We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love this place!”
other traveler has booked this property
The most beautiful station on the York-Scarborough line
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The most beautiful station on the York-Scarborough line
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
The most beautiful station on the York-Scarborough line
The formal garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jubilee91...
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are so impressed with Platform 1, that we keep coming back!

The accommodation is perfect for us...it's warm and inviting & there is so much history around the place that you can't help be drawn in. Don't let the train line put you off - it's not intrusive or disruptive, just adds to the charm of this place.

Communication with Anne is always prompt - helping with booking and recommendations.

There is always a welcome basket on arrival, which means you don't need to worry about nipping to the shops as soon as you get there, which makes a huge difference.

We have two dogs - they relax as quickly as we do - there is an enclosure in the garden where they can let off steam, with us safe in the knowledge that they can't get out.

The location is spot on for Castle Howard, York and nearby Malton - some great places to eat nearby too. Whilst it's nice to eat out, Platform 1 is well equipped if that's not your thing - has a great size kitchen, with everything you need in it.

Platform 1 is so relaxing - we spent some time on our last trip sat in the cosy lounge, wood-burner going and just watching the huge variety of birds on the feeders just
outside the windows.

Highly recommend & we'll keep coming back !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
Aw Victoria You are so lovely- you are nearly part of the family! I know we only meet up on arrival and departure, but you have been coming for so long, I feel I know you well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyP71
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet getaway for New Year”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My partner and I wanted somewhere quiet that we could escape to over New Year. Platform One was perfect, located in a beautiful wooded setting, but close enough to Malton and York for a drive out and to top up supplies.

The owner Anne was there to greet us and show us around. There was also a lovely welcome basket with goodies to tide us over - a really nice touch. The apartment was so well equipped that our stay could not have been more comfortable. Underfloor heating and a log burner in the lounge were a real hit with us!

We enjoyed the secluded setting but also explored the area which has a lot to offer. We also visited the local pub, The Crown and Cushion where we felt very welcome.

Platform One is lovely find, somewhere that we look forward to going back to again. Thank you Anne for looking after us and making us feel so welcome!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Oh you are very kind Sarah. There is a saying in Ireland that says "If Mammy's happy then everyone is happy" and Edmund and I feel that about Platform 1 -If our guests are happy, the we are happy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bounty63
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful stay in this very special cottage”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent a week here with our labrador in September and had a wonderful time. The cottage is furnished to a really high standard and has many original features as it was once the station. The owners let us use their beautiful wild garden and there are walks from the door. We didn't really notice the trains despite them being on the doorstep. The owners provided a welcome pack including treats for Fergus who was made really welcome!
Loads of places to visit - York, the coast, the North Yorkshire Moors, abbeys, Castle Howard. We will have to come back. Thank you Anne!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the property itself.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Thanks very much Catherine. You are quite right we are well placed in te middle of beautiful local countryside with the coast and wolds and York only half an hour away. It would be a pleasure to see you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FearnyBot...
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic spot. Great holiday!”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We definitely stumbled across a gem when we booked Platform 1.
From the initial enquiry, through to booking, our many questions prior to arrival and then the actual stay, everything was perfect and nothing too much trouble.
We visited with two littl'uns. We let them have the main bedroom and then we had the sofa bed but it actually worked very well and the additional toilet/basin adjoining the bedroom was very handy for them.
The lounge was plenty big enough, the kitchen well equipped and the whole place was very light and airy!
The excitement of trains regularly trundling past was another added bonus. In fact it was also great to tell the children they weren't allowed to get up until after the first train (approx 7 am but much later on a Sunday!!).
Loved the grounds and exploring the surrounding paths. Also it was just so helpful to have access to the laundry room.
Oh and the welcome basket, what can I say? I had to visit the local bakery twice to stock up on the delicious cakes.
We visited amazing places from our base too. Pickering and steam train to Whitby. The best view in England. Brimham Rocks. York. Bridlington (speed boat ride is a must!!).
All in all it was such a great break, made even better by the owners' great disposition. Friendly. Genuine. Caring. Considerate. What more could you want from a holiday?
Hope we can return in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
You were all a total delight to have to stay. The littl'uns will definitely be featuring in my photo album next year! Thank you for your review., and we hope you will be returning some time in the future too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn H
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is a truly wonderful place. We came with our pup and he adored the freedom of the grounds which we where given full access to. Anne provided a welcome pack of bread,eggs,bacon,butter and milk. We where made very very welcome and nothing to much trouble and reduced entry tickets to castle howard all here waiting when we arrived. The place is a mix of history and mordern and done to a high standard and it was immaculate throughout we had a wonderful stay!! It was central to go off for the day and you have full access to the grounds here nowhere is off limits and is safe for dogs to wander as it is fenced

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole thing!
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad George enjoyed his stay as much as you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ady J
2 reviews
“Outstanding Property in an area of outstanding beauty”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just spent an enjoyable week at Platform 1.
We received a warm welcome from Anne and a lovely welcome basket on arrival.

The property is furnished to a very high standard and is well equipped and spotlessly clean.
Platform 1 is very pet friendly and our dog enjoyed the freedom of the house and gardens.

We loved watching the trains go right by the front door along the main line between York and Scarborough, especially the steam train.

We would highly recommend this property and will be returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: History of the property and location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Well you were really easy guests! So happy that you and your adorable Westie liked it too.Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFT2
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed here with my husband and teenage son in July 2016. We are keen walkers (without a car) and the location was wonderful. We took the train from London to York and on to the small town of Malton. Our host Anne kindly picked us up from the station and also drove us back to the station at the end of the trip. She had left a great food package of eggs, bacon, juice, milk, bread and treats from the village shop for us at the apartment. We also picked up some extra groceries from the supermarket next to the station before being picked up. This meant we could cook dinner when we felt inclined. Otherwise we could walk to the pub at Welburn (20 mins walk) or the other pub in Kirkham (25 mins walk).

We spent one day wandering the enormous grounds of Castle Howard and visiting the Castle. It is a magnificent place - which also has its own food shop of its produce. Anne got us discounted tickets, which was great. We spent our other days walking on the many footpaths across the area.

The accommodation was lovely. The passing trains were an amusement - but not an annoyance. They are pretty quiet and stop at 11pm and start again at 7am, so they don't disturb sleep. We even got to see a steam train puff by. Anne also very kindly let me use the laundry to wash all our muddy hiking clothes. Her level of hospitality was superb.

Overall, it is a great place for walkers, train lovers and those who wish to see Castle Howard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and kindness of the host
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
You are very kind Anne -you were joyous guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing