We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rivals a Premier Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
411 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Rivals a Premier Inn!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this Campanile. We had stayed in one in France in 2012 and were quite impressed. This one was even better! We had considered our old favourites, the Premier Inn, but were not too impressed with the ones in Northampton. The Northampton Campanile is on the outskirts of town and located within a smart, modern business park. A nice quiet location but with good transport links. The whole area was pleasant and if you needed a newspaper there was a Budgens supermarket 5 minutes away!
The hotel was clean, smart, modern and stylish. And there was a lift! The rooms were bright and comfortable and the bathrooms were more spacious than what we have experienced at a Premier Inn. We slept well!
The continental style breakfast offered a really good range of food and was more than adequate. It was really good value! The restaurant was spotlessly clean!
For some reason the restaurant was unable to serve the full menu in the evening of our stay so we went across the road to the Harvester pub (Mitchell & Butlers). We were greeted by the front-of-house manager who looked like a Cherokee Indian with low-slung trousers (I didn't think they came this far south!). He was very polite and courteous and gave us a nice table upstairs. Unfortunately it wouldn't fit in the boot of the car, so we had to give it back! The meal was the usual formula-cooked fare - pleasant enough but one can only take so much!
The staff at the Campanile were very courteous! Every single one we met offered a friendly greeting and a smile. We really enjoyed our stay and the Bed and Breakfast was excellent value!
On the basis of this visit, I prefer Campanile to Premier! It's a pity that there are not more of them located in the UK!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampaNG, General Manager at Hotel Campanile Northampton, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write such a detailed positive review. It's always great to welcome a loyal guest such as yourselves to our hotels.

I'm really glad that your stay was extremely comfortable and enjoyable. It is always refreshing when guests acknowledge our efforts as it encourages the team to further improve our services and quality.

Thank you once again for your kind words and the team and I look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Best Regards

Ashish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    146
    67
    19
    21
See reviews for
59
109
34
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

what a fabulous hotel customer service second to none good food clean rooms staff really friendly nothing is to much trouble well worth a stay i would like to say a big thank you to ash and all his staff one very happy couple many thanks lynne & pete :)

Room Tip: any room book dont miss out !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampaNG, General Manager at Hotel Campanile Northampton, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write such a positive and encouraging review.

I'm really glad that your stay was extremely comfortable and enjoyable. Also, I would like to personally thank you for mentioning my name in your review. The whole team is delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you once again for your kind words and the team and I look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Best Regards

Ashish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after staying in travelodge Northampton previous night, what a difference from the run down and tired travelodge. Its modern clean and very comfortable with all you need for a short break. Value for money plus the option for evening meal and breakfast at reasonable price. Situated just off junction 15 on the m1.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

A particular and quite French experience. Quirky I think is the word because there are lots of interesting variations on the normal budget hotel deal. It is obviously designed by a man because there is no hair dryer in the room, only one towel, no nice freebies and the rooms are utilitarian, warm (once you turn the heating on yourself) and clean, but definitely stripped down to the basics. The breakfast is OK, coffee OK, fresh bread, nice croissants etc and it is cheap, a change from the normal budget rip off breakfast. The bed is very comfortable and the TV works, free (but slow) Wi Fi. Definitely designed by a man used to travelling with a definite idea of what one needs in a one night stop if on business but Gallic in its idiosyncrasies - hence designed by a French businessman.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Panbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I usually stay at the Hilton in Northampton but decided to try the Campanile due to a fantastic room rate on Late Rooms. I was dubious after staying at other "Camps" but this one is worth a try.
The rooms are modern and clean, the staff are friendly and attentive, and the food in the buffet style restaurant is good quality, at least on a par with the more expensive options in the area.
The free parking and WiFi is a bonus and the location is great for the motorway and Brackmills.
The only complaint I had was the noise generated in the corridors by the squeaky floorboards. Im guessing the hotels made from timber as when you walk along the floors outside the rooms they make a right racket and if you are a light sleeper it would be very annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor, theres no view from the higher floors except the motorway and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pleasantly surprised how good this hotel is. For me personally the location couldn't have been better for my business visit. The rooms are nice & modern with comfortable beds. I had both hot breakfast & evening meals & were good quality. The staff were probably the best I've encountered & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others. Try it, you will be surprised what you get for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

When I first visited this hotel, It was great for the price and although 2 star, was better than other well known brands.
Stayed initially for two nights and got £19.50 rate which was an absolute bargain. Check in was seamless as per usual and was allocated a room on the ground floor. Room was OK, but lacked extra pillows and towels and also was in need of some paint. There was a concerning stain on the green cushions which were on the bed and they were discarded to the small day bed near the window. The room overall was generally clean although the bathroom needs some attention. The sink was dirty and stains in the toilet. The AC in the room was stuck on hot which was a problem. Restaurant was not open on the Saturday evening so went to the harvester across the road. It was packed with diners and the meal was filling. The bed was comfortable and spacious and I was well rested in the morning.
Breakfast was a dismal affair and the offerings were significantly less than my stay last year. No Yougart and granola (highlight of the breakfast) and the cooked breakfast was cold in minutes after arriving. However the value was good. There was also a lack of veggie options for the cooked breakfast. No veggie sausage, beef or chicken products. Just pork which I do not eat.

Did not stay the second night and was checked out promptly by the attendant.

Overall, great value for money, but things are no longer the same and it shows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjermaineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampaNG, General Manager at Hotel Campanile Northampton, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time out to give me the feedback of your recent stay.

I am rather concerned after reading some of your comments. It's of course not good to hear that we let you down due to some of our operational issues. Let me start by apologising for any inconvenience that the issues in question may have caused you.

Please let me also take this opportunity to correct you that the restaurant was indeed open but we only serve a light lounge menu over the weekends during the winter weekends. Full A La Carte menu of course was not available but our Lounge menu has ample choice for every palate. Also, every bedroom does have extra pillows and towels in the drawers located at the bottom of the wardrobe. Should for any reason you do not find them there, please let the duty manager know and s/he would get them for you straight away.

I have also passed all your comments and feedback to the relevant department so the necessary actions can be immediately taken. Please also be rest assured that the highlighted issues are a one-off and not a reflection of our regular service levels. You would also gather from majority of the past guests' reviews that we take guest service, quality and satisfaction very seriously.

Let me once again thank you for your constructive feedback which always helps us to constantly improve our service standards. It's always good to know when our guests are satisfied or dissatisfied from the hotel services so we can improve.

I look forward to welcoming you once again in the very near future.

Best Regards

Ashish Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
3.6 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#19 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
2.7 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campanile Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campanile Northampton

Property: Hotel Campanile Northampton
Address: Junction 15, M1 | Loake Close, Grange Park, Northampton NN4 5FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
#6 Business Hotel in Northampton
#7 Family Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campanile Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BRAND NEW Campanile New Generation hotel located next to Junction 15 on the M1 and three miles away from Northampton Town Centre. It is ideal location for leisure or business. This contemporary hotel caters to all your needs and has a popular restaurant with very sumptuous and extravagant buffet. The restaurant offers popular and mouth-watering dishes such as Duck Confit and Ribeye Steak. The hotel also has FREE WIFI throughout the building for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Louvre hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Campanile Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Northampton Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing