We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place for two plus dog”
other travelers have booked this property
The most beautiful station on the York-Scarborough line
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The most beautiful station on the York-Scarborough line
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The most beautiful station on the York-Scarborough line
The formal garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matt F
1 review
“A perfect place for two plus dog”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

From start to finish our stay at Platform 1 was just what we needed. It provided the the ideal base for us to enjoy a relaxed few days away. Anne the owner was a pleasure to deal with for the booking and once there have us a couple of good pointers of where to go.

The apartment itself was clean and well maintained and the welcome basket on arrival was a nice touch. It is very close to the railway (not surprising given its previous use!) But the passing trains do not interrupt things on the whole and there are no trains at night so sleeping is fine.

We took our dachshund with us and he liked it us much as we did, there are a number of footpaths close by which are great for walks as well as the private gardens. The apartment comes with plenty of dog towels and blankets to use if required.

To sum up we had a great time here and would happily book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Bless you Matt, thank you for this informative review and hope to see you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vonjarvil...
Messingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely apartment perfect for all our needs
Lovely walks nearby our 2 dogs had a wonderful time and made full use of wildlife garden

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thank you so much Yvonne, glad you all enjoyed it! Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

First class accommodation in a beautiful setting.

Our airedale terrier was also made very welcome, he had a lovely, large enclosed wildlife garden to play in and great walks on the doorstep.

There were welcome treats for our dog as well as ourselves.

I recommend Castle Howard Station, Platform 1 without reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Thanks Angela you were great guests! Bet Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicci T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Haven”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Always so peaceful staying here. In addition to being wonderfully located for the Moors, seaside and city of York, just being in the accommodation is heavenly, with woods and gardens to roam. Anne, the owner, is so generous, with her time and tips. Dog-friendly, child-friendly, getting-away-from-it-all-friendly. Just gorgeous.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Thank you for a really lovely review! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We loved our stay at platform 1; picturesque surroundings and decorated beautifully. The accommodation is comfortable, well equipped and dog friendly.

Anne and Edmond couldn't have done more to make our family and puppy feel very welcome; the complimentary treats were very much appreciated.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thanks for a lovely review James. We really enjoyed meeting you all and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy W
1 review
“Easter Break”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great spot for a short break. Anne made us very welcome. The welcome pack was excellent and the cottage has everything you need. We will certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Thanks Andy. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S
1 review
“Beautiful conversion of a historic building”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We felt very welcome here. Everything is carefully thought out and maintained to the highest standard. Occasional trains rumble past, momentarily disturbing the glorious birdsong, otherwise the 'real' world seems far away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
You were very welcome! and thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing