We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect holiday retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 58 Marygate York

The front of 58
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of 58
The front of 58 Looking down the street to the Bay Horse pub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The front of 58
The front of 58
Looking down the street to the Bay Horse pub
The lounge
'Stanley'
The lounge
The lounge
The kitchen, antique refectory table seats 8
The kitchen
Kitchen detail
Bedroom 2 at the front of the cottage
The landing with original Georgian fireplace
The view from the front of St Olaves Church
The view of St Olaves church and entrance to The Museum Gardens from the cottage
Master bedroom with en suite shower room
The en suite with rain shower
Twin dormer room through the archway
The twin dormer room
The staircase, 300 years old
The bunk bed room suitable for adults or kids
The main bathroom, freestanding bath and rain shower
The main bathroom
The courtyard with rattan furniture
The view from the lounge and front bedrooms
Marygate, the cottage is on the left (white building)
York Minster
The river Ouse at the bottom of the street 50 metres away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SueandFra...
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday retreat”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The moment we walked into the cottage in Marygate we felt at home. It had a natural warmth and a welcoming atmosphere. The kitchen had all the equipment we might need and the welcome hamper was a lovely surprise. We loved the comfortable lounge, the fluffy bathrobes, the rain showers and so so cosy beds. We are a family of 7 and there was plenty of room for everyone. The children especially loved being able to watch TV in their bedroom when they had woken up before us. This is one of the nicest holiday cottages we have ever stayed in.

The location couldn't be better as the cottage is directly opposite the museum gardens and the Minster and all the museums are all within easy walking distance. The cheapest and most convenient long-term parking we found was in North Street, just a 10 minute walk away, through Yourparkingspace. Once we we had parked the car it stayed in the car park until we came home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2018
Thank you for lovely and thorough review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed staying at 58 Marygate and would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rambycamb...
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect family vacation home”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved everything about 58 Marygate. Louise was very kind to work with us in regards to getting into the house on our schedule and she was very responsive to emails. The house itself is beautiful - exactly as pictured. Very clean. It is on a quiet side street. The kitchen was fully equipped which was great. A grocery store is right up the street! Laundry and dishwasher were also very convenient. The kids (and adults) loved watching Netflix during down time. On our last night, there was an orchestral concert with mini-fireworks show in the adjacent park. We sat in one of the bedrooms and watched the show. It was very special. If we find ourselves back in York, we will definitely be staying here.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a super time. I do hope you return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinew...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family week”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I can not rate this cottage highly enough. It is perfect in every way. Beautiful, stylish decor. Gorgeous comfy beds and quality linen and towels. Rented this cottage for one week for my adult children, who all live in New Zealand, who had all flown home for my daughters wedding at the Hospitium. We couldn't have wished for a more perfect location. Myself and the bridesmaids could walk through the museum gardens to the venue. Louise had left Prosecco, beers and homemade cake for our arrival. Delicious! Thank you Louise. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend your cottage to all. Five star accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
Thank you for your kind review Caroline. I hope you and your family stay with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela P
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding,amazing and charming”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say we have had the most amazing time at 58 Marygate for a friends big birthday celebrations. The cottage is beautiful and decorated to such a high quality. The cottage is also a great base to explore the lovely city of york. We will most definitely return in the near future and will certainly recommend it to friends and family. The welcome hamper was also a lovely touch. Thank you Louise

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Pam! I do hope you return to stay with us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie n
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend Break”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Charming cottage in a fabulous location.
Beautifully decorated with top notch linens and towels and such comfortable pillows.
We were welcomed with a gorgeous homemade cake with fizz and other goodies.
Walking distance from the train station and into the centre of York.
Perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Thank you for your glowing review. It was a pleasure to have you and your group to stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandyholi...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality & a great location”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very high quality rental property, beautifully fitted out complete with complimentary bubbles, snacks & home made cakes on arrival. It is in a great location, just across from the museum gardens and a short walk into the heart of York. If I had to find a criticism, the back yard is small and access is through the downstairs bunk bedroom, but this is as described in the details.
The owner went out of her way to help us when we asked for a spare set of keys.
It is a great base to explore the centre of York from and I would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxuriously fitted out
Liked least: Small back yard
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and you would recommend 58 Marygate!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fothers7
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and luxury cottage”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Super stay here for my 40th with a group of friends. Perfect location near the city centre and river but away from the crowds. House is beautiful and everything you need for a self catering stay. Super comfy beds and we'll equipped kitchen. Bunk bedroom downstairs was comfy even for adults. Will be returning with my family to enjoy the delights of this lovely cottage and the beautiful city of York

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for kind comments. I will look forward to having you stay in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing