We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcooked.”

The Red Lion at Brafield
Ranked #70 of 516 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Based in the pretty village of Brafield-on-the-Green just outside of Northampton, The Red Lion is a traditional yet upmarket country pub surrounded by Northamptonshire countryside. A real retreat for anyone who visits, The Red Lion offers a relaxed ambience and superb Modern European cuisine. The lounge is a cosy space filled with leather sofas, the garden is simply beautiful and the dining room is the slightly more formal area. At the helm of the kitchen is Chef Chris Simpson who boasts extensive experience on the London gastro pub scene. His menu is full of exciting dishes such as braised corn fed chicken with bean and chorizo cassoulet or lamb rump with rosemary polenta, Savoy cabbage and red wine jus. Having received a nod from none other than Egon Ronay, The Red Lion is well worth checking out if you are in the area.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Overcooked.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Red Lion was a great place to go when it first opened years ago. During subsequent visits, it has been both great and disappointing which is a shame because it has a wonderful setting and good atmosphere inside. We went to try out the new menu and found the meats and the fish overcooked, portion of chips a little mean. Most delicious chicken livers and mushrooms for a starter healed the disppointment somewhat. If only the menu did a more heart warming meals like this and some wonderful salads, it could get back on track. Keep it simple and we'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    120
    71
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not so great at Steaks”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went here for our valentines meal, to miss the crowds we went on 13th Feb. Myself and my husband both ordered steaks, him med well and me med, both came out cremated. Mine wasn't at all pink. Tried to eat it but felt begrudged considering the price, no one came over to check on the meal, managed to tell the waitress who apologised and took away, I got a new steak which was rare -med instead of med, I ate it too embarrassed to send back again. I ordered pepper sauce which was awful, it was gravy with peppercorns in, maybe their own take on it but not very nice. The steaks are quite expensive and they arrive with some salad leaves and chips, seems a bit stingy. The waitresses were friendly bit it did take a while to order etc. All in all we were very disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neanies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced steaks”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went to the red lion for a friends birthday and all of us were disappointed with our meals. 3 of us had steak and whilst the meat was ok it really wasn't worth the price. The steak sauce was extra which I believe should be included in the price. Served on a wooden board which I don't believe is very hygienic, we all said would much rather it was served on a plate. The chips were nice but served in a cone! The other choice was calves liver which was overcooked and chewy. We did tell the waitress and this was not charged to our final bill. Wouldn't go back as the prices charged can not be justified with the average standard on the food

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yblacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Top quality”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were a party of 5 for Saturday lunch. Good, varied menu. The waitress, Kim, was as good a waitress as you will see anywhere.Any questions relating to the menu were quickly and efficiently answered. A truly wonderful personality. The food was excellant quality. A little bit pricey but taking all into consideration, reasonable value. We would certainly recommend and will most certainly revisit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Northants
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cannot back up or justify the pricey menu”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The first thing that struck me with the red lion was the pricey menu on the internet. The meals were worded in a way that promised sophisticaticated, contemporary and above all excellant quality food. It would either live up to the price tag or be another 'gastropub' trying to extort vast sums of money from customers under the guise of a classy top end establishment without actually delivering the goods. Sadly the latter was accurate.
The actual pub is a good size and decorated well with a modern feel. There is also good parking. I was there with a big group and this often tests the ability of a restaurant. The drink selection was okay for lager, but i was disappointed to discover that they did not serve any real ales whatsoever! This is rather irritating for a country pub. Having been seated for the best part of 30 minutes we had to ask for someone to take our order. This was despite there being plenty of staff. Only a few had starters and these were average, but very overpriced. The main disappointment arrived as the main course. Out of thirteen five meals had to be returned. The beefburgers were raw in the middle and the toppings requested had not been added. Two of the steaks were uncooked despite well done being asked for. The chicken burger can only be described as a joke. It costs £11.95 and is tiny and tasteless. The biggest surprise was the slug, yes a slug, that was discovered in the lettuce on another burger. The five meals were taken away and the inexperienced staff didn't seem to know how to handle our grievance. Only one meal came back out and this time the steak had been cremated. The others didn't really know what was happening with their replacement meals. Of the meals that were okay they were very average and very overpriced. I had a lamb burger which was okay but certainly not worthy of the £11.95 price tag. The other meals seemed small in amount but big in price. The manager tried to apologize but we had to really push to get a discount that was justified. Overall this was a terrible experience which left us feeling annoyed and for some very hungry. The red lion promises fine cuisine, but in my experience it charges high prices for small portions of average/below average food accompanied by a poor and disorganised workforce.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Packman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion at Brafield also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Denton, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Bugbrooke, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Red Lion at Brafield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing