We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Northampton
Post
Inbox
Search

“Really sad experience”

Turtle Bay - Northampton
Order Online
Ranked #35 of 661 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: $1 - $9
Description: Turtle Bay Restaurant & Bar all about capturing the heart & soul of The Caribbean. Turtle Bay is all about Caribbean cooking with a patchwork quilt of colours, textures, and flavours; a multi-ethnic tapestry woven from the cuisines of Europe, Africa, and Asia. Mouth-watering hot sauces, spice rubs, fragrant marinades and cool chutneys feature in our food, to fresh hand tossed salads, spice wood jerk grills and exotically spiced one pots, perfect for sharing with friends in true Caribbean Limin' style. Based on Gold Street in a historic Grade II listed building, we are providing both the soul of the party and the relaxed beach shack vibe everyday for you to enjoy! Come and see us soon. One Love x
Restaurant details
Description: Turtle Bay Restaurant & Bar all about capturing the heart & soul of The Caribbean. Turtle Bay is all about Caribbean cooking with a patchwork quilt of colours, textures, and flavours; a multi-ethnic tapestry woven from the cuisines of Europe, Africa, and Asia. Mouth-watering hot sauces, spice rubs, fragrant marinades and cool chutneys feature in our food, to fresh hand tossed salads, spice wood jerk grills and exotically spiced one pots, perfect for sharing with friends in true Caribbean Limin' style. Based on Gold Street in a historic Grade II listed building, we are providing both the soul of the party and the relaxed beach shack vibe everyday for you to enjoy! Come and see us soon. One Love x
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First the positive: The location looks nice, thats about it (Music was to loud as well).

Negative:
The cocktails, we are having drinks every few months once, but, since it was our first visit to Northampton, we thought lets celebrate. Drinks do not contain any alcohol, considering the price of over 7 £ per drink. We did not feel anything.

The food, we ordered the fried chicken (which was okay) and the roti rolls with pulled pork. As a side we had pulled jerk chicken, halloumi cheese (on recommendation of the waiter) and sweet potato fries. No one said or ever mentioned that the pulled chicken was ridiculously spicy. I wasn’t able to eat the plate and the side dish with pulled pork at all. I recommended to the waitress that she put in on the menu or at least tell the customers. No comment, no discount, no other dish, and full price...... speechless!

The service, long waiting times, no explanations, and no caring for the customer. Last but not least, the bills was wrong, they offer in the menu a discount for three side dishes. They asked for the full price of each side dish instead, and we had to ask to remove the 1£.... Pictures are added within this review.

Main points:
Be aware, spicy food!!
Tell the waitress exactly what you like, they will not offer you anything afterwards.
Do not take cocktails.
Check your bill!!!

!!!Recommendation: If you see this restaurant, better walk 15 Minutes to the gas station and get a footlong subway menu for 7 £. Instead of waisting 50 £.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank deileadoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Guest Experience Team at Turtle Bay - Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello deileadoir,

Thank you for taking the time leave us your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that your last visit wasn't up to scratch. We're always looking to improve our brand.

We would love for you to come and try us again so if you would like to send us some more feedback, please contact our Guest Experience team on feedback@turtlebay.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Even though the music was playing i found it relaxing , i would b sure to come in again. Staff helpful. Good service.

Date of visit: September 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank strawsusan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Guest Experience Team at Turtle Bay - Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi strawsusan7,

That's awesome to hear! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

❤️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are regulars at turtle bay and the Northampton restaurant was by far the best service we’ve received! Scott was so attentive, Jay gave great tips for cocktails, Dave was super friendly and Remi went above and beyond as our waiter - we’ll definitely be back! :)

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank ERW_LU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Guest Experience Coodinator at Turtle Bay - Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow, thank you so much for the glowing review! We are so proud of our amazing team, they are at the heart of what makes Turtle Bay so special, and we';re glad you felt that too! We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last night was served by a pretty girl called Penny. Loved the chicken and the service. Great atmosphere, would recommend.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deenahSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Guest Experience Team at Turtle Bay - Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi deenahSE,

We're really happy to hear Penny took great care of you! Isn't she the best!?

❤️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really enjoyed having a few drinks and a bit of food!food amazing drinks so good in and out of happy hour the staff where amazing and even got chatting to the manager Dave really friendly guy was so helpful. He helped me pick out a few cocktails and some food would definitely recommend and will definitely be in again some times soon! 10/10.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank Edwardstark505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Guest Experience Team at Turtle Bay - Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Edwardstark505,

Thank you for the great review! We are always trying to create a vibrant, friendly atmosphere so we really appreciate this feedback. We will definitely pass on your kind words to the Management Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bay - Northampton also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Turtle Bay - Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing