We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful conversion of a historic building”
other traveler has booked this property
The most beautiful station on the York-Scarborough line
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The most beautiful station on the York-Scarborough line
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
The most beautiful station on the York-Scarborough line
The formal garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul S
2 reviews
“Beautiful conversion of a historic building”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We felt very welcome here. Everything is carefully thought out and maintained to the highest standard. Occasional trains rumble past, momentarily disturbing the glorious birdsong, otherwise the 'real' world seems far away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
You were very welcome! and thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelaghRi...
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Railway Heaven”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A wonderful property set against the backdrop of the Howardian Hills, an area of "outstanding natural beauty". There is plenty to see and do: walking around Castle Howard's environs from the doorstep, touring attractive Yorkshire villages or an easy bus journey to enjoy the many amenities and attractions in York. The one bedroomed accommodation is superb with finishing touches such as Molton Brown toiletries, gorgeous White Co bed linen and fluffy thick towels. A very well plannned kitchen that is easy to manage. The fact that it is dog friendly will make it appeal to many and that fact in no way detracted from our own dog less stay. The garden is very special and the window boxes made me ashamed of my own efforts. The welcome basket of some basic essentials plus a super bottle of Malbec and toothsome treats was very helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
Thank you for such a fulsome and well-observed review-you were great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillx66
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

short break with our two dogs. Loved the accomodation which is unique with an interesting history. location was peaceful with walks on the doorstep for the dogs. despite being adjacent to the railway line there is very little noise or disruption from this. the accomodation is clean & tidy. the accomodation was afforded underfloor heating & was warm however the log burner makes for cosy nights in when the weather is cold outside. the little touches made the holiday for us..the prompt response to queries from Anne prior to arrival, the friendly nature of both Anne & Edmund & the welcome basket on arrival made for a perfect relaxing break. am sure we will be back for another break in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2017
Thanks Gill. Edmund and I are happy as long as our guests are happy. Thank you for your kind words! Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol B
1 review
“Can't wait to visit again in June”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a lovely weekend and the owners were lovely.
Platform 1 was a delight and we are looking forward to our next visit in June

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2017
Glad that River settled down in the end -Looking forward to seeing you too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee E
Mosbrough
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite anniversary break”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife,myself and labradors molly and max booked a short stay at platform 1.we were very impressed with the accommodation and also friendly greeting by the owner,the place was very well equipped and was by far the cleanest place we have ever stayed.it was very private and quite except for the odd train coming past but this didn't bother us.there was plenty of walks for the dogs close by and even a doggy day care at the top of the lane for the historical days out.all in all a great stay and we will definitely be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Thanks Lee, I am really glad you all 4 enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lchambers...
1 review
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed January 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Excellent facilities and idyllic location close to Castle Howard and York. Helpful hosts always on hand.
Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubilee91...
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are so impressed with Platform 1, that we keep coming back!

The accommodation is perfect for us...it's warm and inviting & there is so much history around the place that you can't help be drawn in. Don't let the train line put you off - it's not intrusive or disruptive, just adds to the charm of this place.

Communication with Anne is always prompt - helping with booking and recommendations.

There is always a welcome basket on arrival, which means you don't need to worry about nipping to the shops as soon as you get there, which makes a huge difference.

We have two dogs - they relax as quickly as we do - there is an enclosure in the garden where they can let off steam, with us safe in the knowledge that they can't get out.

The location is spot on for Castle Howard, York and nearby Malton - some great places to eat nearby too. Whilst it's nice to eat out, Platform 1 is well equipped if that's not your thing - has a great size kitchen, with everything you need in it.

Platform 1 is so relaxing - we spent some time on our last trip sat in the cosy lounge, wood-burner going and just watching the huge variety of birds on the feeders just
outside the windows.

Highly recommend & we'll keep coming back !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
Aw Victoria You are so lovely- you are nearly part of the family! I know we only meet up on arrival and departure, but you have been coming for so long, I feel I know you well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing