We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Northampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Northampton
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“OK hotel....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed here for a family wedding, and the whole wedding package was good! The food and service were very good, and the table wine nice. The rooms were lovely, comfy beds and rooms quite large. Bathroom ok, but shower messy with a flimsy curtain. The drinks were very expensive! Locate is just off the M1, but it's a bit of a run down Hilton. I didn't have breakfast, but others said it was ok, but not great for how much it cost them. All in all, ok to stay in, but a bit budget-esque. However, we were there for a wedding and that was brilliant, so we had a great weekend. Parking was free as it was the weekend, so saved the £5 I thought it was going to be!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after attending a family wedding here at the Hilton Hotel Northampton.

I would like to thank you for your comments, as feedback such as yours helps us to continually improve the products and service that we offer.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed both the wedding and your overnight stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards



Guest Relations
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    395
    232
    118
    64
See reviews for
358
251
43
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel was extremely busy with a weekend convention so this obviously put the hotel under pressure (although this should not be an excuse) for the following points:-
Guests dining in the lobby as there was not enough space in the dining room
Bathroom needed updating, toilet seat had unsightly marks that could not be cleaned away
Unsightly stain on sheet
Room absolutely boiling and no way of cooling it down unless you wanted to listen to the rumble of traffic from the motorway
Shower more like a dribble and took ages to warm up
An overpriced bottle of water in the room @£2.50
Overpriced drinks @ the bar, a glass of white wine costing £11.50
Nothing to eat for the children. We were promised chicken nuggets for them but these never turned up. Waiters clearing tables even though it was clear we hadn't finished ( possibly due to heading the table for the diners sitting in the lobby
Heavy smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor and finally a very grumpy receptionist (Michelle) on our departure who obviously did not want to sell the ducks on offer as she huffed & puffed through the sale.

Room Tip: Sorry, can't offer a tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay here at the Hilton Hotel Northampton.

I would like to thank you for your comments, as feedback such as yours helps us to continually improve the products and service that we offer.

We currently have a maintenance programme in place to update the hotel including the guest rooms and there facilities. This year we have started to improve our communal areas and have just completed the lobby. We are hopefully going to be starting the guest room improvements in 2014 so have passed your concerns regarding the bathroom, heating and noise to our Maintenance Team to address.

I have spoken with the Food & Beverage Manager regarding your dining experience and he would like to apologise for the problems that you encountered. These issues have been discussed with the team members on duty over the weekend to ensure that they provide our guests with the high level of service we aim to achieve. He has also taken on board your comments with regards to our beverage prices and he shall take this into consideration at the next pricing review.

Once again, please accept my apologies and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you our usual high level of service and standards in the future.

Kind regards



Guest Relations
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. The hotel does not offer the quality you expect from the Hilton brand.
My room was fine it just felt dated. No fridge just a warm bottle of water to buy for 2.50. I chose to have the British buffet in the restaurant which was adequate but not great. After dinner I wanted to watch a film on my iPad using the hotel wifi. I was shocked to find out that wifi was not free but cost £15 per day! Hilton needs to review their policy immediately as this is unacceptable.
I used the gym and pool in the morning which was good.
Staff were helpful and friendly if a little disorganised. Check out took longer than it should.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivvypike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay here at the Hilton Hotel Northampton.

I would like to thank you for your comments, as feedback such as yours helps us to continually improve the products and service that we offer.

We currently have a maintenance programme in place to update the hotel including the guest rooms and there furniture. We have just finished improving our communal area by redecorating and replacing the carpets and furniture and should hopefully be starting the guest room improvements in late 2014.

We do not wish any of our guests to leave less than satisfied so have taken on board your comments regarding the in room Wi-Fi charges and shall be discussed by the Management Team when the next pricing reviews are due. I can confirm however that Complimentary Wi-Fi is available to all guests in our Public Areas including Reception and Court Lounge Bar.

Thank you once again for your comments, and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards



Guest Relations
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Another Hilton - just the same - in need of work to justify the price tag. Room large - with a sofa, however the shower was weak and took time to warm. No air con in the room - there was a bottle of water - however priced at £2.50! opened the window to get some fresh air - oh dear the M1 - too noisy to leave open. next the wifi - surely free at this price - nope.
in fairness the hotel seems to be in the throws of a significant uplift so fingers crossed as the room was VERY tired. the food was okay - had both a buffet evening meal and breakfast - no problems in that area. lets just hope the redecoration reaches the rooms and wifi soon becomes complimentary. then it may become an option again . . . but until then its DeVere for me!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay here at the Hilton Hotel Northampton.

I would like to thank you for your comments, as feedback such as yours helps us to continually improve the products and service that we offer.

We currently have a maintenance programme in place to update the hotel including the guest rooms and there furniture. We have just finished improving our communal area by redecorating and replacing the carpets and furniture and should hopefully be starting the guest room improvements in late 2014.

Thank you once again for your comments, and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards



Guest Relations
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
300 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a pain they were changing the carpets in the lobby on the day/day we stayed, though the management of this was poor and at times unsafe and inconvenient as we tried work our way round the hotel, why not do the work at night?

Hotel is easy to find situated on the A45 just off the M1 junction.

Room was a good size as was the bathroom, the hotel is light in colour décor, the room had three white walls which showed their age as it gets grubby easily.

Signs take you to the 1st floor via stairs, not sure if there is a lift.

Breakfast was good as was the evening buffet dinner.

Good meeting rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay here at the Hilton Hotel Northampton.

I would like to thank you for your comments, as feedback such as yours helps us to continually improve the products and service that we offer.

I do understand the inconvenience that was caused to our guests when having the carpets replaced in the lobby and would like to apologise for this. Due to the working hours of the third party contractors we were unable to have the work completed over night so had to be completed in normal business hours.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards



Guest Relations
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

lovely clean and airy hotel, loved the pool and jacuzzi, breakfast was plentyful and delicious, staff very friendly, parking is free on weekend, room was very spacious with two double beds and a sofa and still plenty of room, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank donna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay here at the Hilton Hotel Northampton.

We very much appreciate all the guest feedback we receive as this enables us to view the hotel from a guest prospective.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel especially our staff, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards



Guest Relations
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

sorry to say, but no internet means no stay. The internet access at the lobby was okay, but far from satisfactory in the room. I even paid for the internet access but unless I went close to the door, I had no signal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Yuko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay here at the Hilton Hotel Northampton.

Feedback such as yours helps us to monitor and improve the services we offer within the hotel, thus helping us to maintain the high level of customer service we aim to achieve.

Our Wireless Internet is provided by a third party supplier so we are unable to interface with their systems. However, I have passed on your comments regarding the poor service to BT Open zone and they have agreed to come and test the Wi-Fi signals in all areas of the hotel including our bedrooms.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you our usual high level of service and standards in the future.

Kind regards



Guest Relations
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
2.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Northampton

Property: Hilton Northampton
Address: 100 Watering Lane, Northampton NN4 0XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#9 Family Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Northampton 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Northampton hotel adjacent to Junction 15 of the M1 Motorway and only 20 minutes from Silverstone Formula 1 racing circuit. Enjoy the convenient location just ten minutes’ drive from Northampton town center and 20 minutes from Milton Keynes. Billing Aquadrome is 15 minutes’ drive away and London Luton Airport (LTN) is 40 minutes away. Keep fit in the fully equipped Livingwell Health Club or swim laps of the 18-meter indoor pool - the largest pool in Northamptonshire. Dine on international cuisine at the Hilton Northampton hotel's Seasons Restaurant. Relax with a pre-dinner drink in the Court Bar overlooking the central courtyard area and savor a morning coffee in Caffè Cino. All Hilton Northampton hotel accommodations have high-speed internet access. The hotel has 13 meeting rooms for 10-300, a business center and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Northampton Hotel Northampton
Hilton International Northampton
Northampton Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing