We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a flavour of spain in northampton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Olives

Les Olives
Ranked #9 of 516 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a flavour of spain in northampton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Was quite surprised just how busy this was for a tuesday night - we booked for 8.0 but in reality were not seated until nine, so reservations definately advisable. There is a wide range of tapas on offer here, so we were able to mix our options from across the menu - the pan fried swordfish and tiger prawns proving particular highlights, as was the chicken livers which I did approach with some apprehension prior to tasting. for those who don't like their meat the chestnut mushrooms can also be recommended.
Despite being busy we were able to enjoy our food at a relaxed pace, with no pressure to leave even approaching closing time.

All in all we certainly enjoyed our visit and will be returning to introduce this place to others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    161
    25
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whimple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Les than friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Dear Les Olives

Last night myself and a business acquaintance walked into your establishment. He being a resident of Northampton and me a guest at the park inn decided to dine in Les Olives.

On entering we noted the you were rather full but had several tables unoccupied. Once acknowledged by your blond waitress we enquired as to the availability of a table for two. Advised she would check we stood waiting for a response for quite a while. Your waitress seemed to have forgotten us and was busy serving table, avoiding eye contact as she went to and from several table. Eventually another waitress addressed us and we again asked if we could have a table. Another few minutes passed (feeling quite uncomfortable) stood near diners seemingly enjoying their food. Finally the answer.... er sorry we are full... are you sure? ... er yes... so what time would you have a table available?... er 10 oclock, sorry we are full.... ok we'll leave it thanks.

As we were walking down the road slightly disappointed I felt something amiss so decided to call and find out if there was actually a table available.

Needless to say the gentleman who answered the phone advised us a table for two was available immediately.

We were both sensibly dressed, sober as judges and rather hungry

very poor service... food smelt nice though and the last time I dined here it was rather good

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food but slightly expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

8 of us went for a friend’s Bday. They coped with the group very well.
The starter of bread and garlic mayo was amazing, best garlic Mayo I have ever had.
As this was our first visit we weren’t sure how much we should order. I think a note on the menu along the lines of ‘average appetite order 3 dishes’ would have helped.
The food was very nice but works out a bit expensive for the size of the meal.
The staff were very nice and we were given a free shot to finish off the meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every dish is truely delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We went their for our wedding anniversary with friends and it was the perfect choice. Between the 4 of us we pretty much had most of the menu. Each one was full of flavour and delicious. I even ate the liver dish which was good and I don't normally even like liver!! The meatballs, pork belly and Spanish sausage were execeptional dishes
The service was great and we weren't made to feel rushed like some places do and felt like we could of sat there all night and enjoyed the ambience. We will definitely be back and would recommend it to other friends.

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Another great evening at Les Olives. Three of us ate, we ordered 7 dishes between us and were all full. The service was quick and friendly, and the food tasted great. The swordfish and lamb were particularly good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shoeysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Olives also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Les Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing