We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken shark?”
Review of Felix Yu - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Felix Yu
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You have already listed this restaurant, but you have it down as being in America - it is actually in Northampton in the UK, please amend.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chicken shark?”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I went here for a meal with my best friend early on Friday evening. We were seated right at the back of the restaurant which was a little odd as the rest of the restaurant was not busy. Felt like we had been put out of the way a bit. Our table was beneath a heater pumping out hot air. The waitress was more than happy to turn the heat down.The menu looked good, it was very varied. It also made us chuckle a little because of the translation/punctuation/wording...We had never heard of a chicken shark? Lol. We both ordered a starter and a main. My starter arrived about 5 minutes before my friends’ starter. Again, as the restaurant only had 4 tables occupied (largest group was 4 people) I would have expected our starters to arrive at the same time. Regardless of the timing issue, the food was really nice. The main course was equally as tasty as the starter. Price was not too bad. It worked out to be just over £25 each for a starter, main and 2 pints. The service was also good. The staff were very attentive. I will be visiting here again soon so I can try something different from their menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nikipedia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average food , poor service”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The food was at best average, but the service was poor, poorly organized with the main course turning up in 2-3 min intervals for each dish.
Could certainly do better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jester124566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Hadn't been to Felix for some time -- why oh why I don't know we had a great meal
Went before theatre so very quiet but filling up quickly when we left about 730
The food was lovely three pepper beef had a lively kick too it but not so that it wasn't lovely , lemon chicken yum yum , best of all crispy duck
Service good but unobtrusivs . excellent value for such a lovely meal
Already planning our next visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Chinese for miles around”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A hidden gem. The food here is exceptional, taking Chinese food to a whole new level. Just try set menu D and you will fall in love with the place. The prawns, scallops, cashew nuts and dried chilli dish is arguably my favourite item on any menu in any restaurant in Northampton.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielOwens1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Apart from what you would expect from a standard Chinese restaurant, there are some very interesting and good selection of dishes on the menu. Try the Chairman Mao's Pork Belly, you might understand why he's 70% right! Food is really tasty and well presented. Highly recommended,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 604_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Felix Yu also viewed

Kislingbury, Northampton
Moulton, Northampton
 
Thornby, Northampton
Denton, Northampton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing