!. The breakfast was massive and to be honest a waste of good food, half the size portion would be quite sufficient, but it was really tasty. we only really came back to the hotel in the evenings to sleep, although the twins seem to be searly they are actually very nice and they do have planning permission in to change the windows for a new type sash window with a wooden frame. It is a bit like stepping back in time though and could really benefit from a revamp. I know times are tough but a coat of paint goes a long way to brightening a room up.
In saying all this we did enjoy the stay and the beds were clean and comfy, so what more do you want?
One other thing, on the day of the wedding we got back to get ready and were told that our room had not been serviced yet, this didnt actually bother us as we had made our beds and tidied up before we went out but were told a few minutes later that we should leave our room NOW so they could do the service, which I thought a bit rude as we were getting ready and it was 15h30, not like it was in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    183
    57
    41
    66
See reviews for
91
150
77
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed overnight for an Engagement party. My room was very drab and dreary with one small window that could not be opened and no air conditioning but still charged at the same rate as my friends room which had a better functional window. The shower was old and dated and dribbled a thin spray. We were told breakfast finished promptly at 9.30 on a Sunday morning which is not ideal after a party night. We asked could we possibly take breakfast later but were flatly refused even though the hotel was minimally occupied. We asked for a late check out past the 11 o'clock stated and were refused as we were told our rooms were needed. It was plainly obvious the hotel was mostly deserted. No guests arrived at all on the sunday as we stayed past 11 o'clock waiting to be collected by a taxi that the hotel refused to call, saying we could do it ourselves! The hotel is tired, dated and drab. The hotel staff are not there to offer customer service. It is overpriced and one to avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albidongas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Oundle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

That's actually quite an understatement. We booked the Langham because we were attending a wedding in a nearby village. When booking we were advised we could arrive when we liked. We got there at about 1.30am and the too was locked. Ringing the bell got us nowhere. Eventually we telephoned and were let in by a very angry lady who demanded to know why we hadn't turned up earlier. We explained that we'd been at a wedding and that the chap we'd booked the room with had assured us we could turn up anytime. 'That's my son,' she said. 'He wouldn't have said that.'

So, after telling us off for going to the wedding then accusing us of lying, they gave us a room in which the shower had had the temperature control removed. So we got to enjoy a tepid shower too. Lovely.

Finally, to add insult to injury they charged us for breakfast which we'd already told them we didn't want. Then said they'd refund it, but didn't.

Unless they run out of park benches in Northampton, I wouldn't recommend the Langham.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willholmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I spent one night here when staying for a friends birthday party. First impressions were that it needed renovating. The reception area isnt particularly pleasant but is clean and functional, although not staffed. A ring of the bell brought a very pleasant lady who checked me in and pointed me to my ground floor room.

The room was fairly large, with hot drinks, biscuits, tv, a hair dryer and an ironing board available. The walls and carpets are quite old fashioned, as is the duvet covers etc. A bit like staying with your grandparents... clean but lacking style. Bathroom was clean and functional, although you cant alter the shower temperature. It was not a problem for me but it could be a bit hot for some, especially children.

The bed was comfy enough. The pillows could be better but were acceptable. I certainly slept well enough, and despite being next to the car park I wasn't disturbed.

Breakfast was plentiful if a touch greasy, and pleasantly served. Cereals, full English, coffee and juice were served.

All in all, a very average hotel but at such low prices I cant complain. It certainly offers good value for money and I'd stay again for a brief stay where all I need is a shower and a bed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKMalpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the photos appear to show this hotel as having a pool ... It's a misplaced picture there is NO pool.

A little tired and in need of a deep clean and spruce up, pillows need replacing

However the breakfast was first rate and for the money it was a good place to base ourselves for our stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodfanatic65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Langham twice now, 2 years ago and 2 days ago. While we find the price terrific, the staff lovely, and the breakfast possibly the best hotel breakfast in all the UK, we have mixed feelings about the room. They simply need an upgrade. The only real problem we had was the temperature of the water in the shower could not be controlled, it was hot hot hot, and we felt like we were scalding. I reported it to the desk, and they said they would fix it--but I have never been to a hotel where the water temp was at a fixed place. All in all, I'm torn between loving the place for the savings it provides, the quiet, the great morning food, and the kind staff. But that said, I pray the next time we arrive they'll have refurbished the rooms (at least the bed covers!) and upgraded the bathrooms! All in all, a good restful cheap hotel with lovely and plentiful English bacon in the morning!

Room Tip: As for one in the back overlooking the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWAjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in the Lanham this weekend and had booked a double room, we got there late as we were at a function. The room had what looked like as many beds as they could get into the room it was awful, décor was so dated, big heavy curtains and nets, now for the best of it, we are having a heatwave in the UK and the room had the heating on full blast OMG will I ever forget it, my husband tried to turn it off but no joy, we tried to open the large windows at the front and they just slid right back down again (complete fire hazard) so we up and left early, couldn't wait to get out of there. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in Northampton and this was the most disappointing. There are so many better hotel to chose from.
Not a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisalee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#17 of 29 in Northampton
683 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Central
Travelodge Northampton Central
#18 of 29 in Northampton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
557 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#12 of 29 in Northampton
524 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#19 of 29 in Northampton
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Hotel

Property: The Langham Hotel
Address: Barrack Road 4-5 Langham Place, Northampton NN2 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Langham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is family run and has been established for over 35 years. We can cater for all needs, and there is a secure car park on site. There is also an extensive range of beers, wines and spirits available in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing