We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s all about the food!”
Review of Cafe No.8 Bistro

Cafe No.8 Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe No.8 Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 870 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our small-but-beautiful bistro is found on the busy and lively Gillygate in York. A street full of independent shops and businesses, it leads right into the heart of York through one of its ancient City gates. A traditional and cosy bistro front room that evokes the brasseries of Paris connects to a more spacious and lighter garden room at the rear. This in turn leads to our charming and secluded garden area adjoining the City Walls and basking in the glory of the fabulous York Minster. Whether you come for breakfast, for lunch, or an evening meal, the bistro provides a delightful setting for you to enjoy your meal. Ideal for romantic couples, families or large groups, Café No.8’s bistro offers simple, modern, quality food at excellent value. Make a reservation and see why we consistently appear in ‘top places to eat’ lists both locally and nationally.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It’s all about the food!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A small shop converted into a tiny restaurant, so light on atmosphere and maybe not the place for a special date unless you’re both foodies.
Excellent food prepared by an imaginative chef with an assured touch. Confident seasoning, portions just right, fair pricing; one of the best meals I have had this year.
Smiling, attentive service from waitresses who were genuinely interested. A small, but well chosen and sensibly priced wine list. The house red was surprisingly good, I started of with a glass and ended up ordering another bottle.
Unreservedly recommended, booking absolutely essential.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pirate859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    246
    63
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, even better service!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Visited Cafe No.8 today for a light bite but the menu quickly changed our minds and had full meals and a banoffee pie between us!

The food was wonderful, I had the garlic mushroom stroganoff with chips, which I would highly recommend. The fruit cordials were also lovely.

The staff were all really cheery and polite. When everyone around us received their meals before us, as they had ordered sandwiches rather than full meals, a waitress took the time to come and tell us that we hadn't been forgotten! The waiting time was not long at all and the atmosphere where we were sat overlooking the garden was very pleasant.

Will be visiting again!

Helpful?
Thank Bekka_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I took my daughter and mother in law for a birthday luncheon, having not been before. we were very impressed, the food was excellent, and each course that came was just as good as the last. The price is very reasonable also for the quality. I will definately go again. The only quarm was the toilet bin not working or the hand dryer, but you can't have every thing, can you!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Make sure you book!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place was recommended to us by our B&B and we had a superb meal here with some unusual flavours and combinations. The orange and rosemary posset was SO good that we landed up having a conversation about it the next morning with some other guests at the B&B who had also been. Small, slightly quirky surroundings make for a great atmosphere, as of course does the attitude of the staff. Service friendly and attentive but never intrusive. Would definitely go back frequently if we lived nearer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FirstMateKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No. 8 = Consistently good food”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We try many eating places around York, and we always find ourselves drawn back to No.8 for reliable Brunch/Coffee. The food is always extremely tasty and very well presented. It is a place we always take our friends that visit us in York. Never tried an evening meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank achatter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe No.8 Bistro also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe No.8 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing