We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Empingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, you can't really complain at £35 a night but compared I other hotels in that price bracket I can't understand the hugely positive reviews.

Positives; room was clean, nice tv

Negatives: bizarre car park arrangement whereby the mangement wanted me to leave my car keys at reception as its so small 4 of the spaces block in other cars. I refused and was told I had to move it in the morning. So at 6:30am I called to move my car and other guests were angry at me even though I was in an allocated bay.
Heating. No control over radiator in the room was roasting on arrival and upon asking thy turned off the heating in the entire building. Freezing in the morning.
Bathroom. Felt like I'd been in a time machine to the 70's. very dated, mould on the ceiling. Glad I only had to shower once.

As I say it was cheap but I'd rather spend an extra £15 on something with better parking and a nicer room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATHENS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    177
    53
    35
    64
See reviews for
88
141
76
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alloa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Was in Northampton on business, and booked into the Langham for a night, found the roon small but clean, had everything you could wish for and a comfy bed, my room was at the back of the hotel, and I found it to be very quiet.
There is a nice little lounge bar with a great selection of beer's on tap, and with sky sport so great if you like the football, which suited me.
This is a well run little hotel, which is clean, and the breakfast is fantastic, another great point is you can see into the open kitchen which is spotless.
You are well looked after in this hotel and the staff are very friendly and make you welcome, parking was secure but limited, I'll be back here the next time I'm in the area on business.

Room Tip: At the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAlloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked two nights so we could travel into London by train to attend a wedding. Very secure parking was available and easy walking distance to the station helped everything go to plan. The room was fine and with a large flat screen TV. The best things about the stay was the superb cooked breakfast which was served with admirable efficiency.
We also enjoyed a Sunday morning walk around the Racecourse which is almost adjacent to the hotel before continuing our journey.

Room Tip: Google Streetview gives a good idea of the layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed one night to visit the uni open day and had booked two twin rooms. Myself and my father in one and my teenaged daughter and her friend in the other. Their room had a double bed and another single bed with ensuite. Ours was two singles in a surprisingly large room with all our needs catered for with a TV, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities (with biscuits), hairdryer, iron and board etc. The beds were noisy due to the plastic sheeting under the sheets and were quite hard which I prefer. They have a thin duvet with sheets and a top cover and two thin pillows which were again fine for me. There was another separate 'dressing room' with modern, newish furniture (wardrobe and drawers) then a separate bathroom with locking door. Again surprisingly large. It was adequate but it needs a shelf above the sink for toothbrush etc instead of having to leave next to taps and a hook for clothes etc. The shower was lovely and hot but the shower screen wasn't attached along the bottom and a little grubby. It needs updating to a more modern model and an extractor fan fitted for the steam.
Despite the heating seeming to be turned off the hotel was very warm. We were uncomfortable at times.
On arrival (around 10pm) we went to the bar which apart from being very warm was sufficient and has a large TV with sky.
The car park is situated around the back and is accessible by a narrow, pot-holed alleyway. As several of the hotels and private houses all use this access they should all chip in and get it resurfaced immediately. It is well signposted but there is no bell or intercom so you have to ring the hotel to get them to let you in. (We did arrive late, but it is probably open earlier) It is gated and secure but tightly packed when full. Depending on where you are parked you may not be able to get out until someone else moves their car. PS You can only turn right onto the road.
Slept well. Our room was in the main hotel and faced the car park. the girls' room was facing the front. Was quiet.
At breakfast there is a choice of cereals on the table and menu for a full English (very large) etc. A glass of OJ is brought to you and they ask for your order and coffee/tea pots are brought. It's laid out very well with everything you could need and is served hot.
The staff are really helpful and friendly and do a great job. Can't fault them.
This really is great value. We paid £45 per room and this included the breakfasts. Fantastic. If daughter goes to the uni, this is where we will stay when we visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKPHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I went to stay when visiting my granddaughter who lives close to the hotel.I asked for a quiet room and was really pleased with the one I was given as it was at the rear.I slept soundly and then I came down to breakfast and it was amazing.All anyone could require. There is also a seating area at the back and due to the wonderful weather some guests took their papers out to read them there. All in all a very happy stay. Thank you.I will return.Isobel Thomson.

Room Tip: Room at back was very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isobelPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We needed a place to stay overnight as taking part in a Help For Heroes Netball Tournament the next day. The welcome from Mary was lovely and our room was a good size for 4 people to share, the wall mounted flat screen TV was an unexpected bonus. The room was clean and had everything you could think you could possibly need - I spotted an ironing board & iron. As for breakfast it was just what we needed as it was going to be a long day of netball - truely tasty and plenty of it .... to sum up 'a little gem of a hotel'

Room Tip: For a family of 4 room 25 has a double and two singles and loads of floor space - also easy access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerbusch, Germany
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Langham for 2 nights (family of five). We found the hotel met our needs. The rooms are small but have everything one might require including coffee and tea with biscuits. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable, the shower was powerful and the water temperature easily regulated. The highlight of our stay were the breakfasts which were served fresh and to order. The service was most accommodating and friendly. The hotel has a car park at the rear which we were able to use on our first night but it was full on the second night and so we had to park on the main road in the front of the hotel. The road leading to the car park at the back of the hotel is in dire need of repair, the pot holes reminded me of my time on training grounds whilst in the army! - however our car managed the course without too much trouble. WLAN was offered at no extra cost - a must nowadays. My thanks to the team. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#20 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.4 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#13 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Hotel

Property: The Langham Hotel
Address: Barrack Road 4-5 Langham Place, Northampton NN2 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Langham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is family run and has been established for over 35 years. We can cater for all needs, and there is a secure car park on site. There is also an extensive range of beers, wines and spirits available in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing