We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sauna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Langham Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sauna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Fantastic room apart from it was so hot and you could not control the heating in your room. You could not keep the window open because at 3am in the morning there is a man smoking and chatting on his mobile outside. i woke thinking the room was on fire not a nice experience. the breakfast was fantastic and plentiful and very friendly staff. The extractor in the bathroom did not work. Very good value at £45 for two.

Room Tip: Not ground near reception all these have undercover smoking area outside the window. But we were to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonuk1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    174
    52
    35
    64
See reviews for
87
139
76
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip for five nights in October. The staff could not be lovelier and I so much wanted to like this hotel! Every day the rooms were thoroughly cleaned top to bottom -- something you don't even get at a hotel twice the price. The proprietess is lovely lovely lovely! It's affordable and conveniently located to the city centre, the university, etc.

My room faced Barrack Road so it has a good deal of street noise as it's a main road, but it's traffic noise which I can tune out. I was pleasantly surprised that there was no noise from students outside, nor was there noise from other rooms.

The WIFI was excellent, and free, and the signal was strong.

The breakfast was great. You get a full English breakfast made to order included in the price of the room, and a selection of cereals. The serving staff are friendly and efficient.

Unfortunately, the mattress in my room was knackered. I had hard, old-fashioned metal coil springs rammed into my spine for the entire workweek. I think I slept an hour or two a night and by the end of the week I was positively exhausted at work -- not great. I understand that this is a budget hotel, but I suggest that the mattresses really need to be invested in. I would give this hotel 1 star for the sleep quality.

I wish I could give this hotel five stars. Unfortunately I can't consider staying here again, which makes me sad as it is ideal in every way!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007ShantyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great value for money. Rooms are very clean, staff are pleasant and the breakfast is amazing. Second time we have stayed and shall stay again. Only negative, road to the car park full of pot holes, not good for the suspension!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel was very basic, but it had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Although the rooms could have done with some updating, they were clean & serviceable. Breakfast was lovely & we found the staff to be friendly & welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, you can't really complain at £35 a night but compared I other hotels in that price bracket I can't understand the hugely positive reviews.

Positives; room was clean, nice tv

Negatives: bizarre car park arrangement whereby the mangement wanted me to leave my car keys at reception as its so small 4 of the spaces block in other cars. I refused and was told I had to move it in the morning. So at 6:30am I called to move my car and other guests were angry at me even though I was in an allocated bay.
Heating. No control over radiator in the room was roasting on arrival and upon asking thy turned off the heating in the entire building. Freezing in the morning.
Bathroom. Felt like I'd been in a time machine to the 70's. very dated, mould on the ceiling. Glad I only had to shower once.

As I say it was cheap but I'd rather spend an extra £15 on something with better parking and a nicer room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATHENS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Alloa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Was in Northampton on business, and booked into the Langham for a night, found the roon small but clean, had everything you could wish for and a comfy bed, my room was at the back of the hotel, and I found it to be very quiet.
There is a nice little lounge bar with a great selection of beer's on tap, and with sky sport so great if you like the football, which suited me.
This is a well run little hotel, which is clean, and the breakfast is fantastic, another great point is you can see into the open kitchen which is spotless.
You are well looked after in this hotel and the staff are very friendly and make you welcome, parking was secure but limited, I'll be back here the next time I'm in the area on business.

Room Tip: At the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAlloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked two nights so we could travel into London by train to attend a wedding. Very secure parking was available and easy walking distance to the station helped everything go to plan. The room was fine and with a large flat screen TV. The best things about the stay was the superb cooked breakfast which was served with admirable efficiency.
We also enjoyed a Sunday morning walk around the Racecourse which is almost adjacent to the hotel before continuing our journey.

Room Tip: Google Streetview gives a good idea of the layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#18 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Central
Travelodge Northampton Central
#21 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#12 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Hotel

Property: The Langham Hotel
Address: Barrack Road 4-5 Langham Place, Northampton NN2 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Langham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is family run and has been established for over 35 years. We can cater for all needs, and there is a secure car park on site. There is also an extensive range of beers, wines and spirits available in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing