We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shepherds Row

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shepherds Row
Ranked #1 of 19 Northampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed w/e of 30 June. Warm and friendly feeling, spotlessly clean comfortable and quiet accomodation with excellent English breakfast . Vote of thanks to Charles who loaned me his shoes for a wedding we were to attend as I had forgotten to bring mine. Nothing was too much trouble.
Excellent hosts ! Highly recommended. Thanks D & S.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquatic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
48
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
N. Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed with Jane and Charles last weekend 23rd June having travelled from York to visit Cottesbrooke plant fair. What a find Shepherds Row is! From the moment my wife telephoned to book for ourselves and our friends, we knew we had found a superb bed and breakfast. Charles sounded so welcoming on the phone and helpful with booking us in for dinner at The Sheaf and telling us all about the NGS gardens open in the village on the Saturday evening.We were not disappointed on our arrival. It was as though we had known Jane and Charles for ages.
The two rooms we had booked were tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfy beds. Jane's homemade biscuits were waiting for us together with fresh milk. Charles produced wine glasses for us to enjoy our wine before dinner.
Breakfast is just something else! All the usual cereals plus a freshly made fruit salad and yoghurts and porridge if required. The toast is made from Jane's home made bread and the eggs for the cooked breakfast are from their own hens. More toast and coffee was offered if required.
Charles was so helpful in offering suggestions of places to visit on the Sunday. Following his advice, we visited Foxton locks followed by Kelmarsh Hall and Gardens. Well recommended and the locks are a must.
This was a part of the country we had not visited before but on our return we shall have no hesitation in staying with Jane and Charles. Although we would much rather keep Shepherds Row to ourselves my wife and I feel that others should also enjoy Jane and Charles excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fewclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed with Charles and Jane last weekend (15-16th June) -it felt from the minute we pulled up to when we left as if we were staying with friends we had know for years rather than just having met them. Everything about the b & b was perfect from the rooms to the wonderful breakfast - nothing was too much trouble. I have never felt the need to write a review before but in this instance it was a must - we will book again to stay with them in September, a truly lovely family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Recently stayed for 1 night as we were out for a meal in West Haddon. I was pleased to note the good reviews and I certainly wasn't disappointed. We were the only guests there that night and our room was spotlessly clean, very high spec bathroom, comfy bed and the home-made biscuits on arrival were fantastic. Both Charles and Jane were really friendly and attentive but not overly so. The breakfast was cooked fresh to order and it showed. Extra coffee, tea and toast was available if you wanted it and we were never rushed. Excellent value for money and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: I would imagine all of the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed at Shepherds row 13th April and had a wonderful time. Charles and Jane are just so helpful , nothing was too much trouble, felt like home from home, we couldn't fault it.. The rooms are very comfy and prettily decorated, Jane even puts her homemade biscuits on the tea tray in your room, yum! I dont think this little gem can be beaten, everything you need is here and at a reasonable price. Shepherds row is ideally located for Althorp and lots of good walking around this area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank champagnegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalding
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

well what a find this wasI love everything about it! The owners were so nice,the rooms were pretty with many extra touches,the breakfasts just perfect;
I can only say to anyone going to this area to go to this B&B as you will not find better;
Oh before i forget,the best hot fast shower we have ever had,and the beds were so confy,just as i like them;

Room Tip: All rooms great,nothing to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here during the summer on the first night of our honeymoon. We couldn't fault the place in any way. It was spotless, comfortable and great value. The owners were so friendly and genuine and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celine26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
10.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
5.0 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
15.3 mi away
Apple Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherds Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherds Row

Property: Shepherds Row
Address: 19-21 West End | West Haddon, Northampton NN6 7AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shepherds Row 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jane and Charles welcome you to Shepherds Row, a family run B&B in the Northamptonshire village of West Haddon. Our double, twin and family rooms, have en-suite facilities, exposed beams and are decorated to a high standard. Each has: freeview TV/DVD, radio alarm clock, radiator with thermostatic controls, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities & homemade biscuits.Off street parking. Walkers and Cyclists welcome. Short walk to 3 pubs/restaurants within village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Shepherds Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing