We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curate's egg” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Northampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Northampton
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Curate's egg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'll start with the location. The hotel is on the outskirts of Northampton very close to junction 15 of the M1. This is both a plus and a minus, for travel it is well located but it is a bit remote if you have the desire to explore Northampton(???!!!) Being at the side of a trunk road feeding the M1 means that traffic noise can be heard most of the night if your room faces the road.

The staff were generally quite helpful & friendly, no negative comments.

The room, whilst well appointed is starting to look a little dated, it is certainly not as modern as other Hiltons I have stayed in, but the room was comfortable and clean. There was no climate control, only an electric heater, which is not generally a problem but the thermostat clicked quite loudly throughout the night. I remedied both this and the traffic noise with Scotch.

On checking out it appears I did not have to pay to use the car park, which, if true, is excellent as charging £5.00 to use the hotel car park when it is adjacent to nothing of any interest whatsoever is just plain racketeering,

The bar and restaurant are expensive for what it offers. There is a hot & cold self serve buffet for £17.00 a steak will set you back at least £20 plus sides etc. But due to being on the edge of the middle of nowhere you dont have much choice. Breakfast wasn't bad and was included in my very good room rate (booked in the Jan sale).

The shower controls were incredibly fiddly alternating between volcanic & arctic whenever I so much as reached for the temperature controller.

The internet is far too expensive & Hilton are not listening to their guests reviews on this website about it. It's not just me that campaigns for free internet. All in all, like the curate's egg - it's not all bad. So it gets an average rating from me.

P.S. They left dinner off my bill, I had to let them know about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eebeegeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us.

Feedback such as yours helps us to monitor and improve the services we offer within the hotel, thus helping us to maintain the high level of customer service we aim to achieve.

I do understand that a peaceful night's sleep is what you came for and I'm sorry that you were disturbed by the noise from the electric heater and the motorway.

We do have a maintenance programme in place to improve the guest bedrooms and bathrooms so have passed your comments regarding the noisy heater and the shower control to the Maintenance Manager to review.

The in-room Wi-Fi service offered in the Hilton Northampton is chargeable but is offered complimentary in our Public Areas including the Main Lobby and Lounge Bar.

Thank you once again for your time and kind words regarding the staff and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards



Carrie Dent
Guest Relations
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    397
    232
    119
    64
See reviews for
362
251
43
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here, whilst on route to visit friends. The weaher was awful and we had had a long journey through the snow. As we struggled in with our bags, a young man called George hurried towards us and immediately offered to help with our bags, and get us a warm drink! The room was lovely and comfortable, and immaculately clean. Blackout curtains in the room meant that I got the best nights sleep in months! Saw George that night in the restaurant who was kind enough to ask if we'd warmed up, and was attentive without being intrusive. The food was delicious, though drinks were pricey! The welcome that we got at this Hilton really made our stay. We werent tempted by the pool, due to having got so cold travelling, but it did look like it would be nice to visit another time.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor and it was fine-not disturbed by any external noise. Close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Hotel Northampton.

Feedback such as yours helps us to monitor and improve the services we offer within the hotel, thus helping us to maintain the high level of customer service we aim to achieve.

I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding George our Food and Beverage Assistant. All your comments have been passed on to the Food & Beverage Manager and General Manager so that he can be recognised for the wonderful service that he has provided.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards



Carrie Dent
Guest Relations
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good points- easily accessible off the motorway and decent food choice.

Negatives- some of the prices charged are stunning. £4.60 for a coffee, £3.95 for a bottle of water in your hotel room, £15 for BT Openzone wifi. Parking charges were also very high. The bedroom I had was reasonably clean but the bathroom very dated (mid 1980s?). Room a decent size though and as it was overlooking the internal courtyard- reasonably quiet, although you could still hear the motorway.

Breakfast was good- decent selection and good quality. We had dinner included in our rate- decent starter and dessert but the main course steak was a bit flavourless.

If you get a decent rate and have your own access to the internet- and stay at the weekend when parking is free- yes its a reasonable option.

Because of the ridiculously high prices for drinks etc I probably wouldn't stay here again on the principle- the principle that I resent being ripped off- whovever is picking up the bill.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room- and one that has been refurbished- if they have such a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobboxOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate all the guest feedback we receive as this enables us to view the hotel from a guest prospective.

I am sorry that you felt some of our charges were high during your stay.

Our secure high speed wireless internet is charged at £14.99 for 24 hours in all guest rooms but is available complimentary in our Public Areas.

Our Car Park Policy along with other Hilton Hotels was introduced in January 2007 and included enhanced CCTV and lighting for the safety of our guests. . The cost of the Parking is £24.00 for 24 hours to non residents; however this is greatly reduced to £5.00 for residents.

I have also passed on your observations regarding the beverage prices to the Food and Beverage Manager to take this into consideration at the next pricing review.

The Head Chef is most disappointed to learn that your steak was not up to our normal standards. He has addressed the kitchen team that were on duty that evening and arranged a course of re-training for them, to ensure our guests receive the highest quality food we aim to achieve.

Once again, please accept my apologies and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you our usual high level of service and standards in the future.

Yours sincerely



Carrie Dent
Guest Relations
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genneteil, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were at the hotel for a wedding reception - just one night. Everything was fine but for a place to sleep, it was a little expensive compared to other places locally. This would be far better value for money if it were being used for a base for a number of days. We didn't make use of any of the facilities that make up the overall package.
The breakfast was excellent although the dried up fried eggs didn't look appetizing - I didn't try one.

Room Tip: There wasn't a lift near our room (as far as we could see), if you have luggage, don't hesit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kangalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the guest feedback as this enables us to view the hotel from guests prospective.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards



Carrie Dent
Guest Relation Manager
Hilton Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Always a pleasure to stay here, consistent good service & always know you won't be disappointed. Rooms excellent and very spacious. Close to motorway & easy access to Northampton. Easy express checkout and excellent loyalty scheme for frequent travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest

We were extremely pleased we were able to welcome you back for another visit to the Hilton Northampton and delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely



Carrie Dent
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

quite a bland hotel. The food in the restaurant is pre prepared and very bland. Had 2 lamb steaks and sent one back. They were polite enough to give a discount though but even still ended up paying over £50 instead of £80 for a bad meal that one of us didn't have. Thankfully had crisps and chocolate to sustain us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us.

The Head Chef is most disappointed to learn that your dinner experience was less than satisfying, and would like to convey his apologies for the standard of food you received. He has addressed the kitchen team that were on duty that evening and arranged a course of re-training for them, to ensure our guests receive the highest quality food we aim to achieve.

Once again, please accept my apologies and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you our usual high level of service and standards in the future.

Kind regards



Carrie Dent
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Doncaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed at this Hilton once before and this time was just as nice. Very friendly and helpful staff. Whilst at the bar with a colleague having pre shower drink, a member of staff asked if he could take my bags to the room. I arrived in my room to all my bag in place and suit hanger in the wardrobe.....excellent..!! Breakfast was a very good example of a Hilton. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottDay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay.

We were very pleased we were able to welcome you back for your 2nd visit to us and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We sincerely hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards



Carrie Dent
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
2.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Northampton

Property: Hilton Northampton
Address: 100 Watering Lane, Northampton NN4 0XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#9 Family Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Northampton 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Northampton hotel adjacent to Junction 15 of the M1 Motorway and only 20 minutes from Silverstone Formula 1 racing circuit. Enjoy the convenient location just ten minutes’ drive from Northampton town center and 20 minutes from Milton Keynes. Billing Aquadrome is 15 minutes’ drive away and London Luton Airport (LTN) is 40 minutes away. Keep fit in the fully equipped Livingwell Health Club or swim laps of the 18-meter indoor pool - the largest pool in Northamptonshire. Dine on international cuisine at the Hilton Northampton hotel's Seasons Restaurant. Relax with a pre-dinner drink in the Court Bar overlooking the central courtyard area and savor a morning coffee in Caffè Cino. All Hilton Northampton hotel accommodations have high-speed internet access. The hotel has 13 meeting rooms for 10-300, a business center and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hilton EMEA so you can book your Hilton Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Northampton Hotel Northampton
Hilton International Northampton
Northampton Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing