We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in West Haddon area”
Review of Shepherds Row

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shepherds Row
Ranked #1 of 19 Northampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B in West Haddon area”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Thanks to proprietors Jane & Charles, the ONLY ray of sunshine in an otherwise terrible vacation. Worse weather in UK in 50 years brought blizzard conditions for 2 days. Freezing cold and windy the rest of the week.

Jane & Charles were there to cater to your every whim. Fresh eggs from the hens every morning. The biggest, fluffiest, softest towels you ever wrapped your body around. Every room spotlessly clean. Anything you needed, they were there to help.

From Jane's personal greeting card to chocolate egg for Easter to Charles personal trip to Rugby, the pair just couldn't do enough for you.

Room Tip: Garage apartment spacious. Huge family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hzlnutyogurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
49
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from a one night stay at the shepherds row. We just wish we could have stayed longer. We had the family annex which was perfect for myself, husband and teenage son. Plenty of space and it had everything you could need. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. Jane and Charles were the perfect hosts and we look forward to booking again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afuller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We travel with work a great deal and sometimes what you see on a website looks nothing like what you see when you get there. In this case, the website was correct as were the previous comments on this page. Very relaxed; very easy-going and excellent value. The Pytcheley for food is the usual bar grub and was OK, but next time we stay we will venture a little further afield for some better fare in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandmaryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you want spotless and attractive accommodation, really good beds. spacious shower, delicious breakfasts, and genuinely attentive and friendly hosts - look no further.
This is an excellent B&B and very good value. There is also the bonus of staying in a quiet, pretty village with great walking direct from the cottage, good eating places nearby, and easy access to the M1 and A14 for travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Excellent hosting by Jane and Charles, wonderful breakfasts and very comfortable bed (unless you need a particularly soft mattress) combined to make this a great choice. Very good value. Suggest giving the nearby Pytchley's restaurant a miss though - soulless cafeteria-style service, indifferent food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FKF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay in this lovely comfortable B & B and can recommend it to anyone. The owners, Jane and Charles, were very friendly and helpful and did all they could to make our stay in Shepherd's Row a great experience.
Breakfast was excellent, even at 7 am! The choice was extensive, the food was very well cooked and tasty and Jane made sure that we had all we needed to start the day. Fresh fruit or cereals were followed by a full English breakfast. Her home made bread, jam and marmalade are a good enough reason to go there. In addition to this we enjoyed fresh eggs, from their own chickens, and locally sourced sausages and bacon.
The room was very comfortable and was furnished to a very high standard. There was ample hot water and a real shower. All of the rooms were beautifully decorated, with examples of Jane's handiwork all around. There was plentiful tea and coffee (as well as chocolate, fruit tea and aromatic tea) and Jane's home made biscuits were lovely.
If you want somewhere to stay in this area then you will not be disappointed by Shepherd's Row.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here during the grand prix in 2012 for 2 nights and it was fantastic! We were made to feel very welcome, our room was lovely and clean and our breakfast was amazing!! Charles and Jane were very happy to get up early so that we could get to Silverstone in plenty of time. We will definitely be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
5.0 mi away
No photo provided
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
693 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
374 reviews
10.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
10.4 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#16 of 29 in Northampton
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherds Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherds Row

Property: Shepherds Row
Address: 19-21 West End | West Haddon, Northampton NN6 7AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shepherds Row 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jane and Charles welcome you to Shepherds Row, a family run B&B in the Northamptonshire village of West Haddon. Our double, twin and family rooms, have en-suite facilities, exposed beams and are decorated to a high standard. Each has: freeview TV/DVD, radio alarm clock, radiator with thermostatic controls, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities & homemade biscuits.Off street parking. Walkers and Cyclists welcome. Short walk to 3 pubs/restaurants within village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Shepherds Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing